Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 4n/a4.049971
Eleven-year-old Isabella’s blended family is more divided than ever in this thoughtful story about divorce and racial identity from the award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of Out of My Mind, Sharon M. Draper.

Eleven-year-old Isabella’s parents are divorced, so she has to switch lives every week: One week she’s Isabella with her dad, his girlfriend Anastasia, and her son Darren living in a fancy house where they are one of the only black families in the neighborhood. The next week she’s Izzy with her mom and her boyfriend John-Mark in a small, not-so-fancy house that she loves.

Because of this, Isabella has always felt pulled between two worlds. And now that her parents are divorced, it seems their fights are even worse, and they’re always about HER. Isabella feels even more stuck in the middle, split and divided between them than ever. And she’s is beginning to realize that being split between Mom and Dad is more than switching houses, switching nicknames, switching backpacks: it’s also about switching identities. Her dad is black, her mom is white, and strangers are always commenting: “You’re so exotic!” “You look so unusual.” “But what are you really?” She knows what they’re really saying: “You don’t look like your parents.” “You’re different.” “What race are you really?” And when her parents, who both get engaged at the same time, get in their biggest fight ever, Isabella doesn’t just feel divided, she feels ripped in two. What does it mean to be half white or half black? To belong to half mom and half dad? And if you’re only seen as half of this and half of that, how can you ever feel whole?

It seems like nothing can bring Isabella’s family together again—until the worst happens. Isabella and Darren are stopped by the police. A cell phone is mistaken for a gun. And shots are fired.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on October 30, 2018 by Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
ISBN-10: 1442495006
ISBN-13: 9781442495005
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlycool
    swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:21 pm55 stars
    This book is about a girl named Isabella who is dealing with and who has a best friend named Imani who is also dealing with racism. This book was very interesting, and it also was heartbreaking in many parts of it. Sadly, racism is an issue that people still deal with today and this book showed what the main character, Isabelle, had to go through. Isabelle's parents are also divorced and she struggles going back and forth. Her parents also have trouble agreeing with each other, and sometimes Isabelle feels like she's two people. This book is really good, and I rate it 5/5. I recommend it to people who enjoy reading books about problems that are still present in today's society.
    • swirlycool
      swirlycoolSaturday, May 30, 2020 at 5:10 pm55 stars
      This book is about a girl named Isabella who is dealing with and who has a best friend named Imani who is also dealing with racism. This book was very interesting, and it also was heartbreaking in many parts of it. Sadly, racism is an issue that people still deal with today and this book showed what the main character, Isabelle, had to go through. Isabelle's parents are also divorced and she struggles going back and forth. Her parents also have trouble agreeing with each other, and sometimes Isabelle feels like she's two people. This book is really good, and I rate it 5/5. I recommend it to people who enjoy reading books about problems that are still present in today's society.
      • roxanne3
        roxanne3Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 12:01 pm55 stars
        I really like this book! I have read it twice, once just from a friend (@sirireads thank you!!!) and also because it is on my Battle of the Books list. It is a great story about the hardships of an 11-year-old girl with divorced parents, a white mom and a Black dad. She struggles a lot after her parents get divorced, but she learns to love her new families. She loves playing piano but *spoiler alert* on the way to a big piano recital, her brother gets pulled over and accused of robbing a bank. The police officers are being really rude to her and her brother, but after they decide to let them go, one of the officers "accidentally" (we will never know if it was an accident...) shoots Isabella in the arm. She also gets a concussion and has to go to the hospital, but in the end this accident is what helps her parents stop being rude to each other, even though they are now both engaged. This is a great book!!
        • roxanne3
          roxanne3Wednesday, February 5, 2020 at 6:05 pm55 stars
          This is an awesome book, I read it in sixth grade but definitely could have read it earlier, so I would really recommend it for any age. It is very good, but kind of sad and scary at times!!! Loved this Book!!!
          • roxanne3
            roxanne3Thursday, January 23, 2020 at 5:51 pm55 stars
            I have read Out of My Mind, great book but very sad at times. I am looking forward to reading this book, and I think one of my well read school friends (you know who you are) is going to lend this to me. Can't wait!!!
            • legendsneverdie
              legendsneverdieThursday, September 12, 2019 at 6:49 pm55 stars
              EEK! Blended is such a good book and one of my favorites so far! (I have a lot XD) I think the author took really big steps as some chapters or pages could be offensive or racist but I think this book is still really good! I recommend this to fans of Out of My Mind and Fish in a Tree! (Other favorites :P)
              • applemango
                applemangoThursday, May 23, 2019 at 3:27 pm55 stars
                This book is about Isabella. She is going though the struggles of divorce and the sudden fights . Like her Mom throwing the cake at her dad's feet just because he didn't like the flavor. Also she has a brother that disappeared too! However both families are here to guide her.
                • legendsneverdie
                  legendsneverdieThursday, September 12, 2019 at 6:47 pm55 stars
                  Hey! I like your review but none of the thing like throwing cake or a disappearing brother is in the actual book. (I got my book a few months ago, so maybe it was different) No hate, but I think you made that stuff up
                  • roxanne3
                    roxanne3Wednesday, February 5, 2020 at 5:57 pm55 stars
                    Yes, I agree legendsneverdie but I am glad that we all seem to think it is a good book!!
                • AnnonymousWednesday, March 13, 2019 at 3:05 pm
                  I read Out Of My Mind and immediatly fell in love with the author. I had to find other books by her and someone recomended this book to me. I love this book so much and could hardly put it down! I strongly recomend it to readers of all ages!