You Have to Stop This (The Secret Series)

Book 5 of 5 in the The Secret Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U5.454464
The finale to the New York Times bestselling Secret Series!

I always feared this day would come. A secret is meant to stay secret, after all. And now we've come to this: the fifth and final (I swear!) book in my saga of secrets.

A class trip to the local natural history museum turns dangerous, or perhaps deadly--and I don't mean in the bored-to-death way--when Cass accidentally breaks a finger off a priceless mummy. Forced to atone for this "crime" of vandalism, Cass and her friends Max-Ernest and Yo-Yoji go to work for the mummy exhibit's curator, only to be blamed when tragedy strikes. To clear their names--and, they hope, to discover the Secret--the trio must travel deep into a land of majestic pyramids, dusty tombs, mysterious hieroglyphs, and the walking dead. Egypt? Or somewhere much stranger . . .

In the midst of it all, the Secret still lurks. You're out there, reading and talking about it, and now my life--and chocolate supply--is in the greatest danger yet. So please, with a cherry on top, I'm begging you: you have to stop this!
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on September 20, 2011 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316076260
ISBN-13: 9780316076265
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Srijan DasTuesday, November 5, 2019 at 9:40 am
    This book is awesome with excellent sense of humour.
    • wolfchildren
      wolfchildrenThursday, June 27, 2019 at 4:28 pm55 stars
      7 year old: This book series is awesome, but I like the Bad Books a little better. 9 year old: I really liked this series (pseudonymous Bosch loves chocolate!) Mom: We all loved this series, it's got some creepiness factors to it, and I think we all like the Bad Books just a bit better, but this series plays with eternal life and the creepy things the bad guys had to do to get eternal life. Our good guys kept thwarting their plans mwahaha.
      • rufaida8
        rufaida8Tuesday, November 21, 2017 at 6:37 pm55 stars
        this book is one of the best books i have ever read in my entire life. i totally recommend this book. its one of my top loved books!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        • ninacreekside
          ninacreeksideWednesday, July 9, 2014 at 2:21 pm55 stars
          Will this be the end of Cass, hopefully not because then who would be The Secret Keeper. Surely not Max-Ernest or Yo-Yoji. Only Cass can discover the Secret. Those are only hints I am giving you. Oh, you might want to know that the whole reason that Max-Ernest, Yo-Yoji and Cass are in Vegas is because of the ruthless Lord Pharaoh. Lord Pharaoh stole the mummy from the museum not Cass and her friends. But who gets blamed, why Cass of course. The mummy is the only way to know The Secret. So read this book to find out what happens.
          • headream100
            headream100Friday, June 20, 2014 at 3:50 am55 stars
            It was just so awesome and i really think pseudonymous bosch should keep on writing the secret series.
            • headream100
              headream100Friday, June 20, 2014 at 3:50 am55 stars
              I rate five stars :)
            • devorino_swimha
              devorino_swimhaFriday, April 25, 2014 at 1:35 pm
              I author keeps on stalling when he is about to say the secret. that's why I luv it! luv the suspension!
              • pineapplewaffle
                pineapplewaffleTuesday, April 1, 2014 at 1:23 pm55 stars
                Do NOT read this book. It is BO-RING. And it will destroy your chocolate. -P.B. Joking, it's a GREAT BOOK!! The author takes 'breaks' and emergency drills in some other book I cannot mention. The Secret? AWESOME!
                • dolphin2313Friday, January 31, 2014 at 5:49 pm
                  "the secret sense is but a nonsense" I am not going to tell you the secret, no matter how hard! but here's a clue;) ;)
                  • margotcreekside
                    margotcreeksideSaturday, January 25, 2014 at 9:21 am55 stars
                    This book is the last book of the secret series (as you obviously know). In this book Yo-yoji, Max-Earnest, and Cass come to Las Vegas in an animal mummy crate. I won't spoil anything else, so you need to read the book if you are curious to see what happens!
                    • inkpage78
                      inkpage78Saturday, November 9, 2013 at 7:55 am55 starsFeatured
                      Wow. An amazing ending to an amazing series! You Have to Stop This is mysterious, funny and makes you anticipate the ending more and more throughout the book. I can't wait to read-or write- Write This Book!