Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.238769

From W. Bruce Cameron, the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling novel A Dog's Purpose, which is now a major motion picture!

Ellie's Story is a heartwarming illustrated novel adapted for young readers from the beloved and New York Times bestselling A Dog's Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron.

Ellie is a very special dog with a very important purpose. From puppyhood, Ellie has been trained as a search-and-rescue dog. She can track down a lost child in a forest or an injured victim under a fallen building. She finds people. She saves them. It's what she was meant to do.

But Ellie must do more. Her handlers―widowed Jakob, lonely Maya―need her too. People can be lost in many ways, and to do the job she was born to do, Ellie needs to find a way to save the people she loves best.

Ellie's Story is an inspiring tale for young animal lovers. Adorable black-and-white illustrations by Richard Cowdrey bring Ellie and her world to life. A discussion and activity guide at the end of the book will help promote family and classroom discussions about Ellie's Story and the insights it provides about humankind's best friends.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on April 14, 2015 by Starscape
ISBN-10: 0765374692
ISBN-13: 9780765374691
33 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • natcat12
    natcat12Friday, May 17, 2019 at 11:40 am55 stars
    This is a great story about a purebred german shepherd girl named Ellie. As a puppy, Ellie would think of her self the leader of the pack, but as soon as she showed weakness there would be seven puppies on top of her. Later on, when she was outside a man named Jakob adopts her to start doing search and rescue. She does an awesome job, but one time when searching for a little girl her owner gets shot. Then she gets a new owner, Mia. On a mission to find dead and alive people when doing that she gets acid on her nose that makes it so she can't smell. What will happen next?
    • slushie
      slushieThursday, April 18, 2019 at 10:07 am55 starsFeatured
      this was a great book I loved it Ellie was a dog that wasn't treated right she was treated right by other people her owner only let her sleep on the small blanket and when Ellie's owner had to do a real crime they had to find the little girl and there was a guy that shot Ellie's owner Ellie said that " the blood smelled like a very strong chemical" and that part of the book made me sad but Ellie was a very good dog she has different emotions in each part of the book Ellie is a good example as a smart, kind. responsible dog! this book was very well mad it had a lot of details so readers can understand the story about what's going on Ellie was a well-behaved dog she was trained every day by her owner she will never be miss behaving she will always listen to her owner I recommend this book to people that want to learn about police dogs and what they do and people that love dogs the book is easy and fun and educational!
      • editor
        editorFriday, April 19, 2019 at 7:49 am
        Hi Slushie - I love your reviews and would like to invite you to join the DOGOnews advance readers group - If you are interested please ask a parent to e-mail me at editor@dogonews.com to get the details- keep up the great work!
      • MeSaturday, March 2, 2019 at 12:08 pm
        LOVE THIS BOOK!!!
        • 145
          145Tuesday, February 19, 2019 at 8:08 am55 stars
          I really loved this book and I would recommend this book to my friends because it is very adventurous and very exciting. It also makes you want to get and have a puppy of your own.
          • wibba
            wibbaThursday, November 29, 2018 at 3:08 pm55 stars
            wow so cool!
            • Coconut216 Tuesday, November 27, 2018 at 4:07 pm
              This was awesome!! This was 5 stars! I have to buy it Irl! Its awesome!! :3 Yeet, You have to read this! I love it! I will read this over so many timess!!
              • cr2018
                cr2018Wednesday, May 2, 2018 at 3:27 pm55 stars
                my favourite bit was the start where ellie was just a new born puppy.
                • avaMonday, March 19, 2018 at 4:38 pm
                  what is the confict of this story?
                  • Katelin Wednesday, January 10, 2018 at 12:04 pm
                    This is Awesome and super sweet
                    • LiamTuesday, January 9, 2018 at 4:32 pm
                      What is the main conflict of this book please help me