Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y4.987970
2016 Newbery Honor Book
New York Times Bestseller

An impassioned, uplifting, and virtuosic tour de force from a treasured storyteller!


Lost and alone in a forbidden forest, Otto meets three mysterious sisters and suddenly finds himself entwined in a puzzling quest involving a prophecy, a promise, and a harmonica.

Decades later, Friedrich in Germany, Mike in Pennsylvania, and Ivy in California each, in turn, become interwoven when the very same harmonica lands in their lives. All the children face daunting challenges: rescuing a father, protecting a brother, holding a family together. And ultimately, pulled by the invisible thread of destiny, their suspenseful solo stories converge in an orchestral crescendo.

Richly imagined and masterfully crafted, Echo pushes the boundaries of genre, form, and storytelling innovation to create a wholly original novel that will resound in your heart long after the last note has been struck.
Hardcover, 592 pages
Published on February 24, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0439874025
ISBN-13: 9780439874021
37 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bsc
    bscSaturday, April 11, 2020 at 7:21 pm55 stars
    This book was awesome! One day Otto finds himself alone with 3 women and a harmonica. Decades later, Fredrich in Germany finds the harmonica, then Mike in Penslvannnia and then finally Ivy in California. In this 592 page book, readers will find themselves captured in the mystery and adventure that this book holds. Echo, by Pam Munoz Ryan truley is a wonder.
    • lylah26
      lylah26Monday, February 24, 2020 at 8:14 am55 stars
      i thought it be amazing because it was three different books in one and yeah UwU
      • jolee
        joleeFriday, January 3, 2020 at 2:54 pm44 stars
        This book is awesome it has a really good vibe to it. It is all so really good because it has three parts that don't go together until the last part. I would recommend this book to every one.
        • infinitykid
          infinitykidWednesday, May 23, 2018 at 12:34 pm
          I think this book is amazing overall it has a great storyline. What I would add is more plot twists throughout the book would've made it a 10 out of 10 instead of 9 out of 10 in my personal opinion. This book also relates to the the current time that we're living in like snowybooks said. I also think that they could have added something that everyone can relate too I can relate to the racism and disrespect that happens in todays society but not everyone has to go through that so, I think they could've added something that everyone can relate too including younger readers. Overall this book is amazing and I would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a good book.
          • rawtie
            rawtieWednesday, April 25, 2018 at 5:40 am55 stars
            This is a masterpiece. The author used her words wisely. This is a heartwarming adventure that needs to be read.
            • vikingsfan2008
              vikingsfan2008Monday, January 22, 2018 at 10:13 am55 stars
              Dudes this is awesome XD
              • tacosforlife
                tacosforlifeSaturday, January 13, 2018 at 5:54 pm55 stars
                A harmonica. 3 children. The same destiny. From all over the globe, three children have the same harmonica in their hands. Tragedies that question their future and a soul to be warmed. With a musical talent, they will be together forever.
                • snowybooks
                  snowybooksMonday, November 6, 2017 at 8:36 pm
                  This book is good for readers of older ages because it addresses many issues of the times and how, in life, when there are challenges that you must face, you must work hard to solve the problem. This book also teaches that stereotypes are never true and very offensive.
                  • punowokuha
                    punowokuhaThursday, October 26, 2017 at 7:54 am44 stars
                    A few things only, if you like history and reading about hitler and stuff like that you will like this book.
                    • spaceunicorn4
                      spaceunicorn4Saturday, September 9, 2017 at 5:47 pm55 stars
                      My mom told me to Read it and I LOVE IT