Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.8105143

This first book in Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy is the novel the inspired the major motion picture starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, and Kate Winslet. This dystopian series set in a futuristic Chicago has captured the hearts of millions of teen and adult readers.

Perfect for fans of the Hunger Games and Maze Runner series, Divergent and its sequels, Insurgent and Allegiant, are the gripping story of a dystopian world transformed by courage, self-sacrifice, and love. Fans of the Divergent movie will find the book packed with just as much emotional depth and exhilarating action as the film, all told in beautiful, rich language.

One choice can transform you. Beatrice Prior's society is divided into five factions—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). Beatrice must choose between staying with her Abnegation family and transferring factions. Her choice will shock her community and herself. But the newly christened Tris also has a secret, one she's determined to keep hidden, because in this world, what makes you different makes you dangerous.

And don't miss Veronica Roth’s thrilling novel Carve the Mark.

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on May 3, 2011 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062024027
ISBN-13: 9780062024022
691 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • foxygrrrl
    foxygrrrlThursday, February 6, 2020 at 7:25 am55 stars
    These books are the best...the movies are good too but...you get more detail outta a book, and i love books! Anime and divergent are faves to meh so...love these so much!
    • redqueenlol21
      redqueenlol21Sunday, February 2, 2020 at 3:32 pm55 stars
      I love this book so much! It is a perfect book for dystopian fiction lovers. The setting is future Chicago, but everything has changed. It is no longer the Chicago we know and love. Now there are five factions, each of which will decide your fate. The book is full of action and suspense. You can barely put this book down! The book was very hilarious at some points and very serious other times. I loved how the author (Veronica Roth) managed to make us feel like this might actually happen in the future. Some times there are plot twists you weren't even expecting! I love the characters in the book because they are all different and diverse. You won regret reading this book.
      • kiwithelily
        kiwithelilySunday, February 2, 2020 at 2:13 pm55 stars
        This book is amazing. If you are into dystopian fiction, then this book is perfect for you. It takes place in future Chicago and is full of action and suspense. I just finished this book and I can't wait to read the other books in the series. It was very exciting and there were parts in the book that made me burst out laughing. I just couldn't put it down. The plot and characters are outstanding and there are really good twists. I highly recommend this book. If you end up reading it, you won't regret it.
        • illeatyourcat
          illeatyourcatThursday, January 23, 2020 at 8:13 am55 stars
          This book series was absolutly amazing! It has everything you would ever want in a book. A good plot, good characters, conflicts, good themes, and amazing settings that you can picture that your truly there.
          • savy_reader
            savy_readerWednesday, January 22, 2020 at 2:04 pm55 stars
            This book was really good. I read it for the book club That i am in and I loved it. It was one of those books that you just couldn't put down. Their was so many cool surprises and twists and it was absolutely amazing. I recommend this book to people over 12 because it had a bit mature content but other than that amazing!!!!!
            • shawna272
              shawna272Monday, January 6, 2020 at 9:17 am
              i watched the move there is a couple sad parts but i liked it i only watched the first one
              • lalah2
                lalah2Wednesday, December 18, 2019 at 2:08 pm55 stars
                If you liked the Hunger Games, this is a must-read. The dystopian Chicago that Veronica Ross has created is amazing, no, more than amazing, it's phenomenal. Literally a phenomenon when it comes to books. Divergent is a story about people struggling through a world that has everything against them. Everything is about your faction. Beatrice Prior is in the selfless faction, Abnegation, but does she really wan't to stay there? Maybe she wants to be fearless, like the people of Dauntless. Maybe she wants to be smart, like the people of Erudite. Whatever she picks, the choice will define her. It will decide her life..... or maybe her death. And Beatrice has another secret, one that could be fatal, but could save the people she loves. YOU WILL LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!! And when you finish it, there are two more that are just as good if not better!
                • disneybooks99
                  disneybooks99Thursday, December 12, 2019 at 6:05 pm55 stars
                  Could possibly be THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ!
                  • K23A8Monday, December 9, 2019 at 10:32 am
                    Amazing book!
                    • invincikitty
                      invincikittySaturday, December 7, 2019 at 1:53 pm55 stars
                      I decided to read this book because I didn't have my mind made up, so you can say that I accidentally stumbled upon this book. I just loved this book because I am a great reader and I thought that this is a very good book. I enjoyed it very much. I hope you enjoy it the same.