Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.1147568
What price is too high to pay, even for love? Plunge into fifth installment the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series and “prepare to be hooked” (Entertainment Weekly).

The New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments continues—and so do the thrills and danger for Jace, Clary, and Simon.

What price is too high to pay, even for love? When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.
Hardcover, 544 pages
Published on May 8, 2012 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
ISBN-10: 1442416866
ISBN-13: 9781442416864
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • laurentb
    laurentbWednesday, December 9, 2015 at 4:54 pm55 stars
    City of Lost Souls is written by Classandra Clare. In the City of Lost Souls, Jace somehow became extremely ignorant to a lot of things. He listens to everything Sebastian says. Clary fakes that she will be staying with Jace and Sebastian and they bought it. In end of the story, there were a massacre of shadow hunters. Clary also gained a sword. The sword's owner is the Archangel, Michael. She uses the sword to sever the link between Jace and Sebastian, by stabbing Jace. Jace almost died and when he healed, new problems surfaced.
    • alicew
      alicewWednesday, December 2, 2015 at 1:10 am55 stars
      This book was really amazing and well written. It's so good that you can feel your heart being tied in knots whenever something bad happens. Throughout this books, that's the feeling I get. The plot in this book is full of action and love. The action scenes made me feel like as if I am there fighting along with them, you can even feel the glory of winning and to grieve for the loss. Cassandra Clare is really an author that creates a whole new world in a whole new perspective, making teenagers attacted to this series. Sebastian is a character that I sometimes like and sometimes don't. His chracter is so unique in his own ways, his style is also particular. In this book, I realized what true love can do to some people and how they are also there for each other, like Clary and Jace. At last, this book is recommend for people from 14~30 since there is more violent scenes in it.
      • booknerd01
        booknerd01Thursday, March 5, 2015 at 3:19 pm55 stars
        This was such an amazing book but I can never forgive Sebastin for what he did to Clary. He is her brother for crying out loud. It was still a really good book and I recommend it to everyone. I also kind of hate it because I know that I can't live in the same world as them. LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!
        • gwenfrost
          gwenfrostWednesday, October 8, 2014 at 10:35 am55 stars
          such a good book you should read it
          • zorba
            zorbaThursday, September 11, 2014 at 6:37 pm55 stars
            AMAZING BOOK!!! This book is maybe the best book I've ever read!!!!!!!! Cassandra Clare is an AWESOME writer. When I read it I felt like I was actually in the book. READ IT!!!!! I so wish I was a shadowhunter!!!!!!!! I am reading the 6th book now and it is SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!! This is the 5th book in the 6 book long series!!!!!!
            • zuza
              zuzaSaturday, March 8, 2014 at 6:21 am
              This rocks !!!!!
              • kassandrakissup
                kassandrakissupFriday, February 28, 2014 at 12:43 pm55 stars
                i loved this book its thrilling
                • clary
                  claryFriday, February 21, 2014 at 9:30 am55 stars
                  THIS BOOK IS AWSOME. I HAVE READ IT AND I REALLY HOPE EVERYBODY DOES TOO I REALLY FECOMAND IT TO EVERYBODY.
                  • flora
                    floraWednesday, January 8, 2014 at 9:13 am55 stars
                    this book is awsome u should really read it this one has a lot of action too everybody should read it i really love the charcters espacially clary and jamie. i love them.
                    • cherry2669
                      cherry2669Tuesday, November 5, 2013 at 10:48 pm
                      i want to read this so bad but haven't yet been able to get my hands on it! :(