Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.8105143

This first book in Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy is the novel the inspired the major motion picture starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, and Kate Winslet. This dystopian series set in a futuristic Chicago has captured the hearts of millions of teen and adult readers.

Perfect for fans of the Hunger Games and Maze Runner series, Divergent and its sequels, Insurgent and Allegiant, are the gripping story of a dystopian world transformed by courage, self-sacrifice, and love. Fans of the Divergent movie will find the book packed with just as much emotional depth and exhilarating action as the film, all told in beautiful, rich language.

One choice can transform you. Beatrice Prior's society is divided into five factions—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). Beatrice must choose between staying with her Abnegation family and transferring factions. Her choice will shock her community and herself. But the newly christened Tris also has a secret, one she's determined to keep hidden, because in this world, what makes you different makes you dangerous.

And don't miss Veronica Roth’s thrilling novel Carve the Mark.

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published on May 3, 2011 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062024027
ISBN-13: 9780062024022
675 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kgautam
    kgautamFriday, May 31, 2019 at 9:47 am44 stars
    this is a breathtaking start to the series, and i kept me wanting more. i really enjoyed how tris was able to finish peace within herself, and she allowed herself to find who she really wanted to be.
    • MaggieSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 12:16 am
      It is literally one of my favorite books. Highly recommend for someone looking for a good book to read and dystopian fans.
      • im-riddikulus
        im-riddikulusWednesday, May 1, 2019 at 2:37 pm55 stars
        Divergent is an amazing story about Tris Prior and her fight to decide who she while secretly being Divergent. I suggest this book to 6th grade and up due to graphic content and some scary scenes. You should totally read this!
        • bacon_bitzz
          bacon_bitzzSaturday, April 20, 2019 at 6:19 am55 stars
          Loved this books so much! I recommend it so much, as well!
          • pretty_girl
            pretty_girlThursday, April 18, 2019 at 6:13 pm55 stars
            I love this book!! It is a really great series as well. I am still only on the allegiant book but I've read halfway through the last book, Four. I'm weird like that.
            • pretty_girl
              pretty_girlThursday, April 18, 2019 at 6:15 pm55 stars
              I am just about to watch the movie. The first ones on Netflix yaaayyy.....
            • ccplayzxd
              ccplayzxdMonday, April 15, 2019 at 11:53 am55 stars
              This is a very good book. I love all the thought and dedication that was put into making every single character. I recommended it to a lot of my school friends and they have recommended it to others as well. Great Work!
              • picklestheduck
                picklestheduckFriday, April 12, 2019 at 11:13 am
                amazing book definitely one of my faves packed with romance but I wish that Tris had gotten with Al and not Four I have a bad feeling about four.
                • katherina_8268
                  katherina_8268Friday, April 5, 2019 at 4:12 pm44 stars
                  I loved it! It was amazing, and full of action, adventure, and romance ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) This is the first book in the series, and probably my favorite book in the series!
                  • CarolynFriday, April 5, 2019 at 6:56 am
                    What part of this story do you think is inappropriate for children under 12yrs.?
                    • picklestheduck
                      picklestheduckFriday, April 12, 2019 at 11:12 am
                      Tris's fears. one of her fears is not for the weak hearted.....
                    • wonderwoman113
                      wonderwoman113Thursday, March 7, 2019 at 7:09 am55 stars
                      Best book ever!