From W. Bruce Cameron, the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling novel A Dog's Purpose, which is now a major motion picture!

Bailey's Story is a heartwarming illustrated novel adapted for young readers from the beloved and New York Times bestselling A Dog's Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron.

Every dog has work to do. Every dog has a purpose.

When Bailey meets eight-year-old Ethan, he quickly figures out his purpose: to play with the boy, to explore the Farm during summers with the boy, and to tidy the boy's dishes by licking them clean (only when Mom isn't watching). But Bailey soon learns that life isn't always so simple--that sometimes bad things happen--and that there can be no greater purpose than to protect the boy he loves.

Bailey's Story is a moving tale about a dog and his boy for young animal lovers by W. Bruce Cameron, bestselling author of the acclaimed novel A Dog's Purpose. Adorable black-and-white illustrations by Richard Cowdrey bring Bailey and his world to life. A discussion and activity guide at the end of the book will help promote family and classroom discussions about Bailey's Story and the insights it provides about humankind's best friends.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on May 3, 2016 by Starscape
ISBN-10: 0765388405
ISBN-13: 9780765388407
18 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ????Tuesday, October 15, 2019 at 7:56 pm
    I really enjoyed this book
    • SusanThursday, September 5, 2019 at 3:17 pm
      Hi my name I Susan and I checked out this book in the library! It was THE BEST!!!! Really recommend it๐Ÿ‘
      • i dunnoSaturday, March 16, 2019 at 6:46 pm
        cute but also really sad!!!
        • 145
          145Tuesday, February 19, 2019 at 8:08 am55 stars
          I really loved this book and I would recommend this book to my friends because it is very adventurous and very exciting. It also makes you want to get and have a puppy of your own.
          • hannah bWednesday, December 19, 2018 at 2:19 pm
            I would recommend this book. Overall, I would probably give it 4 stars. It can get confusing at times, but it has such a good ending. This book really makes you change your perspective on dogs. You should definitely check this book out if you get a chance.
            • take me to you Friday, November 30, 2018 at 8:01 am
              this book is so cute I love reading it!
              • piggie101
                piggie101Thursday, September 27, 2018 at 7:49 am44 stars
                This a tale of a cute little puppy oh so bad and good this is his story of his owner from his dogs perspective and its pretty short so pick this up and start reading.4 Stars
                • olygirl
                  olygirlSaturday, April 21, 2018 at 7:43 am55 stars
                  I think I will like it because I liked his other books and he is very creative and entertaining
                  • vikingmaster
                    vikingmasterThursday, January 11, 2018 at 6:08 pm55 stars
                    Sooooo cute
                    • penz
                      penzThursday, December 7, 2017 at 2:55 pm55 stars
                      Book Review: Bailey is waiting for the delivery guy to get back. he was lying right in the sun panting. then some arms come and grab him. he looks up it is a woman. she brings him home and gives him to her son. they play and have fun together for a long time. bailey fallows him where ever he go's. well as much as he can. then they go to a barn and bailey meets a horse and ducks. they have a lot of fun together then they go back home back to school. then they go again and get left at the house all alone. they have dinner and go to bed. the next morning the boy backs sandwiches and puts a saddle on the horse. they go on a hike/adventure. it starts out good. they have been travailing for a long time then the horse flips the boy of his back and runs away. find out why and what happens when you read the book.