Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .

Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow friend Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this "wishtree" watches over the neighborhood.

You might say Red has seen it all. Until a new family moves in. Not everyone is welcoming, and Red's experiences as a wishtree are more important than ever.

Funny, deep, warm, and nuanced, Wishtree is Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Katherine Applegate at her very best―writing from the heart, and from a completely unexpected point of view.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on September 26, 2017 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 1250043220
ISBN-13: 9781250043221
51 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • HiWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 6:19 am
    I really liked it
    • cookieplayer
      cookieplayerTuesday, November 13, 2018 at 5:45 pm44 stars
      This a very sincere and very sweet!
      • Amazing!Monday, November 12, 2018 at 8:15 am
        Very meaningful book.
        • dolphin8
          dolphin8Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 7:01 pm44 stars
          i am almoste done with this book, but i want to review it for summer. this made my mom cry the tree is the main person in the story and its about it. it gets to heer wishes for lots of things if you like wishes and trees and animals it good is
          • jwarne
            jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:38 pm55 stars
            This book made my mom cry. We read it together and it was really really beautiful. I thought about maybe making a wish tree in our yard, too.
            • strawberry1234
              strawberry1234Friday, July 27, 2018 at 3:06 pm44 stars
              So far this has been a great book. I like the detail and how the story is very flowing . I hope more new things come and I get to enjoy this book as much I hope I will
              • happy_cat
                happy_catWednesday, July 25, 2018 at 7:46 pm55 starsFeatured
                This isn’t a good book, not even a great book. It’s an utterly amazing novel! <3 I don’t reallt like the author Katherine Applegate, but the style and perspective she wrote this book in - from the point of view of a TREE - was amazing. You will actually think she has experienced life as a tree. Enough complimenting. This book is about Red, a “wishtree”, meaning people write their wishes on a paper and tie it around Red. Red has animal friends, and has a peaceful life - u til the new family move in! A MUST READ!
                • llpanda
                  llpandaTuesday, July 24, 2018 at 2:16 pm33 stars
                  Trees can talk. Yes I know it sounds crazy but I should know. I just read a book written by a tree named Red. Red has an amazing story about the power of wishes. I also enjoyed the antics of Bongo the Crow, and the baby animals. This book is more for kids grade four and under.
                  • dreambig100
                    dreambig100Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 3:32 pm44 stars
                    Wishtree is a wonderful tale that is about friendship, hope, family, and most importantly wishes. Red is a 216 year old oak tree, or more commonly known as a wishtree. A wishtree is a tree that is known for granting wishes to help the people around it. Red has a secret because she can talk. Every animal and plant can talk. One day a 10 year old girl named Samar asks Red for a friend. Samar is not like everyone else in that town she is special and different. Samar comes to the tree every night to talk with the tree. Red finds a wanting to grant her wish because she sees something in Samar that is not in others. With the help of Red's best friend Bongo they might be able to help Samar find a friend. I really enjoyed how the author put this book in the perspective of a 216 year old oak tree. This book was so well written that you might even believe that trees can talk.
                    • readingkendal
                      readingkendalSunday, July 8, 2018 at 12:15 pm55 stars
                      Red is the neighborhood wishtree. Every May 1st people adorn Red with pieces of paper tied with a string, pieces of fabric, anything with a wish written on it. When a new family moves into the neighborhood people ignore them. Then when the Red is threatened with the word LEAVE written on his bark. The animals that live inside of him get nervous and is going to be cut down it's up to new friends Stephen and Samar to save Red. Will they succeed? Or will Red be doomed?

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Mariah Inzunza wrote:

                      12 years a slave a memoir by Sol...
                      12 Years A Slave, Non fiction, T...

                      percyj
                      percyj wrote:

                      Looks so awesome! I'm asking my ...
                      The Meltdown (Diary of a Wimpy K...

                      galaxyme wrote:

                      One of my favorite books. I coul...
                      The Other Side of Dark

                      galaxyme wrote:

                      I think '' Drama" is a really en...
                      Drama

                      Our Apps and Plugins