Danger Is Everywhere: A Handbook for Avoiding Danger

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.116343
This fully illustrated, totally wacky handbook is about an everyman who is afraid of everything! Dr. Noel Zone, the greatest (and only) dangerologist in the world, is ready to teach readers how to avoid danger at all costs--from sneaky snakes posing as toothbrushes, to sharks hiding in toilets, to robots disguised as kindly grandmas. After all, DANGER IS EVERYWHERE, and we need to be prepared!

With art on every page, this hilarious and truly creative handbook will have readers laughing out loud (very safely) from start to finish.

 

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on October 21, 2014 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316299308
ISBN-13: 9780316299305
20 Book Reviews
  • BookheadMonday, February 3, 2020 at 11:19 am
    I think it was a good book because it is really funny. It is a brilliant book for fans of funny.🤣🤣😂it is hilarious. Docter noel zone hates everything except cabbages and the bath that he has been sleeping in for 10 years. I have read the book 11 times in the 2 days that I had it!
    • suchomimus
      suchomimusWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 3:43 am55 stars
      Docter (not doctor) Noel Zone worries about everything. He is the world's first dangerologist (level 5). Some of his biggest worries are bicycles, vampires and sharks. A must-read book for fans of funny.
      • ALLIE ROBETATuesday, March 28, 2017 at 2:42 pm
        PRETTY GOOD
        • penguin313
          penguin313Monday, August 17, 2015 at 10:00 pm55 stars
          A hilarious guide to stay out of danger, written by dangerologist Docter Noel Zone. With his funny abrieviations and strange animals that he makes up, you will laugh when you read this book. I recommend this book for people who want to read something funny.
          • namers
            namersThursday, June 11, 2015 at 8:14 am33 stars
            I would like to express my thanks to Dogo books for sending me this book in exchange for an honest review. Danger Is Everwhere, by David O'Doherty is a hilarious handbook for how to avoid all kinds of danger. Having read it all of the way through, I am now a certified "dangerologist". I have learned about the dangers of everything, from vikings to the mailbox octopus. Also, I have learned the safe way to make toast, fly a kite, and all the reasons why sleeping in a bathtub is safer by far. I did get a little confused by the excessive amount of acronyms. However, this book was an enjoyable quick read. I would definitely recommend it.
            • jamsc
              jamscMonday, June 8, 2015 at 7:27 am55 stars
              First of all, I want to thank Dogo for sending me this book in exchange for an honest review. "Danger is Everywhere," by David O'Doherty is an awesome book all about how to avoid danger. There is only one thing I did not like about this book. The one problem is the amount of acronyms. I know it's a joke and it is funny, but it can get a little hard to read at times. Well that's enough of the bad stuff. I love everything else in this book. It has pictures in between paragraphs kind of like "Diary of a Wimpy Kid," and has lots of cool information like how to make toast safely. It was so much fun I could not stop reading it aloud. Overall, it is a great book and I think that you should read it.
              • sydstar
                sydstarMonday, June 8, 2015 at 7:07 am44 stars
                Thank you to Dogo books for giving me this book in ixschang for a honist review Danger is everywhere by David O'Doherty is a very fun book. It teaches you stuff like how to get rid of tooth brush snakes and the page 9 scorpion, how to ecscape polar bear attacks, how to get rid of toilet sharks, how to tell if your teacher is a vampire, how to tell if your grandma has been replaced by a robot grandma and how to get rid of snow. I like the drawings. I thought it was funny. The cover made it look interesting. I did not like all the acronyms because they were confusing and I did not understand them. Other then that, I loved the book. It was great and I highly recomend that you read it. I would give it 4 stars.
                • felicisowl
                  felicisowlSaturday, June 6, 2015 at 10:04 am44 starsFeatured
                  Before reading this life-saving book and this review, you would have never thought that DANGER IS EVERYWHERE. You just don't take the time to think that, "Oh no, I better sleep in a bathtub today so I would be safe in case there's a flood!" or, "I should wear my garlic necklaces today in case the sub turns out to be a vampire!" This book is here for that purpose - Docter Noel Zone would like to warn everywhere that the world is full of danger, and he will carefully instruct you how to avoid it in this well-crafted handbook. This is the best handbook I have seen in years - it has precise instructions, pictures to go along with the steps, and surprises that will make you jump out of your seat (why didn't you pick a safe place to sit?) and more! Here are a few things to remember before reading this book (CAUTION, CAUTION): (1) make sure you are reading this book in a secure spot (2) check under the bed or the chair for any suspicious pets that could eat you (3) slowly turn the pages until you get to page 9 (4) stomp on the book until the page 9 scorpion has been squelched (5) sit back down and try to enjoy the book without having to stop reading because it is too frightening. There is an emergency