Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.642491
In this mischievous and utterly original debut, Hansel and Gretel walk out of their own story and into eight other classic Grimm-inspired tales. As readers follow the siblings through a forest brimming with menacing foes, they learn the true story behind (and beyond) the bread crumbs, edible houses, and outwitted witches.

Fairy tales have never been more irreverent or subversive as Hansel and Gretel learn to take charge of their destinies and become the clever architects of their own happily ever after.

Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on October 28, 2010 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0525423346
ISBN-13: 9780525423348
98 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inmemoryofcpr
    inmemoryofcprSunday, July 28, 2019 at 3:56 pm55 stars
    This book is not suitable for ages 9 or below. The story has some horror mixed in it and the author connected so many stories together which i thought was really cool. I really liked this story and the author's writing style was greatly enjoyed. The new perspective let me think of things differently now. Hope you read this (Unless you are 9 or below) because this is such an awesome book!
    • spykitten
      spykittenSunday, May 26, 2019 at 2:17 pm44 stars
      I think this is a great book. I loved how Adam Gidwitz tied all the stories together. It is very funny, too. This is the TRUE TRUTH of Hansel and Gretel. Do not let little kids read this! It is very bloody. Oh, and one might die every once and a while. I highly recommend this book.
      • sgpchau
        sgpchauFriday, February 15, 2019 at 6:51 am55 stars
        This is a great book. I read it during the school year. I recommend it.
        • pikachooooooooo
          pikachoooooooooWednesday, February 6, 2019 at 5:21 am44 stars
          This book has a lot of weird fantasy, and little babies may hate this book, but it is fun, exciting, full of adventure! It has a lot of violent and bloody scenes so I do not dare to make people under 12 read this book. Still, this fairy tale is the best fairy tale I have ever seen, maybe everyone is going to love it, but sadly, take risk of vomiting while reading!
          • violetmoonlight
            violetmoonlightSaturday, October 6, 2018 at 1:26 pm55 stars
            I like this book because it also gives the author's point of view and combines a lot of fairy tales that we are familiar with.
            • bookstory13
              bookstory13Sunday, May 20, 2018 at 1:03 pm55 starsFeatured
              Warning: If you are a little kid DO NOT READ THIS (younger than 13) this tale is indeed dark and indeed Grimm. It is dark, yes, but awesome. (Quote from book) This is the true story of Hansel and Gretal-and a bit before them as well. None of this would have happened if not for the First Raven, Second Raven, and Third Raven. As you venture through the TRUE story of Hansel and Gretal, a narrator accompanys you, making everything more opinion-based but hilarious. Little Hansel and Gretal leave at age five from the castle to go find better parents. This is the story of everything in the past, present, and future.
              • batiduwyvawiwa
                batiduwyvawiwaFriday, February 2, 2018 at 9:47 am55 stars
                This book is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                • tiduxetedilasy
                  tiduxetedilasyFriday, February 2, 2018 at 9:47 am55 stars
                  This book is so amazing! If your the person who likes books that have creative thinking and mysterious stunts then you would like this book.
                  • aratte
                    aratteTuesday, February 14, 2017 at 7:44 am44 stars
                    It was a pretty good book.
                    • locker33453
                      locker33453Monday, February 13, 2017 at 7:13 am
                      I think it's worth noting that in the first chapter Hansel and Gretel get their heads chopped off. By way, Hansel and Gretel are the main characters. And they're completely fine after that. So, yeah, this book is pretty much a compilation of bloody and gory fairy tales. Nine and up will LOVE this book. I recommend it.