Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X5.053099
So my only protection is a kindergarten teacher and a ninety-eight-pound female minister....And they don't even believe I'm in danger.
As Bethany approaches her thirteenth birthday, her parents begin acting more oddly than usual: Her mother cries constantly, and her father barely lets Bethany out of his sight. Then one morning he hustles the entire family into the car, drives across several state lines -- and leaves Bethany with an aunt she never knew existed. Bethany has no idea what's going on. She's worried that her mom and dad are running from some kind of trouble, but she can't find out because they won't tell her where they are going.
Bethany's only clue is a few words she overheard her father tell her aunt Myrlie: "She doesn't know anything about Elizabeth." But Aunt Myrlie won't tell Bethany who Elizabeth is, and she won't explain why people in her small town react to Bethany as if they've seen a ghost. The mystery intensifies when Bethany gets a package from her father containing four different birth certificates from four states, with four different last names -- and thousands of dollars in cash. And when a strange man shows up asking questions, Bethany realizes she's not the only one who's desperate to unravel the secrets of her past.
In this exhilarating thriller, Margaret Peterson Haddix crafts a taut story so full of twists and turns, readers will be gripped until the startling conclusion.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on October 1, 2005 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0689873743
ISBN-13: 9780689873744
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • .Thursday, January 24, 2019 at 11:10 am
    it was fine until the ending
    • Melissa GroffMonday, October 15, 2018 at 3:32 pm
      Awesome book for kids who like mystery and suspense!
      • tiduxetedilasy
        tiduxetedilasyTuesday, May 1, 2018 at 12:20 pm44 stars
        I thought this was really good and well thought out. There was a lot of things that I like about it. If you like books where there is short chapters and interesting things happen to the character then you would like this book!
        • TeengirlFriday, July 29, 2016 at 2:16 pm
          It is very good
          • lmoydell
            lmoydellFriday, September 25, 2015 at 10:00 am
            Double Identity is a enjoyable book with slice of life with a little bit of drama, mystery, sci-fi, and a unique story. The book starts slow but it gets more interesting later on, so even if it starts off boring, don’t stop reading it. Sometimes the story gets melodramatic but the drama goes away faster than most books and just having time to relax. If you have ever been interested in Margret Haddix’s books, then I recommend Double Identity first, if you are a fan of Haddix’s books but you haven’t read Double Identity, then I recommend it. I thought this was a good book, but I did have a few problems with it, the first one being is what I mentioned earlier about how it starts off slow, I was really bored at the beginning and I stopped reading it, but I decided to give it another chance and read the book, Another thing that bothered me was that there was like supposed to be a shocking truth and were supposed to be all shocked but everyone saw it coming, the hints were everywhere that you could already find it out in the middle which you find this out near the end of the story, my last problem with this book is some of the characters, their okay but I found a lot of characters useless and they didn’t really help anything, but overall, this book is worth checking out, and I really enjoyed Double Identity, so you should try reading it
            • gymnastaussican
              gymnastaussicanSaturday, March 12, 2016 at 10:01 pm
              I agree! I thought the exact same thing as you!
            • mcowell
              mcowellFriday, May 15, 2015 at 7:43 am
              VERY GOOD so far!
              • panda111
                panda111Monday, March 23, 2015 at 6:24 pm
                You could tell that the author put a lot of thought into the book. It is an amazing story about this girl who has a dead sister and she is turning the age 13. That is the age that her sister died at. But the best part is that she doesn't know she has an older sister!
                • jmpanda14
                  jmpanda14Monday, May 26, 2014 at 9:10 am55 stars
                  This is an amazing book!! This book is about a girl who looks a lot like another girl who is dead. Her parents didn't tell her yet but that girl was her sister. She meets many people who were friends of her sister. I recommend this book for people who love mysteries. I also recommend this amazing author! :)
                  • 19049
                    19049Wednesday, January 29, 2014 at 10:59 am55 stars
                    i love this book. But it is kinda sad at the same time.
                    • iconicdreams
                      iconicdreamsThursday, December 20, 2012 at 1:52 pm55 stars
                      OMG this book is like you're best dream ever. Its so well writen and extreemly nerve racking, at the same time so exiting. I loved this book.