Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8Y5.056684

Join the world of "Artemis Fowl", the number one bestseller by Eoin Colfer. Rumour has it Artemis Fowl is responsible for every major crime of the new century. Just twelve years old and already he's a criminal genius, plotting to restore his family's fortune with a spot of corruption and kidnapping. Kidnapping a fairy for ransom, to be precise. Artemis Fowl has discovered a world below ground of armed and dangerous - and extremely high-tech - fairies. But he may have underestimated their powers. They will fight back. Is the boy about to trigger a cross-species war? Let the misadventure begin. "Fast-paced, tongue in cheek ...laugh-out-loud". ("Sunday Times"). "A huge hit". ("The Guardian"). "Artemis is a brilliant creation". (Anthony Horowitz). Winner of the WHSmith Children's Book of the Year Award and Children's Book of the Year at the Children's Book Awards. It is shortlisted for the Whitbread Children's Book of the Year Award. Eoin Colfer was born and raised in Wexford in the south-east of Ireland. He began writing plays at an early age and, as an adult, continued to write. "Artemis Fowl", his first book featuring the brilliant young anti-hero, was an immediate international bestseller and won several prestigious awards.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on April 1, 2011 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 014133939X
ISBN-13: 9780141339399
102 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • blossomreader
    blossomreaderThursday, May 14, 2020 at 2:30 pm44 stars
    I really liked this book as well as the rest of the series because of the intellect of young Artemis Fowl and his intentions. Fowl is a billionaire, and a criminal mastermind. He is super smart, but most importantly, he wants to prove that fairies are real and he wants to steal their gold. The problem is, the fairies are smart too, and it might be hard for Arty to win, but that changes when his butler joins in too. His name is, , well, Butler, at least that's what we think. Will Artemis defeat the fairies and get his gold, or will Holly Short, a LEPrecon fairy, and her team destroy Artemis?
    • little_angel27
      little_angel27Monday, May 11, 2020 at 9:48 pm55 stars
      This book is better than the hunger games! I love the way Artemis almost always outsmart people and the fairies are so funny! Although I wish Artemis didn't kidnap, the book is great, I like Butler and Juliet, so how about 4.9?
      • loveroflegos
        loveroflegosMonday, March 9, 2020 at 11:29 am55 stars
        awesome there is also a comic
        • HiTuesday, December 10, 2019 at 5:33 pm
          I've read all of the Artemis Fowl books and the first Fowl Twins Book.
          • wildbill08
            wildbill08Tuesday, December 10, 2019 at 9:19 am55 stars
            i love the book and i can't wait for the movie.
            • artyboifowl1
              artyboifowl1Thursday, November 7, 2019 at 2:08 pm55 stars
              Artemis Fowl is a book for friends, family, classmates, teachers, doctors, anybody. A great read that deserves more than five stars
              • glitterclaws
                glitterclawsSunday, July 14, 2019 at 7:04 pm44 stars
                artemis fowl was rich but after his father left not so much so he needs to get his hands on fairy gold: i loved this book.
                • kotlcfitzphie13
                  kotlcfitzphie13Monday, June 24, 2019 at 2:15 pm55 stars
                  This book in the Artemis Fowl series is amazing! Artemis kidnaps a fairy and steals their fairy book. Will Artemis get what he wants, which is gold, or will he get his memory wiped forever?
                  • soso17970
                    soso17970Friday, April 12, 2019 at 7:23 pm33 stars
                    This book is the first in a huge series about, well, Artemis fowl. Artemis fowl is a extremely rich and extremely smart 12 year old boy. He uses both of these skills as he and his trusty butler (that’s his name and job) enbark on a quest to discover the fairy world. They meat holly, the only female officer in the fairy police force. Guess what, they decide to kidnap her, this sets off a whole battle between the fairies and Artemis. Artemis fowl is such a hard character to love, him being to overconfident. Yet, this book was so well written, I actually liked it.
                    • sprinklebooks
                      sprinklebooksMonday, April 8, 2019 at 3:28 pm11 star
                      Okay, so I love books and I have read so many amazing ones but this one was probably on my worst book list. The thing about this book was it was super slow and boring so I do not suggest this book for people who always want super-tense action-ey stuff.