Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a5.0120608
Is love worth betraying everything? Plunge into the second adventure in the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series and “prepare to be hooked” (Entertainment Weekly).

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what's normal when you're a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who's becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn't ready to let her go—especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary's only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil—and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings—and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

In this breathtaking sequel to City of Bones, Cassandra Clare lures her readers back into the dark grip of New York City's Downworld, where love is never safe and power becomes the deadliest temptation.
Hardcover, 464 pages
Published on March 25, 2008 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
ISBN-10: 1416914293
ISBN-13: 9781416914297
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • GIRLThursday, September 20, 2018 at 8:52 am
    LOVE THIS BOOK SERIES
    • lillybooklover
      lillybookloverTuesday, February 16, 2016 at 12:42 pm
      this is the best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • laurentb
        laurentbWednesday, December 9, 2015 at 4:51 pm55 stars
        City of Ashes is written by Classandra Clare. After City of Bones, I just had to continue the story. I love the way how the author makes the relationships between characters. Everyone would probably like this book, it doesn't matter what gender you are. This book has both fights and romance in it. If you like urban legends, you will definitely love this book, too. I also recommend it to every teenager.
        • alicew
          alicewSunday, November 22, 2015 at 5:41 pm55 starsFeatured
          After reading City Of Bones, I can't help but pick up this book and read it. I really like how the author made the realationships complicated so that conflict was happening in the book. Every chapter of the story is either exciting or heartwarming. The characters were well deleveloped during this book and everyone finally started to get along. The big change that happened in this story was shocking. I strongly recommend this book to readers who like angels and demons and all those vampire, wearwolf stuff. This series fits for both boys and girls since there is both romance and fightings in the story.
          • mjbooknerd
            mjbooknerdFriday, October 23, 2015 at 12:43 pmFeatured
            This is the best series ever. Its my complete favorite. The story goes perfectly. I love how it kept me captivated, I didn't want to put it down, and when I did I was grumpy because I couldn't finish it. this book and the rest of the books in the series gave me a major case of the feel. I strongly recommend this book to everyone if you like angels, demons, magic, etc.
            • ryanl20
              ryanl20Friday, October 23, 2015 at 5:54 am33 stars
              I think this is a very special and interesting story to read, I really recommend it. The characters are very well developed and their traits are all special. After I read the book, I can just figure out who's the character that said the things. The different parts happen in the story like the twisted dark parts, and the awesome and nervous parts are all very well wrote. I really like the ending of the story, especially what happened to Simon. I dislike the character Simon at the beginning, but at the end of this story I really like Simon.
              • booknerd01
                booknerd01Thursday, March 5, 2015 at 3:26 pm55 stars
                This is such an amazing book and I couldn't put it down. The twists and turns were fantastic. The end was amazing when she destroyed the ship and Simon became a Daylighter. LOVED this book and series.
                • bgiffin
                  bgiffinThursday, January 29, 2015 at 8:42 am
                  my sister loves this book series
                  • gwenfrost
                    gwenfrostWednesday, October 8, 2014 at 10:35 am
                    such a good book you should read it
                    • zorba
                      zorbaMonday, July 14, 2014 at 11:04 am55 stars
                      AMAZING BOOK!!! This book is maybe the best book I've ever read!!!!!!!! Cassandra Clare is an AWESOME writer. When I read it I felt like I was actually in the book. READ IT!!!!! I so wish I was a shadowhunter!!!!!!!! I am reading the 6th book now and it is SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!! This is the 2nd book in the 6 book long series!!!!!!