Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.8199913
Shadowhunters and demons square off for the final showdown in the spellbinding, seductive conclusion to the #1 New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

Darkness has descended on the Shadowhunter world. Chaos and destruction overwhelm the Nephilim as Clary, Jace, Simon, and their friends band together to fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell. Nothing in this world can defeat Sebastian—but if they journey to the realm of demons, they just might have a chance…

Lives will be lost, love sacrificed, and the whole world will change. Who will survive the explosive sixth and final installment of the Mortal Instruments series?
Hardcover, 725 pages
Published on May 27, 2014 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
ISBN-10: 1442416890
ISBN-13: 9781442416895
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • misterchief84
    misterchief84Thursday, November 8, 2018 at 3:11 pm55 stars
    This is an insanely good book and worth the wait. Ever since I read City Of Bones, I wanted to read more. This book has a thrilling conclusion, heartbreaking sacrifice, and brings an end to one of the best young adult book series.
    • wannaone
      wannaoneWednesday, August 24, 2016 at 6:58 am55 stars
      I loved this book
      • laurentb
        laurentbWednesday, December 9, 2015 at 4:56 pm55 stars
        City of Heavenly Fire is written by Classandra Clare. I loved the ending of this book, but is also a bit sad that this is the end of this series. There are some surprising things in the story. Jace has the heaven's fire in his body and Clary somehow sealed the fire into her sword. In the end she stabbed Sebastian with it and he died. Magnus Bane, the warlock, sacrificed himself so that the rest of his companions could leave Asmodeus's realm. In the end of the story, Jace chose to live on as a Herondale, instead of Lightwood or his original family. Jace is connected to another character in another series also written by Cassandra Clare. I would recommend these series to everyone.
        • alicew
          alicewWednesday, December 2, 2015 at 1:22 am55 stars
          This is the last book of the series that i fell in love with, and it's also the best one. The answers from Sebastian are all answered and everything became so clear. Jace, Clary, Isabelle, and Alec all came together and formed a little clan to fight Sebastian. This book is full of excitement, but also sadness due to the heartbreaking moments. My favotire character is now Alec because he is Jace's parabatai (bonded friendship), they were so close together, and it's really amazing to see how they would safrifice themselves for each other. It also made me realize who my parabatai in real life is. The most exciting and unbielieveable part in this book is it's ending. I might have guessed the ending but it wasn't what i expected. It might have been the saddest happy ending ever. At last, I would of course recommend this book/series to people who love books that involes supernatural creatures and adventures so exciting.
          • ciarasmagnet
            ciarasmagnetSunday, November 15, 2015 at 5:31 am
            this book is amazing!!
            • angelay
              angelayThursday, September 24, 2015 at 7:27 am55 stars
              This is the ending book to one of the best series I have ever read. It's packed with suspense and will make readers eager to turn the page. One of the best things about the book is the chemistry that the protagonist, Clary, has with her best friends. They just work together naturally and don't really argue amongst themselves when there is trouble. However, I think that the author should make the characters more relatable so they actually seem like real heroes - which means that they are not cookie cutter perfect. I really couldn't put the book down while I was reading it. There is also a prequel series which I would really like to read and also recommend to you.
              • cocothefan
                cocothefanThursday, July 16, 2015 at 2:27 pm44 stars
                This book was one of the saddest happy ending to an amazing series! I recommend it to everyone is looking for a action packed, suspenseful page turner.
                • dancer4790
                  dancer4790Thursday, May 28, 2015 at 8:48 am
                  wow!
                  • (: (: (:Tuesday, May 5, 2015 at 7:22 pm
                    this book is sooooo amazing (:
                    • booknerd01
                      booknerd01Thursday, March 5, 2015 at 3:17 pm55 stars
                      This book was so good. I couldn't put it down and I love what happens. It answers so many questions and Sebastin got what he deserved. Clary and Jace were really clever and it was such a good conclusion. I still wish that there would be a book after telling you of their life together. I loved this book.