Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.873053
A special movie tie-in edition of R.J. Palacio's #1 New York Times bestseller, now a major motion picture starring Julia Roberts, Owen Wilson, Jacob Tremblay, Daveed Diggs, and Mandy Patinkin.

Over 6 million people have fallen in love with Wonder and Auggie Pullman, the ordinary boy with the extraordinary face, who inspired a movement to Choose Kind. This special movie tie-in edition features an eight-page full-color insert with photos from the film, a foreword by the director Stephen Chbosky, an afterword by R.J. Palacio, a behind-the-scenes look at the making of the movie with anecdotes from the cast and crew, and a family discussion guide.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid--but his new classmates can't get past Auggie's extraordinary face. Wonder, a #1 New York Times bestseller, begins from Auggie's point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community's struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel "a meditation on kindness" --indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, who proves that you can't blend in when you were born to stand out.

Join the conversation: #thewonderofwonder, #choosekind

#1 New York Times bestseller
USA Today bestseller
Time Magazine's 100 Best Young Adult Books of All Time
New York Times Book Review Notable Book
Washington Post Best Kids' Book

"In a wonder of a debut, Palacio has written a crackling page-turner filled with characters you can't help but root for." --Entertainment Weekly

"Rich and memorable." --The New York Times

"A beautiful, funny and sometimes sob-making story of quiet transformation." --Wall Street Journal
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on September 26, 2017 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1524720194
ISBN-13: 9781524720193
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • i_lovebabysharkFriday, November 9, 2018 at 5:23 am
    i think this was a very good book an dif you liked it watch the movie
    • girraffe101
      girraffe101Wednesday, November 7, 2018 at 7:42 am55 starsFeatured
      I love this book it is a true story. It has a great tittle. It is about this little boy named August but they call him auggie. He has had about 20 surgeries. Ever since he was born. over 2 million people love reading about Auggie and about the book Wonder. The even love reading about via and her not so great friend. It is Auggie's point of view. I love reading R.J. Palacio. He is supposed to be starting 5th grade pretty soon but he doesn't want to go because he is afraid that he is going to be laughed at and made fun of . He wears a astronaut helmet because he wants to hide his face. He meats A boy named Jack they became friends
      • A KIDWednesday, September 26, 2018 at 10:45 am
        I have not finished the book yet but so far it is AMAZING
        • littlewood
          littlewoodSunday, July 22, 2018 at 5:17 pm55 stars
          great book. Really interesting all the way through
          • popcorn35
            popcorn35Tuesday, May 29, 2018 at 12:21 pm
            I like this book because it teaches me that we all are the same. This book is by R,J.Palacio a part i like was when aggie makes new friends.
            • samantha1234567
              samantha1234567Saturday, December 16, 2017 at 11:18 am55 stars
              I read it once and I loved it it was great how it transferred from different characters for every chapter.
              • unicorn_grl
                unicorn_grlWednesday, December 13, 2017 at 3:08 pm55 stars
                This book follows a boy who has never been to actual school before and he has lets just say a weird face many people are afraid of and he is facing a hard time at school. This is my favorite book ever and just a heads up there is a sequal to this book your gonna love it......
                • jace_imagic74y
                  jace_imagic74yThursday, December 7, 2017 at 4:33 pm55 stars
                  The movie was really good though i have not read all of the book we are close to finishing the book but not at the end.any way the movie was so good that I saw it three times yes three times!!!!!!!!!Its not on netflix or anything to!!!thats all i can say right now
                  • catslovewaffles
                    catslovewafflesFriday, December 1, 2017 at 7:40 am55 stars
                    The movie es amazing! Great quality and story

                    Recent Kids Book Reviews

                    booklover2017

                    OMG this sounds gooood
                    Storybound

                    booklover2017

                    Why is that? It's fun to read ab...
                    Storybound

                    booklover2017

                    I'm going into 7th grade, middle...
                    How I Survived Middle School #1:...

                    booklover2017

                    Sounds pretty good Pleeeaaase f...
                    Magisterium: The Golden Tower (T...

                    Our Apps and Plugins