City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments) Book Three

Book 3 of 6 in the Mortal Instruments Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.3150516
Love is a mortal sin, and the secrets of the past are deadly. Plunge into the third installment in the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series and “prepare to be hooked” (Entertainment Weekly).

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters—never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City—whatever the cost?

Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the third installment of bestselling series the Mortal Instruments.
Hardcover, 560 pages
Published on March 24, 2009 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
ISBN-10: 1416914307
ISBN-13: 9781416914303
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • laurentb
    laurentbWednesday, December 9, 2015 at 4:52 pm55 stars
    City of Glass is written by Classandra Clare. I think the City of Glass is a very fitting title for this book, because that's exactly how the Shadowhunter's city look like, a city made out of glass. I hope I could actually see it. It sounds so amazing and beautiful. In this book, Clary meets a new character, Sebastian. Their relationship is kind of weird because even though Clary didn't know that they are siblings, Sebastian did. This made their relationship weird. Sebastian was the opposite of Shadow hunters, he has blood of Lilith, a demon, in his veins.
    • alicew
      alicewWednesday, December 2, 2015 at 12:19 am55 stars
      The Mortal Instruments series never fail to suprise me, especially this one. Being the third book out of six books, it's really important how the middle of the series goes because it determins how the direction of story would be later. This book is full of twist and turns which will never dissapoint you. I really like Clary because although she is a shadowhunter, she is like every girl in the world, trying to figure out who they are and figuring out our own identity. The ending of the story was clearly the best part of the whole book, it's a cliff hanger that would want people to find out what's next in the fourth book, it also explained a lot of confusing things that were a mystery to me before. I would surley recommend this book to people around 12~30 because if gives kids a feeling that anything is possible and give adudlts a feeling of their childhood. (just in a more normal way)
      • booknerd01
        booknerd01Thursday, March 5, 2015 at 3:23 pm55 stars
        I love this book. I loved the twists and turns. I can't believe what happened in the end though. And you would be lying if you said that you didn't want to be a shadwohunter, racing through the night to save the human race from monsters they can't see. Such a great book.
        • zorba
          zorbaThursday, September 11, 2014 at 6:38 pm55 stars
          AMAZING BOOK!!! This book is maybe the best book I've ever read!!!!!!!! Cassandra Clare is an AWESOME writer. When I read it I felt like I was actually in the book. READ IT!!!!! I so wish I was a shadowhunter!!!!!!!! I am reading the 6th book now and it is SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!! This is the 3rd book in the 6 book long series!!!!!!
          • shineeyes
            shineeyesWednesday, February 19, 2014 at 8:39 am55 stars
            this book looks so good
            • jasmp
              jasmpThursday, February 13, 2014 at 9:14 pm
              I am half way through the series and I LOVE it . Again, its good for girls
              • flora
                floraWednesday, January 8, 2014 at 9:20 am44 stars
                this one is fine too but to me it dose not have so much action or romance but i still think you should read it,
                • LilyThursday, December 5, 2013 at 1:38 pm
                  I've read the series and it was amazing! I love all the books and you might love them too.
                  • gemstar
                    gemstarSunday, October 6, 2013 at 5:37 pm55 stars
                    I loved this book! I can't believe all the stuff that happened; I was so surprised at some of it!
                    • coolieo3000
                      coolieo3000Monday, September 2, 2013 at 12:44 pm55 stars
                      This story is amazing! 5 stars from me because of the feeling I got when reading this masterpiece; adrenalin, fear etc! Well done Cassandra!