Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a5.0130949

Discover this first installment of the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series and “prepare to be hooked” (Entertainment Weekly).

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know...

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

Hardcover, 629 pages
Published on September 1, 2008 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 1410409589
ISBN-13: 9781410409584
80 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • aly_spoon675
    aly_spoon675Wednesday, August 12, 2020 at 6:44 am55 stars
    Clary has been different all her life. She has seen vampires, warlocks, faeries, and much more... not that she ever knew that until she met the Shadowhunters. Clary's life finally makes sense when Jace, Isabelle, and Alec tell her that she is one of them, she is a Shadowhunter. I was drawn to the book with every word as Clary started her new life while trying to find her lost mother, but can she handle the bitter truth she will discover? Recommended for 6th graders and up, this book will leave you stunned and craving for more.
    • BookloverMonday, July 8, 2019 at 7:22 am
      This is a very good book I reccomend it to everyone over 13 due to age appropriate knowledge but I have read all the books and is one of my favourite series
      • katherina_8268
        katherina_8268Friday, April 5, 2019 at 4:23 pm55 stars
        I REALLY WANT TO READ THIS!! I'm just aching to get it, and I don't think I can wait much longer. Lots of people recommend this book, and I can't wait until our school library finally buys the first book for the library!
        • stormrider321
          stormrider321Monday, March 5, 2018 at 5:39 am55 stars
          This series is amazing and full of adventure. I love to just escape into this world and imagine if this were to really happen. As a Mundane (What they call humans) I think this book may as well be an auto biography sold to mundanes as a fiction because of how perfectly everything is described. Read it! :D
          • falcon846
            falcon846Friday, February 23, 2018 at 1:42 pm55 stars
            Amazing book it really pulls you into the story. I would love to live in that world and being a Shadowhunter sounds awesome.
            • majise
              majiseFriday, November 10, 2017 at 9:14 am55 stars
              Awesome book i love it!!!!
              • dheb2
                dheb2Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 6:33 am55 stars
                this was a fun thrill ride that all would love
                • darkangeldria12
                  darkangeldria12Thursday, October 26, 2017 at 1:15 pm55 stars
                  I absolutely love this series I have read it about a thousand times and know everything by heart I definitely do recommend these books for people to read :D
                  • riley22m
                    riley22mTuesday, March 7, 2017 at 7:25 pm55 stars
                    This book was awesome. It wasn't one of those books where the girl was a damsel in distress at all points of the story. It is very mysterious but also very adventurous full of demons half angel humans who fight to survive. It's thrilling and if you are into supernatural then this is your book.
                    • savycat
                      savycatTuesday, January 17, 2017 at 12:37 pm55 stars
                      i have read this books series twice,it is awesome