Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 8W2.410235
The first book in Jeff Smith's New York Times bestselling, award-winning graphic novel series featuring an unlikely hero who must save an idyllic valley from the forces of evil.

After being run out of Boneville, the three Bone cousins -- Fone Bone, Phoney Bone, and Smiley Bone -- are separated and lost in a vast, uncharted desert. One by one, they find their way into a deep, forested valley filled with wonderful and terrifying creatures. Eventually, the cousins are reunited at a farmstead run by tough Gran'ma Ben and her spirited granddaughter, Thorn. But little do the Bones know, there are dark forces conspiring against them and their adventures are only just beginning!


Paperback, 144 pages
Published on February 1, 2005 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0439706408
ISBN-13: 9780439706407
61 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lylah26
    lylah26Monday, February 24, 2020 at 8:17 am55 stars
    amazingly extreme and so intresting read all of them
    • minecraft proTuesday, November 26, 2019 at 6:42 am
      This is a great book.It tell you all about bones family and his bothers.first, he got lost.Next,he found a friend.last,he found his bother.I love this book I hope you do to.It is a 5 star book.this a great book!
      • vazucufu-156821582834
        vazucufu-156821582834Wednesday, September 25, 2019 at 11:57 am55 stars
        It’s a really fun book filled with cool novels
        • wizardginnyl
          wizardginnylMonday, September 23, 2019 at 8:48 am55 stars
          this is such a cool book! it is about a person with a huge nose and his brothers.like by person i mean not just an animal like a dog or something, but not a human either. I am in 5th grade, but the other books are scary to me.
          • soccerstar1212
            soccerstar1212Thursday, June 6, 2019 at 8:40 pm44 stars
            This book by Jeff Smith is a pretty good one. It is called bone volume one. If you like short stories or comics this is definitely the book for you, however if you prefer more of a novel than this is not the right book for you. I would recommend this book to others.
            • sgoiscool
              sgoiscoolSunday, June 2, 2019 at 6:15 pm55 stars
              Bone 1 is cool! The bone boys were in the newspaper before they became a graphic novel! I love there personality, one is money wanting, another is funny, the next is serious
              • ellapop
                ellapopWednesday, October 10, 2018 at 6:34 pm55 stars
                So amazing 😉 when I picked up the book I could not put it down
                • starfish112
                  starfish112Wednesday, May 9, 2018 at 2:30 pm55 stars
                  if you like adventures i actually read every series
                  • tenten
                    tentenThursday, February 22, 2018 at 2:28 pm55 stars
                    It really cool. :)
                    • kawaii_kunicorn
                      kawaii_kunicornFriday, October 27, 2017 at 7:02 am55 stars
                      i looooooooove bone books I have every single volume of BONE!!!!!! \(-_-)/