Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10T5.219784
Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.
F&P level: T
Hardcover, 896 pages
Published on September 7, 2010 by Amulet Books
ISBN-10: 0810997827
ISBN-13: 9780810997820
962 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Yoda dogWednesday, January 20, 2021 at 11:16 am
    I think this book was really funny. One of my favorite part about this book is when on Halloween the teenagers chasing Greg and Rowley around the neighborhood .I highly recommend this book I really liked this book.
    • Interested Tuesday, December 29, 2020 at 9:49 pm
      OK. It's not the BEST I just like it.
      • Interested Sunday, December 6, 2020 at 8:54 pm
        I really love this book because its ssoooooooooooooo funny 😄.
        • EthanTuesday, December 1, 2020 at 12:28 pm
          this is the best book ever
          • Dogs books Sunday, November 22, 2020 at 10:19 am
            I love it!
            • jkbear
              jkbearThursday, November 19, 2020 at 3:15 pm55 stars
              I love this book
              • hockey_kid77
                hockey_kid77Friday, November 13, 2020 at 10:52 am55 stars
                This is a book about Greg, and his first middle school year. I loved this book because this book can suit anyone, and because interested me. This book interested me because I am about the same age as him, and I compared and contrasted, lol.
                • gold3nglare
                  gold3nglareMonday, November 9, 2020 at 9:34 am55 stars
                  The first book of an amazing series. You should read it, it's great, but personally my favorite one is wrecking ball.
                  • iwgames
                    iwgamesThursday, November 5, 2020 at 12:21 pm55 stars
                    I really like the humor in the book with a mix of potty humor and how he relates to his school life and trying to get through with his life as a 12 year old with other siblings and a best friend who can get on his nerves ROwley and he is pretty brainy too.
                    • LillySunday, August 16, 2020 at 1:40 pm
                      This book is asom I usually read this in school it's fun its really fun read it like this If you think that This book is fun uhm I'm new to this so ye hello like this if you like this book my username is Lilly...^-^ btw maybe you don't care but ye like here .... -------->