Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 4n/a4.049971
Eleven-year-old Isabella’s blended family is more divided than ever in this thoughtful story about divorce and racial identity from the award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of Out of My Mind, Sharon M. Draper.

Eleven-year-old Isabella’s parents are divorced, so she has to switch lives every week: One week she’s Isabella with her dad, his girlfriend Anastasia, and her son Darren living in a fancy house where they are one of the only black families in the neighborhood. The next week she’s Izzy with her mom and her boyfriend John-Mark in a small, not-so-fancy house that she loves.

Because of this, Isabella has always felt pulled between two worlds. And now that her parents are divorced, it seems their fights are even worse, and they’re always about HER. Isabella feels even more stuck in the middle, split and divided between them than ever. And she’s is beginning to realize that being split between Mom and Dad is more than switching houses, switching nicknames, switching backpacks: it’s also about switching identities. Her dad is black, her mom is white, and strangers are always commenting: “You’re so exotic!” “You look so unusual.” “But what are you really?” She knows what they’re really saying: “You don’t look like your parents.” “You’re different.” “What race are you really?” And when her parents, who both get engaged at the same time, get in their biggest fight ever, Isabella doesn’t just feel divided, she feels ripped in two. What does it mean to be half white or half black? To belong to half mom and half dad? And if you’re only seen as half of this and half of that, how can you ever feel whole?

It seems like nothing can bring Isabella’s family together again—until the worst happens. Isabella and Darren are stopped by the police. A cell phone is mistaken for a gun. And shots are fired.
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on October 30, 2018 by Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
ISBN-10: 1442495006
ISBN-13: 9781442495005
21 Book Reviews
  • peloquin
    peloquinWednesday, February 10, 2021 at 7:44 pm55 stars
    I loved it. I love your other book it was amazing. I also love out of my mind. My teacher let me borrow this book . And it was new so i was amazed.
    • live1357
      live1357Monday, January 25, 2021 at 6:52 am55 stars
      A must read book, you must read it!
      • coolcat12345
        coolcat12345Monday, January 25, 2021 at 5:58 am55 stars
        You should read Blended by Sharon M. Draper because it talks about a 11 year old girl named Isabella who's mother is white and her father is black and divorced. Isabella does not feel whole because she has to go back and forth to her mother house to her fathers house. Isabella learns that she has to accept her family the way it is. This is why you should read this book!
        • violetbutterfly
          violetbutterflyMonday, January 11, 2021 at 1:21 pm55 stars
          I really like this book! I definitely recommend it.
          • bookqueenpaige
            bookqueenpaigeTuesday, November 3, 2020 at 1:24 pm44 stars
            I could rate this book I would a 10000000 this book was amazing I loved how she faces being mixed/blended in different ways! I read this book in the 5th grade and I loved it. I couldn't take my hands off of it. So if anyone out there hasn't read this book now, like right now!
            • nightmare2
              nightmare2Wednesday, February 24, 2021 at 7:26 am55 stars
              Tottaly my favorite book. Theres an unexcepted twist at the end! I want to read Out Of My Mind. Its by the same author, right?
              • roxanne3
                roxanne3Thursday, February 25, 2021 at 8:23 pm55 stars
                Yup!! You should for sure read Out of My Mind :)
            • wolfie_uwu
              wolfie_uwuMonday, November 2, 2020 at 4:09 pm55 stars
              Hello! i'm Wolfie and I'm going to tell you about Blended! It's a story about a girl named isabella and her parents have different skin colors. they get devorced and she switches houses with them every week. Issabella loves piano she practices on a casio. soon in school somebody threatens her friend and the whole school talks about it. if you want to know more, read the book! And i have one more thing to say. instead of not seeing color see it. Admire people for who they are, because they are unique.
              • standup speakupTuesday, October 20, 2020 at 8:47 am
                I really enjoyed reading this book, and would absolutely reread it. Isabella, the main character, is a mixed 11 year old who is almost 12 who struggles racism, enormous, beautiful kinky hair, and her parent’s divorce problems added to the weight on her shoulders. When a terrifying act of racism strikes in Izzy’s school, Isabella starts witnessing even more racism, like in the mall and when tragedy strikes later I. The book. Izzy also faces a form of flattering racism where people comment on her skin tone, or when someone tells her, her beauty must come from her white side. The book includes some beautiful imagery, tying in how Isabella loves to play her piano. I think this book is very enlightening and shows us what the world is really like. I can relate to a lot of Isabella’s experiences being a darker girl with divorced parents and a love for music. I would rate this book a 4 and 3/4 out of 5 because I would’ve liked to see Izzy accept her white side a little bit more in one pint of the book. Overall this is a great book, and I recommend it to mature 9 year olds or 10 year olds and above.
                • bsc
                  bscSaturday, October 10, 2020 at 1:47 pm55 stars
                  I loved this book! Isabella is dealing with her parent's divorce and racism. She switches from parent every week. Her mom is white and her dad is black, so her skin tone is "blended". But she and her friends are facing racism, which sadly is still happening. But when she and her step brother are driving to her big piano recital and something terrible happens, this may be the worst thing that has happened to Isabella. It was a bit violent, so I would recommend it to ages 9+ and make sure to have a discussion with a trusted adult if you need to talk about it. Over all, 5 stars!
                  • swirlycool
                    swirlycoolTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 1:21 pm55 stars
                    This book is about a girl named Isabella who is dealing with and who has a best friend named Imani who is also dealing with racism. This book was very interesting, and it also was heartbreaking in many parts of it. Sadly, racism is an issue that people still deal with today and this book showed what the main character, Isabelle, had to go through. Isabelle's parents are also divorced and she struggles going back and forth. Her parents also have trouble agreeing with each other, and sometimes Isabelle feels like she's two people. This book is really good, and I rate it 5/5. I recommend it to people who enjoy reading books about problems that are still present in today's society.
                    • swirlycool
                      swirlycoolSaturday, May 30, 2020 at 5:10 pm55 stars
                      This book is about a girl named Isabella who is dealing with and who has a best friend named Imani who is also dealing with racism. This book was very interesting, and it also was heartbreaking in many parts of it. Sadly, racism is an issue that people still deal with today and this book showed what the main character, Isabelle, had to go through. Isabelle's parents are also divorced and she struggles going back and forth. Her parents also have trouble agreeing with each other, and sometimes Isabelle feels like she's two people. This book is really good, and I rate it 5/5. I recommend it to people who enjoy reading books about problems that are still present in today's society.