Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a5.7110354

The explosive conclusion to Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy reveals the secrets of the dystopian world that captivated millions of readers and film fans in Divergent and Insurgent.

One choice will define you. What if your whole world was a lie? What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything? What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?

Told from a riveting dual perspective, this third installment in the series follows Tris and Tobias as they battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and their selves—while facing impossible choices of courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

And don't miss Veronica Roth’s thrilling novel Carve the Mark .

Hardcover, 526 pages
Published on October 1, 2013 by Harper Collins Promotion
ISBN-10: 0007524277
ISBN-13: 9780007524273
130 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ccplayzxd
    ccplayzxdMonday, April 15, 2019 at 11:57 am55 stars
    This is my third favorite book right next to #1 Divergent, and #2 Insurgent. This whole series is amazing and I'm on my 3rd time around on reading it. Veronica Roth did such an amazing job on developing the characters and I have read some of her other books as well! Amazing work!
    • wonderwoman113
      wonderwoman113Thursday, March 7, 2019 at 7:09 am55 stars
      Best book ever!
      • ajg16
        ajg16Tuesday, November 13, 2018 at 8:07 pm33 stars
        You know I gotta be honest with y'all. This book was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING not just this book though this entire trilogy I couldn't have asked for a better series to find. So glad the name caught my eye at the library! (This is not a very informative review sorry) but I'm just gonna say this - WHY!? JUST WHYYYYYY!? (When you read the books you'll understand) to: those who have read it, am i the only one who hated the end? I'm gonna end this here for the same of no spoilers.. Thanks for reading (this lame) - Ajg15's Reviews
        • olliebob
          olliebobWednesday, October 24, 2018 at 1:05 pm22 stars
          I gave this book such a low rating because, to be honest, it really was just okay. And that's not even taking into account the ending, which I HATED. I'm gonna have some spoilers in here, so, you've been warned. Alright, so a small group of rebels called Allegiant make it out of the city and what they find shocks them. It is not the war-torn apocalyptic place that Edith Prior made it out to be. Instead they find a compound and learn that there are more test cities besides theirs. They know they must do something, and, well, let's just say that at one point, everyone's mad at Tobias, so then they make a plan with some other people to tell their whole city the truth and take away the compounds power. Part of their plan is that someone has to go on a suicide mission to get a serum. Caleb volunteers to try to make it up to Tris after he betrayed her. But Tris forces him to let her take on the mission. And here is the part when I freaked out; Tris died. TRIS DIED!!!!! At first I was thinking, this has to be a mistake. How are they going to make her come back to life? And then they told Tobias and I was like, this is permanent?!?!?!?! I've got to give Roth some credit. Actually killing the main character is definitely original and outside the norm. Nevertheless, I hated the ending. With a passion. It's just... Tris and Tobias were such a good couple!!! Anyway, I guess I'd recommend reading the first two books and then imagining and ending rather than reading this book. It will be easier on your tear ducts.
          • ajg16
            ajg16Saturday, December 8, 2018 at 2:25 pm33 stars
            Tris and Tobias was such a good couple. Worst ending ever. :(
            • ccplayzxd
              ccplayzxdMonday, April 15, 2019 at 11:58 am55 stars
              I know I never cry really so it didn't make me cry but I was close :D
          • ccplayzofficial
            ccplayzofficialMonday, April 30, 2018 at 12:47 pm55 stars
            This is a very good book Love it so muuuuuuchhhhh
            • skyflower121
              skyflower121Sunday, December 10, 2017 at 12:34 pm55 stars
              I love this series, from the suspense Tris goes through and then *SPOILER ALERT* dies!!!! I still love this book though!
              • micaliTuesday, October 3, 2017 at 3:41 pm
                how goes to brendel elamtry?
                • micaliTuesday, October 3, 2017 at 3:40 pm
                  smile is really good
                  • duncanthedog516
                    duncanthedog516Tuesday, August 22, 2017 at 7:43 am55 stars
                    This is an amazing book to end the Divergent trilogy. This book is filled with lots of unexpected plot twists and explains everything that has happened throughout the series. As you read this book you will learn the meaning of the phrase, "Sometimes there are things bigger than ourselves."
                    • bluehorse3
                      bluehorse3Thursday, May 25, 2017 at 3:16 pm55 stars
                      **Spoiler Alert--many spoilers included** After helping to release and watching the video of Edith Prior, Tris is convinced that she must see what is outside of the fence. This is provided with some challenges because Tris is technically under arrest for committing treason by trying to release the video. Also, with Evelyn leading the whole city with strict laws and very little freedom, Tris can't leave very easily. She and Tobias create a plan to escape with Cara, co leader of the new formered group the Allegiant, Christina, Tori, Uriah, and Peter. With some help from the other leader of the Allegiant, Johanna, former representative of Amity, Tris, Tobias, Cara, Christina, Uriah, and Peter make it outside of the fence. When they are outside of the city, the group soon discovers that their lives in the city were constantly being monitored because they were a living experiment lead by the Bureau of Genetic Welfare. How does the group act? Why were Tris and Tobias an experiment? And how does David, the director of the Bureau, know Tris's mother? Read Allegiant to find out!! but first, read Divergent and Insurgent!!