Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10T5.219784
Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on April 1, 2007 by Amulet Books
ISBN-10: 0810993139
ISBN-13: 9780810993136
898 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • eledoggy
    eledoggySaturday, July 6, 2019 at 10:57 am33 stars
    Diary of a Wimpy Kid is a funny book about a boy named Greg and his family. His mom, his dad, his older brother Rodrick and his younger brother Manny. Greg is afraid of going to middle school because he thinks middle school is a place for weirdos. At school, Greg meets a boy named Rowley, who is soon Greg's friend. Greg's older brother Rodrick, is in a band called "The Loded Diper" (yes, it is spelled like that) causes trouble in the family.
    • Raven paw Tuesday, June 25, 2019 at 4:42 pm
      Great funny I have all the books I love them I read them sense grade 1 and they say it’s for grade 5 really? Anywoo great book you can read them really fast I read a book in about 20mins recommend for people who read fast and want to get to the end of the series and catchy up fast (unlike warriors Cat but I love them more then wimpy kid ) recommend
      • 3bears
        3bearsTuesday, June 25, 2019 at 2:48 pm44 stars
        Of course, this is NOT a DIARY. It is simply a JOURNAL. Plus, Greg is only keeping a JOURNAL because he knows FOR SURE that he WILL be famous one day, and when reporters ask him how his childhood was like, he will need the JOURNAL to recall.
        • hardcorekitty
          hardcorekittyMonday, June 24, 2019 at 7:46 pm44 stars
          Its a nice book to start in the first few days of summer its a good book hope you love it happy reading!
          • alvoed123Monday, June 24, 2019 at 4:56 pm
            wow i can't wait ive been waiting for this for a long time you guys know i think i was the first one to find out.
            • noahmrich
              noahmrichSunday, June 23, 2019 at 7:12 pm
              This is a book about Greg Heffley who is a middle school aged boy who writes about his life in his diary. I recommend this book because it was very funny.
              • lawalex
                lawalexWednesday, June 19, 2019 at 2:05 pm55 stars
                In this cool start of the Wimpy Kid series, Greg writes in his JOURNAL (Not diary!!!) about Gregs experiences in middle school. Join Greg on a wacky journey through the dreaded years of middle school. :)
                • jihcooky
                  jihcookyTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 12:57 pm55 stars
                  If you haven’t read this book, read it before anything else! Jeff Kinney does an amazing job of telling what it’s like to be a middle schooler in the form of a diary. This book talks about Gregory Heffley and everything that has happened in his middle school days.For example, he talks about how his friend Rowley, can sometimes be embarrassing. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who hasn’t read it. 10-10.
                  • hunterdad64
                    hunterdad64Tuesday, June 18, 2019 at 8:54 am55 stars
                    I love this book, it's like an autobiography but funnier . I like this book because there is a series and it takes time to read.
                    • cyrusmilo
                      cyrusmiloMonday, June 10, 2019 at 10:04 pm55 stars
                      Where it all starts and still my favorite.