Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a
In his daydreams, Jensen is the biggest hero that ever was, saving the world and his friends on a daily basis. But his middle school reality is VERY different--math is hard, getting along with friends is hard...Even finding a partner for the class project is a huge problem when you always get picked last. And the pressure's on even more once the school newspaper's dynamic duo, Jenny and Akilah, draw Jensen into the whirlwind of school news, social-experiment projects, and behind-the-scenes club drama. Jensen has always played the middle school game one level at a time, but suddenly, someone's cranked up the difficulty setting. Will those daring daydreams of his finally work in his favor, or will he have to find real solutions to his real-life problems? The charming world of Berrybrook Middle School gets a little bigger in this highly anticipated follow-up to Svetlana Chmakova's award-winning Awkward with a story about a boy who learns his own way of being brave!
Hardcover, 248 pages
Published on May 23, 2017 by Yen Press
ISBN-10: 0316363170
ISBN-13: 9780316363174
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • applebutter
    applebutterMonday, October 14, 2019 at 11:09 am44 stars
    This is a Incredible book. I love this author and the books that this author has written. Such a great book for boys and girls
    • kawaiiunipuppy
      kawaiiunipuppyFriday, October 11, 2019 at 6:07 am
      its a great book really it does not change the chapter book.
      • zijiwagu-156857521459
        zijiwagu-156857521459Tuesday, October 1, 2019 at 5:15 am
        i like the book
        • inmemoryofcpr
          inmemoryofcprSaturday, June 1, 2019 at 2:01 pm44 stars
          In the sequel to the book, "Awkward,"Jensen, the daydreamer, imagines that he is his friends' hero. But surviving middle school is now harder than ever. Getting along with his friends is hard, his homework is hard, and when he joins the newspaper team, the pressure becomes even bigger and bigger.
          • smilingsunshine
            smilingsunshineTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 6:56 am55 stars
            I read this book because I had the book "Awkward" and I wanted to read another book by the author Svetlana Chmakova because I like her art style and the way her books flow.
            • jams101
              jams101Wednesday, November 7, 2018 at 5:11 pm55 stars
              Best book evvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvver
              • Macylynn1Wednesday, September 5, 2018 at 7:25 am
                I thought this book was really good because if kids who read the book were bullied or are being bullied they might feel better because they could relate to the main character. I believe this book could help children have hope for better school days and it could help children see that it's good to break out of their shell.
                • bookstory13
                  bookstory13Thursday, July 5, 2018 at 9:30 am55 stars
                  Svetlana Chmakova has done it again! This graphic novel is an example of the basic middle school life. Jensen is prepared for anything-sunspots, earthquakes, even a zombie apocalypse! He's just an ordinary kid. He loves art club, hates math, dreams big dreams, and tries to get through school without getting noticed by the mean kids. For Jensen, this is everyday life! He even imagines it as a video game! But when the bullying starts to get out of control and things take a turn for the worse, Jensen must seek all the good and be brave. I really like the Awkward series because it's great examples of teen issue and can get to your emotions. I almost cried during the middle when I saw how badly Jensen was being bullied. But all in all, if you don't like graphic novels, this book will sure change your mind! - BKS reviews
                  • foxsicle
                    foxsicleTuesday, January 23, 2018 at 6:48 am55 stars
                    I don't know how to explain the book and I don't want any spoilers, but mostly it is a very good and interesting book. I highly recommend this book to all ages and say have fun with it. The author of this book is Svetlana Chmakova, i really like her books. I also like her manga's and yeah. I highly recommend this book. Thank you for reading this, also have fun.
                    • zubyfajemuvezi
                      zubyfajemuveziWednesday, December 20, 2017 at 2:37 pm55 stars
                      This book is Really good and this guy he got bullied the whole time in school and he had a friends that is a girls and those girl are a reporter or something in their school blog so no one want to mess with them and on the first school he got bullied and then his friends came which is a girls so and the people that bullied him got scared because the girls might record them how they bullied the guy and posted in the school blog so they ran away and that guy that got bullied all the time is is always nervous of people and in the end the science people and the other trying to be friends but it hard because they hated each other for a long time so the guy and the girl trying to make them as a friends and almost in the end they are a friends and they made some kind of like space house or something and the other people was so happy so they went inside and they look around and they like it so they became friends. HOPE U LIKE IT WHEN U READ THIS BOOK