Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7n/an/an/an/a

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly’s You Go First is an engaging exploration of family, bullying, spelling, art, and the ever-complicated world of middle school friendships. Her perfectly pitched tween voice will resonate with fans of Kate DiCamillo’s Raymie Nightingale.

Twelve-year-old Charlotte Lockard and eleven-year-old Ben Boxer are separated by more than a thousand miles. On the surface, their lives seem vastly different—Charlotte lives near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, while Ben is in the small town of Lanester, Louisiana. Charlotte wants to be a geologist and keeps a rock collection in her room. Ben is obsessed with Harry Potter, presidential history, and recycling. But the two have more in common than they think. They’re both highly gifted. They’re both experiencing family turmoil. And they both sit alone at lunch.

Over the course of a week, Charlotte and Ben—online friends connected only by a Scrabble game—will intersect in unexpected ways, as they struggle to navigate the turmoil of middle school. This engaging story about growing up and finding your place in the world by the winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature will appeal to fans of Rebecca Stead and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on April 10, 2018 by Greenwillow Books
ISBN-10: 0062414186
ISBN-13: 9780062414182
22 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ajg15
    ajg15Sunday, August 26, 2018 at 4:05 pm44 stars
    Ben Boxer is a eleven-years-old and loved in Lanester, Louisiana, he is obsessed with Harry Potter (who isn't?), Recycling, and presidential history. Charlotte Lockard is twelve years old and lives in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, she loves her rock collection and wants to be a geologist. What do these to kids have in common? They are both TAG kids, and They are both trying to survive middle school and the challenges of family. They only know each other by an online-scrabble game - and they both need a friend through these challenges. Amazing book, very well written. You can really connect with the characters. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
    • dolphin8
      dolphin8Friday, August 24, 2018 at 6:51 pm33 stars
      yeah this book is very good it is about a boy named Ben and a girl named Charlotte and they play games on there phone they also are in middle school.
      • pizzagirl7
        pizzagirl7Friday, August 17, 2018 at 10:24 am33 stars
        You go first/////I recommend this book to, 9 to 12 I really liked this book but the part with Ben was way better I rate this book 3, stars this book is about Ben and Charlotte ok so Ben and Charlotte love scrabble and they play together but Ben's parents get a divorce and he doesn't like that at all and Charlotte's dad is in the hospital what happens to her dad???you gotta read the book to find out!thank you so so so much for reading 📚 - pizzagirl7 😢 😝 💛 😂 💜 💙
        • dolphin8
          dolphin8Tuesday, August 14, 2018 at 4:49 pm33 stars
          yeah this book is very good it is about a boy named Ben and a girl named Charlotte and they play games on there phone they also are in middle school.
          • jwarne
            jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:36 am33 stars
            I'm not in middle school yet, but I understand bullying already. I get picked on a lot. This book really made me feel better, because the bullying doesn't work. The bully doesn't win, and that made me feel really good.
            • armcginn
              armcginnFriday, August 3, 2018 at 9:04 am55 stars
              These two unlikely friends have never met face to face, but are only connected by a on-going game of online scrabble. read to find out what happened
              • belle252
                belle252Thursday, August 2, 2018 at 2:26 pm44 stars
                So far this book is so amazing it touches upon so many concepts like what great friendships can do, at first I thought it was a love story but when I read it it was so unexpected I can not wait to finish this book and add on to this review.
                • casgirl
                  casgirlMonday, July 23, 2018 at 9:05 am55 stars
                  I loved this book, it's one that makes you think. Charlotte and Ben meat on an on-line game of scrabble. Both of them have some of the same troubles, even tho they are hundreds of miles a part. but in the end it all ends well.
                  • jso6
                    jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 9:14 am44 stars
                    Charlotte and Ben met on an online scrabble game. They both needed a friend. Charlotte's dad had a heart attack, and Ben's parent's decided to get a divorce. I liked this book, because it shows how important friendship is.
                    • auntieb
                      auntiebTuesday, July 10, 2018 at 7:28 am55 stars
                      You Go First is a book about a girl named Charlotte whose father has recently had a heart attack and a boy named Ben whose parents have recently announced they are getting a divorce.So Ben decides to run for treasurer at his school! Their connection? An online game of Scrabble. Join this journey of friendship, hardship, and, Scrabble.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Elizabeth67 wrote:

                      We love this show and the episod...
                      The Loud House #5: “The Man with...

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      I can't really write a proper re...
                      The Unwanteds

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      This book is great!! Defiantly r...
                      Echoes of Us (Hybrid Chronicles)

                      starsky89
                      starsky89 wrote:

                      This book is great!! Defiantly r...
                      Once We Were

                      Our Apps and Plugins