"This book is true fire. It is everything I didn't even know I needed." -- Jacqueline Woodson

"This is the story that would've made me fall in love with reading when I was a kid." -- Tomi Adeyemi

It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York as the Civil War rages between raptor-mounted armies down South. Magdalys Roca and her friends from the Colored Orphan Asylum are on a field trip when the Draft Riots break out, and a number of their fellow orphans are kidnapped by an evil magistrate, Richard Riker.

Magdalys and her friends flee to Brooklyn and settle in the Dactyl Hill neighborhood, where black and brown New Yorkers have set up an independent community--a safe haven from the threats of Manhattan. Together with the Vigilance Committee, they train to fly on dactylback, discover new friends and amazing dinosaurs, and plot to take down Riker. Can Magdalys and the squad rescue the rest of their friends before it's too late?

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on September 11, 2018 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 1338268813
ISBN-13: 9781338268812
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • JazmineFriday, September 4, 2020 at 2:30 pm
    Definitely a better than ok book! Loveddddd it.
    • swirlycool
      swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:16 pm55 stars
      Magdalys lives in New York in a time where there are dinosaurs and there is still segregation. This book is set during the Civil War. Magdalys and her friends flee to Brooklyn and settle in the Dactyl Hill neighborhood, where black and brown New Yorkers have set up an independant community. This book had an interesting plot. I recommend this to people who are interested in books set in the past, and I rate this 5/5.
      • swirlycool
        swirlycoolMonday, June 1, 2020 at 4:44 pm55 stars
        Magdalys lives in New York in a time where there are dinosaurs and there is still segregation. This book is set during the Civil War. Magdalys and her friends flee to Brooklyn and settle in the Dactyl Hill neighborhood, where black and brown New Yorkers have set up an independant community. This book had an interesting plot. I recommend this to people who are interested in books set in the past, and I rate this 5/5.
        • callie_b
          callie_bMonday, October 8, 2018 at 5:37 pm44 stars
          Do you ever wonder what life would be like if dinosaurs still existed? Well, it's reality for Magdalys (pronounced Mag-da-LEES) Rocca. It's 1863 in New York City during the Civil War, and Magdalys lives in the Colored Orphan Asylum. AND DINOSAURS STILL EXIST. They are usually pets or they are part of the army forces. Magdalys is special though because she can talk to dinosaurs WITH HER MIND! There are barely any people who are dinosaur-whisperers and that makes Magdalys extra special. But one night, the city is ablaze. The theater the orphans were watching a show at burned down, and so did their orphanage. A lady named Cymbeline from the theater show helps the kids to safety, and there is A LOT of action. It's totally awesome! But many of the orphans are kidnapped by Richard Riker, the evil magistrate heading the Kidnapping Club. (Yes. That was a real thing!!) Soon Magdalys and her friends must put together the Dactyl Hill Squad, spy for the good side, and find the missing orphans. And on top of all THAT, Magdalys wants to find her brother, who has been injured at war. But she has to take things one step at a time, and with the Dactyl Hill Squad and the dinosaurs by her side, Magdalys will learn what it’s like to be a strong warrior. I thought this book was great! It had a lot of action and adventure, and the author really had me thinking dinosaurs existed in 1863!! I recommend this book to those who like dinosaurs and epic quests, and anyone in between. For ages 8+ :)
          • slytherinfan
            slytherinfanFriday, September 14, 2018 at 3:32 pm55 stars
            At first, the book didn't make very much sense, But, as time progressed, the more I was interested in it. By the time I was finished, I was on the edge of my seat! If I could I would rate it a 6 out of 5.
            • LastWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 4:50 pm
              It's okay
              • jolokaWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 4:11 pm
                awesome!
                • riah babyWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 8:25 am
                  this book was good to me.
                  • cookieWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 7:48 am
                    its ok
                    • LucyWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 6:54 am
                      I find it okay.