Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8Y5.056684

Join the world of "Artemis Fowl", the number one bestseller by Eoin Colfer. Rumour has it Artemis Fowl is responsible for every major crime of the new century. Just twelve years old and already he's a criminal genius, plotting to restore his family's fortune with a spot of corruption and kidnapping. Kidnapping a fairy for ransom, to be precise. Artemis Fowl has discovered a world below ground of armed and dangerous - and extremely high-tech - fairies. But he may have underestimated their powers. They will fight back. Is the boy about to trigger a cross-species war? Let the misadventure begin. "Fast-paced, tongue in cheek ...laugh-out-loud". ("Sunday Times"). "A huge hit". ("The Guardian"). "Artemis is a brilliant creation". (Anthony Horowitz). Winner of the WHSmith Children's Book of the Year Award and Children's Book of the Year at the Children's Book Awards. It is shortlisted for the Whitbread Children's Book of the Year Award. Eoin Colfer was born and raised in Wexford in the south-east of Ireland. He began writing plays at an early age and, as an adult, continued to write. "Artemis Fowl", his first book featuring the brilliant young anti-hero, was an immediate international bestseller and won several prestigious awards.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on April 1, 2011 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 014133939X
ISBN-13: 9780141339399
119 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sami_playz
    sami_playzMonday, February 8, 2021 at 5:59 pm55 stars
    I haven't read the book, but I watched the movie. I think of it as really good, and All I know is my brother is mad because he says the movie is nothing like the book, but from what I can tell, they're pretty similar.
    • thesmessywriter
      thesmessywriterMonday, February 8, 2021 at 4:21 pm44 stars
      i watched the movie it was ok
      • lohehosi-161240778340
        lohehosi-161240778340Friday, February 5, 2021 at 7:51 am55 starsFeatured
        As a human, you might've seen many children who loves to play outside or learn. You may meet children who are geniuses, teaching others how to read or whatever. But this genius is no joke, he is a criminal mastermind who has a passion for committing crimes. Without him in the story, there will be no suspense, the story will be as boring as a spec of dirt. He abducts a middle aged fairy to purloin gold. The best part about the story is that each character is important and unexpected events. Throughout the story there are endless possibilities, I recommend it. You'll be begging for the book on your birthday, obviously. Not to mention, there are trillions of new vocabulary words you'll be reading, your vocabulary level will increase like climbing mount everest. I recommend this unexpecting and exciting book. I hope you'll go bananas after reading.
        • sami_playz
          sami_playzMonday, February 8, 2021 at 5:59 pm55 stars
          Lol. Bananas are gross. 😝
        • fortniteFriday, February 5, 2021 at 7:49 am
          the book is good and i hop the movie is good to and my chapter is 9 i like 9 because had more details.
          • sami_playz
            sami_playzMonday, February 8, 2021 at 6:00 pm55 stars
            Yea. The movie is good too.
          • wozoferi-161240778294
            wozoferi-161240778294Friday, February 5, 2021 at 7:43 am33 stars
            If you like fantasy then this is the book for you. Holly is kidnapped and will she escape This book was not the best but not the worst because how is a twelve year old capturing a grown adult. how would a twelve year old do that but this story was still very interesting because there was so much cool stuff going on in the book
            • scarvampirelily
              scarvampirelilyThursday, February 4, 2021 at 8:59 am55 stars
              i will never dare do something scary
              • pywocyly-161240778366
                pywocyly-161240778366Thursday, February 4, 2021 at 7:58 am44 stars
                I'd maybe give it a 4 star rating. If you love fantasy or fairy or villains you would like this book. If you like exciting books that don't get boring then this book is for you.A fairy was captured by Artemis. Will she escape or will Artemis get what he wants? You will have to read to find out. I liked this book because it is exciting,adventurous and it never gets boring. There is always something new. That's why I like this book.
                • fisobeje-161240778294
                  fisobeje-161240778294Thursday, February 4, 2021 at 7:56 am44 stars
                  Do you like acton or video games well Artemis is like video game but in a book.So Artemis takes a girl called Holly and holds her hostage for lots of gold. I like this book because it's full of acton and smart plays .
                  • pydywine-161240778305
                    pydywine-161240778305Thursday, February 4, 2021 at 7:48 am55 stars
                    Do you like surprise endings? Then try this book! Holly is kidnapped by Artemis Fowl. Will she get out? I loved this book. I don't read too much but this was a great book
                    • mrs_nyce
                      Maryellen NyceWednesday, February 3, 2021 at 7:10 pm33 stars
                      Do you love action movies with twisty plots? Are you into fantasy and gaming? Then "Artemis Fowl" might be the book for you. Twelve-year-old Artemis is a super genius. But is he also a super villain? You'll have to read to find out. As a teacher, I enjoyed the rich examples of figurative language Colfer sprinkled throughout this novel. Fantasy is not my genre of choice and there were a lot of plot twists and technical vocabulary words to learn, but I think my students enjoyed it.