Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9n/an/an/an/a
In his daydreams, Jensen is the biggest hero that ever was, saving the world and his friends on a daily basis. But his middle school reality is VERY different--math is hard, getting along with friends is hard...Even finding a partner for the class project is a huge problem when you always get picked last. And the pressure's on even more once the school newspaper's dynamic duo, Jenny and Akilah, draw Jensen into the whirlwind of school news, social-experiment projects, and behind-the-scenes club drama. Jensen has always played the middle school game one level at a time, but suddenly, someone's cranked up the difficulty setting. Will those daring daydreams of his finally work in his favor, or will he have to find real solutions to his real-life problems? The charming world of Berrybrook Middle School gets a little bigger in this highly anticipated follow-up to Svetlana Chmakova's award-winning Awkward with a story about a boy who learns his own way of being brave!
Hardcover, 248 pages
Published on May 23, 2017 by Yen Press
ISBN-10: 0316363170
ISBN-13: 9780316363174
13 Book Reviews
  • reapuu
    reapuuThursday, May 27, 2021 at 1:55 am44 stars
    Jensen Graham can identify with many middle schoolers. Hates math, has trouble finding a seat at lunch, failing grades and doesn’t seem to belong. Jensen dreams of becoming an astronaut and exploring on Mars, and becoming a hero for his friends. Yet, Jensen ponders over whether his friends are really... friends? His art club friends make fun of him and call him names for fun. Jensen knows it’s not serious, and they are really his friends, but he’s still uncomfortable about it. Lately Jensen has been bullied by Foster and Yanic, two middle schoolers who love to bully others. They call him “fat and stupid”, and make mean jokes and leave notes so that Jensen can’t use evidence to tell on them. Jensen joins the newspaper crew to run away from Foster and Yanic, and they discuss this bullying issue further. When Jensen is given a survey, and the last question on it says, “Do you know someone that would save you a seat, or do you feel isolated or alone?” Jensen does not know how to answer, and his middle school life gets worse and worse. Can Jensen solve his problems? Or will life continue to go on like this?
    • carmen28259
      carmen28259Thursday, November 5, 2020 at 8:40 am22 stars
      it was not my favorite book but i am pretty sure that a lot of other people would like it though.
      • applebutter
        applebutterMonday, October 14, 2019 at 11:09 am44 stars
        This is a Incredible book. I love this author and the books that this author has written. Such a great book for boys and girls
        • kawaiiunipuppy
          kawaiiunipuppyFriday, October 11, 2019 at 6:07 am
          its a great book really it does not change the chapter book.
          • zijiwagu-156857521459
            zijiwagu-156857521459Tuesday, October 1, 2019 at 5:15 am
            i like the book
            • inmemoryofcpr
              inmemoryofcprSaturday, June 1, 2019 at 2:01 pm44 stars
              In the sequel to the book, "Awkward,"Jensen, the daydreamer, imagines that he is his friends' hero. But surviving middle school is now harder than ever. Getting along with his friends is hard, his homework is hard, and when he joins the newspaper team, the pressure becomes even bigger and bigger.
              • smilingsunshine
                smilingsunshineTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 6:56 am55 stars
                I read this book because I had the book "Awkward" and I wanted to read another book by the author Svetlana Chmakova because I like her art style and the way her books flow.
                • jams101
                  jams101Wednesday, November 7, 2018 at 5:11 pm55 stars
                  Best book evvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvver
                  • Macylynn1Wednesday, September 5, 2018 at 7:25 am
                    I thought this book was really good because if kids who read the book were bullied or are being bullied they might feel better because they could relate to the main character. I believe this book could help children have hope for better school days and it could help children see that it's good to break out of their shell.
                    • bribat1920
                      bribat1920Monday, May 11, 2020 at 2:59 am
                      i totally agree, it really does show a side to things some people wouldnt know about,and it gives kids a thing to really relate to and will help people get through some hard days
                    • bookstory14
                      bookstory14Thursday, July 5, 2018 at 9:30 am55 stars
                      Svetlana Chmakova has done it again! This graphic novel is an example of the basic middle school life. Jensen is prepared for anything-sunspots, earthquakes, even a zombie apocalypse! He's just an ordinary kid. He loves art club, hates math, dreams big dreams, and tries to get through school without getting noticed by the mean kids. For Jensen, this is everyday life! He even imagines it as a video game! But when the bullying starts to get out of control and things take a turn for the worse, Jensen must seek all the good and be brave. I really like the Awkward series because it's great examples of teen issue and can get to your emotions. I almost cried during the middle when I saw how badly Jensen was being bullied. But all in all, if you don't like graphic novels, this book will sure change your mind! - BKS reviews