Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.54042

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Zita's life took a cosmic left turn in the blink of an eye.

When her best friend is abducted by an alien doomsday cult, Zita leaps to the rescue and finds herself a stranger on a strange planet. Humanoid chickens and neurotic robots are shocking enough as new experiences go, but Zita is even more surprised to find herself taking on the role of intergalactic hero. Before long, aliens in all shapes and sizes don't even phase her. Neither do ancient prophecies, doomed planets, or even a friendly con man who takes a mysterious interest in Zita's quest.

Zita the Spacegirl is a fun, captivating tale of friendship and redemption from Flight veteran Ben Hatke. It also has more whimsical, eye-catching, Miyazaki-esque monsters than you can shake a stick at.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on February 1, 2011 by First Second
ISBN-10: 1596436956
ISBN-13: 9781596436954
13 Book Reviews
  • mnmaurer
    mnmaurerTuesday, April 28, 2020 at 6:23 pm33 stars
    Big adventures, new wonders, and heartbreaking friendship. Loved the book.
    • pizzagirl7
      pizzagirl7Thursday, May 30, 2019 at 12:54 pm44 stars
      Zita and Joseph where walking together on a normal day then all of th sudden they found a spot where a metoriod I the meteriod there was a red button and Joseph kept telling sita not to touch it but she hit the red button and Joseph gos through a portal to a different world ! Zita is very scared for Joseph so gos through the portal too!zita finds out that it is a screed that took joseph!I'm not going to spoil the rest because you should go read it!I recommend to 8 to 13 year olds I rate this book 4/5 stars!I hope the next one is at my library!!!!😍😘
      • reader_red
        reader_redSaturday, May 18, 2019 at 2:17 pm55 stars
        After a meteorite crashed, Zita is accidently sent to space. In this strange world, Zita has to save her friend and try to find a way home.
        • reader_red
          reader_redTuesday, May 29, 2018 at 8:53 am55 stars
          When Zita's friend is pulled through a strange portal, Zita has no choice but to go to space and save him. She makes friends with a large creature(Strong-Strong), a cunning man(Piper), a robot (one), and a golden robot. So I really liked this book, even though it was a graphic novel. It had a cool plot line and Zita was really cool. Definitely a book for all ages.
          • cutecat6
            cutecat6Tuesday, November 14, 2017 at 4:26 pm55 stars
            "Zita the Spacegirl" is fun to read! Ben Hatke, you make the best Graphic Novels ever(You too Raina Telegmeier, Cece Bell, Gale Galligan, Jeff Kinney, and Dav Pilkey)! This is the first Novel of "Zita the Spacegirl". In the book the mouse(rat🐭ick!) looks SSSSSOOOOOO cute!πŸ˜† Zita goes into Space and into a another planet we don't even know(probably a Gas Giant planet).
            • jasmin99
              jasmin99Thursday, October 6, 2016 at 12:22 pm55 stars
              This book is about a girl who travels through space to find her friend. It is such a good book you should read the series :P
              • kiki22
                kiki22Thursday, April 16, 2015 at 1:51 pm44 stars
                Zita the space girl is such a good book, it is funny, action packed and adventurous. i have read it 3 times because it is so good. When I started reading it I couldn't put it down.πŸ˜ƒ
                • bunnykitty8
                  bunnykitty8Monday, December 15, 2014 at 2:42 pm
                  this book should be played on Broadway!!!!!
                  • eveningstar
                    eveningstarSunday, November 30, 2014 at 4:43 pm
                    This book is AWESOME!!!!!!!
                    • maddyp18
                      maddyp18Saturday, June 21, 2014 at 7:12 am44 stars
                      I liked this book so so so much!!!!!!!! It is about a girl named Zita who gets transferred to space and then tries to get back home to earth. I think the message is ''Always keep trying'', because in the book Zita never gives up!!!!!
                      • narutoplaysmc
                        narutoplaysmcMonday, October 13, 2014 at 7:48 pm
                        This explanation is write, awesome graphic novel, who agrees???