Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8Y5.056684

Join the world of "Artemis Fowl", the number one bestseller by Eoin Colfer. Rumour has it Artemis Fowl is responsible for every major crime of the new century. Just twelve years old and already he's a criminal genius, plotting to restore his family's fortune with a spot of corruption and kidnapping. Kidnapping a fairy for ransom, to be precise. Artemis Fowl has discovered a world below ground of armed and dangerous - and extremely high-tech - fairies. But he may have underestimated their powers. They will fight back. Is the boy about to trigger a cross-species war? Let the misadventure begin. "Fast-paced, tongue in cheek ...laugh-out-loud". ("Sunday Times"). "A huge hit". ("The Guardian"). "Artemis is a brilliant creation". (Anthony Horowitz). Winner of the WHSmith Children's Book of the Year Award and Children's Book of the Year at the Children's Book Awards. It is shortlisted for the Whitbread Children's Book of the Year Award. Eoin Colfer was born and raised in Wexford in the south-east of Ireland. He began writing plays at an early age and, as an adult, continued to write. "Artemis Fowl", his first book featuring the brilliant young anti-hero, was an immediate international bestseller and won several prestigious awards.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on April 1, 2011 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 014133939X
ISBN-13: 9780141339399
96 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • glitterclaws
    glitterclawsSunday, July 14, 2019 at 7:04 pm44 stars
    artemis fowl was rich but after his father left not so much so he needs to get his hands on fairy gold: i loved this book.
    • fjfj
      fjfjMonday, June 24, 2019 at 2:15 pm55 stars
      This book in the Artemis Fowl series is amazing! Artemis kidnaps a fairy and steals their fairy book. Will Artemis get what he wants, which is gold, or will he get his memory wiped forever?
      • soso17970
        soso17970Friday, April 12, 2019 at 7:23 pm33 stars
        This book is the first in a huge series about, well, Artemis fowl. Artemis fowl is a extremely rich and extremely smart 12 year old boy. He uses both of these skills as he and his trusty butler (that’s his name and job) enbark on a quest to discover the fairy world. They meat holly, the only female officer in the fairy police force. Guess what, they decide to kidnap her, this sets off a whole battle between the fairies and Artemis. Artemis fowl is such a hard character to love, him being to overconfident. Yet, this book was so well written, I actually liked it.
        • sprinklebooks
          sprinklebooksMonday, April 8, 2019 at 3:28 pm11 star
          Okay, so I love books and I have read so many amazing ones but this one was probably on my worst book list. The thing about this book was it was super slow and boring so I do not suggest this book for people who always want super-tense action-ey stuff.
          • zuluzen41
            zuluzen41Wednesday, April 3, 2019 at 12:56 pm55 stars
            A fantastic adventure in which readers will experience the raw thrill of adventure and the purest form of hilarity! Is Artemis a hero or a villain? You decide!
            • hollyshort2
              hollyshort2Friday, January 11, 2019 at 11:16 am55 stars
              it's the best book in the history of books. just saying
              • Cool Kid😎😎😎Tuesday, December 11, 2018 at 1:57 pm
                I loved this book I am in 7th grade and first read the series in fifth in those 3 years I read the series over 3 times I love the books so much and recommend it to ages 10- any
                • codybites
                  codybitesWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 8:16 pm55 stars
                  BTW I was a a 4th grader when I started.
                  • codybites
                    codybitesWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 8:15 pm55 stars
                    I’ve read books 1-6 and they are amazing! They’re so good I’m going to read them again before reading book 7&8.
                    • mrmars06
                      mrmars06Tuesday, September 4, 2018 at 5:30 pm44 stars
                      Great book, BTW