Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.532659
Samuel, 13, spends his days in the forest, hunting for food for his family. He has grown up on the frontier of a British colony, America. Far from any town, or news of the war against the King that American patriots have begun near Boston.

But the war comes to them. British soldiers and Iroquois attack. Samuel’s parents are taken away, prisoners. Samuel follows, hiding, moving silently, determined to find a way to rescue them. Each day he confronts the enemy, and the tragedy and horror of this war. But he also discovers allies, men and women working secretly for the patriot cause. And he learns that he must go deep into enemy territory to find his parents: all the way to the British headquarters, New York City.
Paperback, 176 pages
Published on January 11, 2011 by Wendy Lamb Books
ISBN-10: 037585908X
ISBN-13: 9780375859083
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jilly_bean
    jilly_beanFriday, March 15, 2019 at 4:35 am33 stars
    This book was pretty good. It had a lot of life defying actions and corners that needed turned and I thought the author was good about that stuff but the way the way the ending was wrote sends chills down my spine.
    • awsepicavi
      awsepicaviFriday, February 3, 2017 at 7:59 am55 stars
      this is really cool. I loved this book. This was about a boy who got caught in the woods and was running away from danger. You should really read this book. That is all I have to say about this awesome book. This was awsepicavi giving you feed back for this book! enjoy it!
      • duckhunter
        duckhunterWednesday, June 3, 2015 at 9:11 am
        it was an awesome book i like the hunting and violence
        • luiscc
          luisccWednesday, May 20, 2015 at 6:53 am55 stars
          This Author did it again, this is an incredible real story, again surviving skills in the woods, this is one of my favourite authors
          • b21
            b21Thursday, April 16, 2015 at 11:38 amFeatured
            I thought this book was truly incredible. Samuel was just a kid living the Revolutionary War time period when his parents got kidnapped by the British. Samuel went on a journey to save his parents. He met new friends like Abner, who helped a lot, and Annie, a sweet young girl who is now his sister. He has to do incredibly dangerous things to save his parents. It will leave you puzzled, have you on the edge of your seat, and touch your heart. You must read it.
            • morganmonkey
              morganmonkeyTuesday, December 16, 2014 at 5:23 pm
              I loved this book for so many reasons. It is full of adventure and information about the Revolutionary War. The story is about an intrepid 13 year-old that had to go on a great adventure that leads into the middle of the Revolutionary War. If I had the choice I would walk right by this book on the shelf and not even see it. However, after reading it, I would recommend this book to anyone!
              • tkw2000
                tkw2000Sunday, November 23, 2014 at 11:06 am44 stars
                I thought that this book was very excellent. Not only was it a great story, but it also provides actual information about the American war for independence. I love Gary Paulsen's books and I hope that he continues to write books like this!
                • lindsayr
                  lindsayrSaturday, November 22, 2014 at 7:37 am44 stars
                  At the beginning of The Woods Runner, it was kind of boring. But when I got further in the book, I could not put it down. The Woods Runner is a historical-fiction book that takes place during the Revolutionary War, so normally I would not pick it out to read, but I am so glad that I read it. This is a great way to see the 13 year-old point of view of The American Revolution through the narrator Samuel.
                  • karimkiller
                    karimkillerMonday, December 17, 2012 at 4:59 pm
                    nice and cool book
                    • bobcat4
                      Mr. LeBlondSunday, August 19, 2012 at 10:29 pm55 starsFeatured
                      Another historical fictional work that blew me away. Great adventure story of boy who saved his family during the American Revolution. In between each chapter there are some rarly heard of historical facts regarding the Revolution. Good Stuff.

                      Our Apps and Plugins