From W. Bruce Cameron, the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling novel A Dog's Purpose, which is now a major motion picture!

Bailey's Story is a heartwarming illustrated novel adapted for young readers from the beloved and New York Times bestselling A Dog's Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron.

Every dog has work to do. Every dog has a purpose.

When Bailey meets eight-year-old Ethan, he quickly figures out his purpose: to play with the boy, to explore the Farm during summers with the boy, and to tidy the boy's dishes by licking them clean (only when Mom isn't watching). But Bailey soon learns that life isn't always so simple--that sometimes bad things happen--and that there can be no greater purpose than to protect the boy he loves.

Bailey's Story is a moving tale about a dog and his boy for young animal lovers by W. Bruce Cameron, bestselling author of the acclaimed novel A Dog's Purpose. Adorable black-and-white illustrations by Richard Cowdrey bring Bailey and his world to life. A discussion and activity guide at the end of the book will help promote family and classroom discussions about Bailey's Story and the insights it provides about humankind's best friends.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on May 3, 2016 by Starscape
ISBN-10: 0765388405
ISBN-13: 9780765388407
25 Book Reviews
  • violetbutterfly
    violetbutterflyTuesday, January 12, 2021 at 7:15 am
    It looks like a cute book!
    • bluetiger
      bluetigerTuesday, January 12, 2021 at 7:14 am
      I want to read this!!!
      • skillet78
        skillet78Tuesday, September 8, 2020 at 12:25 pm
        This book is so passionate about dogs. Bailey was so cute. This book was filled with lodes of curiosity, humor, and adventuring! i would read this book a 30th time if i had to. I just straight up love this book.
        • neni
          neniFriday, September 4, 2020 at 9:57 am55 stars
          It's about a dog who grows up having so many different owners, the dog suffers having some owners, but loves others. It's so interesting! Once you start reading it, you can't stop!
          • phantasticgus
            phantasticgusMonday, August 17, 2020 at 1:45 pm44 stars
            I have one word for this book: awesome. Bailey’s Story kept me engaged until the end, and it had everything I look for in a great book. Bailey is a very happy and heartwarming character whose spunky personality is why he’s my favorite character, and I also liked the younger version of Ethan. Overall, I think this is a great book for all readers, and it will have you on the edge of your seat in anticipation.
            • belle252
              belle252Sunday, May 24, 2020 at 2:22 pm55 stars
              Bailey's Story is a nice book that is filled with plot twists and unfolds events in a unique way. Bailey gets adopted by a nice family, and gets all the love she wants. But things are not always supposed to go your way, and that is what happened in this story for Bailey's owner, Ethan. They face many adventures including getting lost in the woods, but his loyal dog Bailey shows him the answers when there are questions, and eventually becomes a "bloody hero." This is the story about how a nice companion can do anything for you, and about how unconditional love can change the way you feel. Overall, this is a nice book that I would put in the "go-to book" section.
              • queen_lai03
                queen_lai03Monday, March 2, 2020 at 8:05 am55 stars
                When Bailey meets eight-year-old Ethan he quickly figures out his purpose to play with the boy, to explore the farm during summers with the boy, and tidy the boys dishes by l licking them clean (only when mom isn't watching). But Bailey soon learns life isn't always so simple- that sometimes bad things happen-and that there can be no better purpose then to protect the boy he loves.
                • ????Tuesday, October 15, 2019 at 7:56 pm
                  I really enjoyed this book
                  • SusanThursday, September 5, 2019 at 3:17 pm
                    Hi my name I Susan and I checked out this book in the library! It was THE BEST!!!! Really recommend it👍
                    • i dunnoSaturday, March 16, 2019 at 6:46 pm
                      cute but also really sad!!!