TEPOC (the emergency page of calm) in case you are in urgent need, and another warning is that there are a lot of acronyms in this book. This is because if you are in an emergency (for example: a bear is attacking you) you don't have time to say, "OH MY GOSH A BEAR IS ATTACKING ME HELP SOMEBODY MOMMMYYYYY!" because then you would already be eaten. The correct way to handle a situation like this is to dance and say, "TIABA! TIABA!" (This is a bear alert!) Reader Tip: Put a spare bookmark in the acronym page, you'll need a photographic memory to memorize them all ;) It all started one day when Docter Noel Zone was a lifeguard at a swimming pool. It was a fine day until Docter Noel Zone noticed all the danger that could happen! So he set some new rules into place and no one came to the swimming pool again, but hey, that doesn't matter if you're safe? Right? :thumbs up: Even though Docter Noel Zone's first priority is safety, he knows how to have fun! He's just a regular guy (with extreme safety concerns) with pets, favorite foods, and the whole package! Here's a way to cook toast (Docter Noel's favorite food!) safely! First, put it in the toaster and back away from it. Wait 3 hours and then carefully pry it out from the toaster, using a safety device like toilet paper wrapped around your hands. Put it on your plate and wait another 3 hours. A perfect breakfast -- oops, it's lunch already! And check out some of Docter Noel's dance moves! Here is one dedicated to his pet Dennis, who is a stone! The dance move is called, "The Stone." Instead of "The Worm," which is VERY dangerous indeed, in "The Stone," you just have one not dangerous at all step! It is: (1) lie down carefully and delicately, and stay there with your eyes open as wide as you can. (2) That's it! Docter Noel Zone also tells you how to act in real emergencies! For example, there is a PIRATE on your school bus! (Forewarning: Pirates like to dress up as crossing guards..) (1) Pretend to speak in the language of the Pirates (I already gave away too much, so I'm not telling you this one until you read the book, arrr matey!) (2) Give them a treasure map LEADING AWAY FROM THE BUS. (3) You're a hero! And note of advice, vampires like to dress up as subs (not submarines, the teachers), so watch out if they ride segways! They might be vampires! But the most dangerous vehicle of all is the.. bicycle! But Gretel from the cabbage cabin rides one.. :swoons: :cues romantic music: Ahh, Gretel.. Cabbages+Pretty Girl = True Love.. :snaps out of it: Anyway, Docter Noel Zone has removed all bicyles and dangerous equipment in his yard.. and covered it with concrete. WHY?!??!?!?!??!? That makes it more dangerous??!?!??! Sometimes you don't have common sense.. Docter. In this hilarious, imaginative, creative book, you will learn A LOT of cool stuff, like how to chase away pirates, and how to ward off vampires, and how to prepare toast properly.. on and on! You might find this stuff ironic or funny or not take it seriously, but these tips might help you later in life! There's also a DETBAFOD at the end, a little "test" to show if you can become a Dangerologist (LEVEL 1) and have a chance at beating Docter Noel Zone at the title, "Best and Only Dangerologist". So there you have it - good luck, POD (pupils of Dangerology) Grade - B+ ~FelicisOwl (Dangerologist Level 3 - printed the test three time XDDD)
                  • bibliophile
                    bibliophileThursday, June 25, 2015 at 12:36 pm
                    Lol... about printing the test three times... awww man... I'm still a Dangerologist Level 1... maybe going to college with this major might not be the right choice for me XD... BTW... I love your review.... It's so dramatic and funny at the same time! :-)
                  • selina
                    selinaMonday, June 1, 2015 at 6:05 pmFeatured
                    This book is about a man named Docter Noel Zone talking about that danger is everywhere and how to avoid it. For example he says that kite flying is dangerous because there could be a strong wind which might carry you away or maybe a large eagle might grab your kite before you can bring it down. Another dangerous thing is swimming pools because you might drown if you don’t know how to swim. Also Noel teaches how to say sentences in a shorter way. The word AAAAaAAA stands for Advice About Avoiding Angry and Aggressive Animal Attacks. The word TEPOC stands for The Emergency Page Of Calm. He also talks about what things you need to stay safe. For example you need a whistle so you can locate other members of the team and a cookie so that you can distract an animal who loves cookies so you can run away. I think this book is real funny in some places. Only I think some of the things that he says is not necessary because you will not need to do that at all. Also when he talked about his nieces he said they were happy to stay with him but they did not look happy at all. Plus I think that Noel pretty much does random things that are both funny and plain boring. The thing that I love about the book is that I get to become a pupil of Docter Noel Zone, the Dangerologist, because then I can learn more about dangerous stuff that I should recognize later if it actually happens later on. When I’m at level 5, I can teach my own pupils about Dangerology and teach how to say sentences in a shorter way. This book is one of the best books I’ve ever read!
                    • jake565
                      jake565Monday, June 1, 2015 at 4:30 pm
                      this is a really cool book