Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .

Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow friend Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this "wishtree" watches over the neighborhood.

You might say Red has seen it all. Until a new family moves in. Not everyone is welcoming, and Red's experiences as a wishtree are more important than ever.

Funny, deep, warm, and nuanced, Wishtree is Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Katherine Applegate at her very best―writing from the heart, and from a completely unexpected point of view.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on September 26, 2017 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 1250043220
ISBN-13: 9781250043221
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • extrememsb
    extrememsbFriday, June 22, 2018 at 3:03 pm22 stars
    Ever think if trees can talk? Meet Red( a red oak tree that is 150 years old.) As you see Red is an oak tree. But not an ordinary oak tree. A wishing tree that can talk. He is home to many different animals. One of his best friends is a crow named Bongo. One day a new family moves in. There community is suppose to welcome everybody but, they do not welcome this particular family. They are Muslim. There is a girl that comes to the tree and wishes to have a friend. Red makes a new mission. The mission is to help the girl make a friend. They make lots of plans and it fail. Then they finally become friends. After that, the community threatens to cut down red. I felt that this book wasn't the best. Even though it wasn't good, you should still read this book. This book has an important lesson, be friendly with your environment. I rate this book 2.5 stars.
    • rainshine116
      rainshine116Sunday, June 17, 2018 at 5:05 pm55 stars
      Red is a red oak tree that is very popular in the town. Every year on wishing day everyone in the town will gather round this big old oak tree and tie scraps of cloth to the tree while making wishes. When a new family moves in things start to become less welcoming. To add more problems for Red somebody wants to cut down Red. To find out what happens read this great book told from the point of view of a tree. This is a great book so I recommend you read it.
      • eybook2018
        eybook2018Friday, June 15, 2018 at 4:23 pm
        Wishtree is a book I really want to be apart of its really cool. I wish I had a wish tree to wish on I would have everything I want to have.
        • catface7312
          catface7312Thursday, June 14, 2018 at 8:51 pm22 stars
          This book is really unique because it is narrated by an oak tree named red. Red watches over a community of diversity. Red has lived for 216 years. Another name for Red is "the wishtree" because once a year people come to Red and tie their wishes to the branches. One day, an odd boy carved the word leaves into Red, which was offensive to a Muslim family.This book is good for elementary school students, but middle schoolers may enjoy this book too.
          • crazycat
            crazycatThursday, June 14, 2018 at 4:50 pm55 stars
            I really like this book. I think it would be a good family book, because it is a really good book. I really liked Bongo and Red, the main character. I think it has a really good ending. It is about a tree who people put wishes on. One person carves a word onto Red, the wishtree. It is a clean book.
            • cgwong908
              cgwong908Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 2:05 pm44 starsFeatured
              The Wishing Tree is a red oak (named Red) where people write down a wish and tie it to Red. Red sees tons of things throughout his two hundred and sixteen rings (years) of life. A girl named Samar lives in the house in front of Red. Every night, she gets out of bed to lean on Red. All the animals that live in Red love her, including Red’s friend crow, Bongo. One day, she comes outside with a wish on a piece of fabric. While she ties it on to Red, she says “I wish I had a friend.” Samar’s neighbor is a student at her school named Stephen. In the beginning, they dislike each other. But, when Red tries to grant Samar’s wish, they become friends. One night, Red put plan #3 into action. He instructed Bongo to untie Samar’s wish and leave it on Stephen’s windowsill. Once he looks outside, he sees the wish, opens the window and reads it. He walked to the wishing tree and started a conversation. However, during the conversation, Red tells them a story, even though he broke the #1 rule, the no talking to people rule. Red is planted on a lawn. The owner of that lawn doesn’t like it there. So she tries to cut it down. But in the end, the animals saved Red from being cut down and that convinced the owner to keep Red alive. My favorite part is when the animals saved Red by perching on the branches to save Red. She didn’t want to hurt the animals, so she decided not to cut Red down. My favorite character is Red. He is a good friend of Samar’s and is so nice to her that he breaks the rules for her to have a friend. Even though he is sad, he overcomes many obstacles (such as someone carving the word “leave “ into his trunk) but in the end, everyone is happy. I recommend this book to people who love nature.
              • annette
                annetteSaturday, June 9, 2018 at 12:39 pm
                This book is thoughtful and sweet and told in a unique perspective. The narrator of the story is a tree that is extremely old and witnesses the arrival of a Muslim family into the neighborhood. Not everyone is happy with the arrival, and a boy even carves "leave" into a tree in their yard. The story focuses on the young girl, Samar, in this family trying to find a friend.
                • bookgator
                  bookgatorThursday, June 7, 2018 at 8:57 am55 stars
                  I like the book Wishtree. I thoughtb it was cool that they tied their wishes to the tree. I liked that they tried to help the family.
                  • mckelli5179c
                    mckelli5179cWednesday, June 6, 2018 at 11:01 am55 stars
                    I like this book very much.
                    • casgirl
                      casgirlSaturday, June 2, 2018 at 4:05 pm55 stars
                      This is a wonderful book. It starts out with a tree named Red, who also narrates the book . Now Red is a wish tree. And every May he gets covered in the wishes of the people in the town. But when a new family moves in next door there is trouble. All Red whats to do is grant the with of the girl next door's wish, a friend.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      extrememsb
                      extrememsb wrote:

                      Ever think if trees can talk? Me...
                      Wishtree

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I really enjoyed reading this bo...
                      Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane G...

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      I always enjoy reading these boo...
                      Bad Kitty

                      awesome_kt
                      awesome_kt wrote:

                      This was a fun book to read. It ...
                      Two's A Crowd (Pug Pals #1)