City of Fallen Angels (Mortal Instruments, Book 4)

Book 4 of 6 in the Mortal Instruments Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.2119111
Trust is dangerous, and to love is to destroy. Plunge into the fourth installment in the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series and “prepare to be hooked” (Entertainment Weekly).

The Mortal War is over, and sixteen-year-old Clary Fray is back home in New York, excited about all the possibilities before her. She's training to become a Shadowhunter and to use her unique power. Her mother is getting married to the love of her life. Downworlders and Shadowhunters are at peace at last. And—most importantly of all—she can finally call Jace her boyfriend.

But nothing comes without a price.

Someone is murdering Shadowhunters, provoking tensions between Downworlders and Shadowhunters that could lead to a second, bloody war. Clary's best friend, Simon, can't help her. His mother just found out that he's a vampire and now he's homeless. Everywhere he turns, someone wants him on their side—along with the power of the curse that's wrecking his life. And they're willing to do anything to get what they want. Not to mention that he's dating two beautiful, dangerous girls—neither of whom knows about the other one.

When Jace begins to pull away from her without explaining why, Clary is forced to delve into the heart of a mystery whose solution reveals her worst nightmare: she herself has set in motion a terrible chain of events that could lead to her losing everything she loves. Even Jace.

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. The stakes are higher than ever in City of Fallen Angels.
Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on April 5, 2011 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
ISBN-10: 1442403543
ISBN-13: 9781442403543
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • laurentb
    laurentbWednesday, December 9, 2015 at 4:54 pm55 stars
    City of Fallen Angels is written by Classandra Clare. This is the fourth book of The Mortal Instrument series. This series is really awesome and the author makes me feel like I'm a bystander in the story, like I'm in the story looking at the events happening. I also love the way Cassandra Clare write this story. In this story, Jace and Clary can finally be together.
    • shadowwolfhm1
      shadowwolfhm1Tuesday, December 8, 2015 at 12:46 pm55 stars
      It is one of the best books I've ever read! I love the whole series, but so far this book is my favorite out of the series! This book will keep you on edge and leaves you with the best cliff hanger ever!
      • alicew
        alicewWednesday, December 2, 2015 at 12:55 am55 stars
        This book may contain the most changes in the whole series of the Mortal Instruments because people are changing, things are changing, relationships are also changing. Your mouth may be sore after reading this book because you can never shut your mouth due to the excitement and suprises the book gives you. The best part in this book is when kyle revieled his true identity, I had an idea at first, but I didn't know it would be that shocking. Also, Magnus may have turned into one of my favorite chacter now, because also he is a little stubborn, he is reall kind towards the other characters and are always willing to help. At last, I would always recommend this book to kids around 13~30, because it gives you a feeling like life is an adventure and it never ends until you let it.
        • zorba
          zorbaThursday, September 11, 2014 at 6:36 pm55 stars
          AMAZING BOOK!!! This book is maybe the best book I've ever read!!!!!!!! Cassandra Clare is an AWESOME writer. When I read it I felt like I was actually in the book. READ IT!!!!! I so wish I was a shadowhunter!!!!!!!! I am reading the 6th book now and it is SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!! This is the 4th book!!!!!
          • clary
            claryFriday, February 21, 2014 at 9:32 am55 stars
            I HAVE READ THIS BOOK AND ITS VERY GOOD BEACUSE THIS IS WHERE CLARY AND JACE CAN FANILLY BE TOGETHER.
            • flora
              floraWednesday, January 8, 2014 at 9:10 am55 stars
              this book is very cool to me it takes me to a different world it has a lot of action and romance ect. i really recomand it to you.
              • tatyanna19
                tatyanna19Sunday, December 16, 2012 at 5:25 pm
                I need the next book.
                • sillysmilley
                  sillysmilleySaturday, November 10, 2012 at 7:56 am55 stars
                  It's full of witches, warlocks, and demons everything anyone could ever wish for!!!!!
                  • monopoly10
                    monopoly10Sunday, June 3, 2012 at 11:57 am55 stars
                    i want to read it so bad!!!!!!