Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .

Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"โ€•people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow friend Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this "wishtree" watches over the neighborhood.

You might say Red has seen it all. Until a new family moves in. Not everyone is welcoming, and Red's experiences as a wishtree are more important than ever.

Funny, deep, warm, and nuanced, Wishtree is Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Katherine Applegate at her very bestโ€•writing from the heart, and from a completely unexpected point of view.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on September 26, 2017 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 1250043220
ISBN-13: 9781250043221
69 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hmsoccer
    hmsoccerSaturday, September 19, 2020 at 6:02 am
    this is a very good book
    • bookworms4ever
      bookworms4everThursday, September 10, 2020 at 6:33 am55 stars
      This is such a good book. Recommend it in audio form!
      • kmchaney
        kmchaneyWednesday, July 1, 2020 at 8:16 am44 stars
        Give this book a chance. I put this down a few times but in the end it was a great read. I am considering using this as the first Read Aloud this fall. I love how Applegate uses personification to teach a beautiful message.
        • unititricornian
          unititricornianTuesday, June 30, 2020 at 12:53 pm55 stars
          this book is really outspoken. I like that the tree, Red, is the main character instead of a dog or frog or human or whatever. In my book, the font is real big, so it's easy to read this is one of the best books ever.
          • sg123
            sg123Monday, June 1, 2020 at 9:47 am55 stars
            I really like this book because it has a message that friendship can do anything! Red the wishtree puts other people ahead of himself and is a great friend! I recommend this to all!
            • Mridul Monday, April 27, 2020 at 9:34 am
              It is amazing book all should read this book and tell to read this book. ๐Ÿ˜€other would say to author of this book that you should make more books all should clap to the author ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€ and please stay at home by the Corona Corona viral ๐Ÿ˜ท๐Ÿ˜ท๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜„
              • mountaingoat
                mountaingoatFriday, April 17, 2020 at 6:48 pm55 starsFeatured
                There are many ways to write a book. Some write it from the perspective of an old person, and some write it from the eye of a child. Whether from the view of the old, young, girls, boys, babies, or the dead, most books are written from the perspective of people, or sometimes animals, since we are humans ourselves and understand humans and animals best. Catherine Applegate's depiction of the mind of a tree has rarely been seen before. As normal beings stroll across lawns, past tens and hundreds of trees, we all take it for granted. They are just there, born to become chairs or assistants of mother Earth, but hardly appreciated at all. There are many conservation programs that tries to save the trees that are being cut down, but they are all looked upon as objects. In Wishtree, Applegate brings life to trees, gifting the readers with an memoir of a tree as an actual independent being full of hope and life. It allows readers to gaze upon trees and see them in a whole new light, marveling at their abilities and sometimes whispering softly to them. Red, the tree, brings a new perspective into life, appreciating things that are wholesome, and making unfulfilled things whole. Applegate's simple language brings out the beauty of words, with complexity beneath seemingly easy sentences. Her words bring a stirring to the heart livening every word. It brings together the most complex of human nature, and shows the perception of it all in a simple way. The leaves rustling in the wind, the birds chirping in the bushes, we are all alive, but sometimes it is forgotten that the trees breath with us and the birds sing along our tunes. The world has been reborn in this book, and now after reading the book, everything has come alive again.
                • herminefanhd
                  herminefanhdThursday, February 6, 2020 at 9:52 pm55 stars
                  This book is so inspiring, it literally brought tears to my eyes. It is so sweet to and has really funny humor mixed in. It's and must read!
                  • kiwibird
                    kiwibirdTuesday, January 28, 2020 at 7:43 pm44 stars
                    I decided to read this book because my teacher recommended it to me as soon as I started it I knew I was going to like it. This is on of my go to books if I don't know what to read.
                    • nigokyzu-156909619474
                      nigokyzu-156909619474Tuesday, October 15, 2019 at 4:38 pm55 stars
                      wish tree by Katherine Applegate is one of the best books i've read this year. i love how all the characters are loving, and kind to the wish tree, and the ending is one of favorite parts of the story, and how protective bongo is to red. my favorite characters are red, samar, and bongo. the sad part is when they start to want to cut red down. but just remeber its just a fairy tale anything can happen. because i didnt expect what happend in the story would happen. i love this book because how nice, sweet, and lovely this book is. i love how samar starts to like it there, and make friends, and how all the animals stand up for the wish tree. i recomend everyone to read this book because of all the kind, sweet and loyal characters. and thanks to the writer i have read another great and nice book this year.