The Dragonet Prophecy (Wings of Fire, Book 1)

Book 1 of 13 in the Wings of Fire Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a5.069911
A thrilling new series soars above the competition and redefines middle-grade fantasy fiction for a new generation!

The seven dragon tribes have been at war for generations, locked in an endless battle over an ancient, lost treasure. A secret movement called the Talons of Peace is determined to bring an end to the fighting, with the help of a prophecy -- a foretelling that calls for great sacrifice.

Five dragonets are collected to fulfill the prophecy, raised in a hidden cave and enlisted, against their will, to end the terrible war.

But not every dragonet wants a destiny. And when the select five escape their underground captors to look for their original homes, what has been unleashed on the dragon world may be far more than the revolutionary planners intended . . .

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on July 1, 2012 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545349184
ISBN-13: 9780545349185
443 Book Reviews
  • eviejobs764
    eviejobs764Wednesday, March 24, 2021 at 2:11 pm33 stars
    This book, in my opinion, is not my favorite. I am in grade 5 and I read most of the wings of fire books and I think they are a little to violent. They are really detailed in violent scenes and mentions blood and things that may scare kids. This is just my opinion and other kids may take these books better than I can so I am not going to say they are bad books. Just not my type.
    • toothless44
      toothless44Wednesday, March 17, 2021 at 2:16 pm55 stars
      This is such a great book. I didn't read Wing so of Fire until my friend told me about it. I fell in love with the book. One of the best books ever!
      • nya451564
        nya451564Tuesday, March 9, 2021 at 11:49 am55 stars
        I loved it! It is a great book!
        • Clay Tsunami Monday, March 8, 2021 at 8:24 pm
          If you want to venture you should read this book it is amazing and super cool you are most likely really there is so many interesting things about it
          • cream
            creamWednesday, March 3, 2021 at 8:52 am55 stars
            This is an exciting book with lots of fun packed into it! I totally recommend it! I have read alll of the wings of fire books and this is one of my faves!
            • majesticswan
              majesticswanMonday, March 1, 2021 at 5:35 pm44 stars
              This book is exciting, thrilling, and detailed. An excellent start to the Wings of Fire series and an amazing book. I highly recommend you to read this action-packed and exciting book.
              • booksboi256
                booksboi256Wednesday, February 10, 2021 at 8:03 am
                love the books! I first started with the graphic novels. A little while after I got interested in the big books! Now I'm hooked on this book and I've already read 5! Over all , it's a GREAT book
                • buffygirl
                  buffygirlMonday, February 8, 2021 at 4:43 pm55 stars
                  I AM OBSESSED MY ROOM IS TOTALLY COVERED WITH MERCH AND WALL DECOR I HIGHLY RECOMMEND. I AM QUEEN CORAL!!!! THE DRAGONET TSUNAMI AND CLAY. BLISTER AND BLAZE. WE'RE NOT CALLING IT MAGICAL DEATH SPIT!!!!!!
                  • buffygirl
                    buffygirlMonday, February 8, 2021 at 4:45 pm55 stars
                    Sorry if I seem desperate I really love the series....
                  • zirkie
                    zirkieThursday, February 4, 2021 at 3:39 pm55 stars
                    I like this book because it has drama, and i'm learning new words. I am also learning about real life lessons.
                    • adrhale
                      adrhaleFriday, January 29, 2021 at 10:15 am55 stars
                      Have you ever wondered what it would be like to have been taken from your parents before you were born? Well in the book Wings Of Fire by Tui T Sutherland , 5 dragons, in the books world were taken from their parents still in their eggs. The dragon's names are Sunny, Starflight, Glory, Clay, and Tsunami. All of the dragons are different species. :(Clay (MudWing), Tsunami (SeaWing), Glory (RainWing), Starflight (NightWing), and Sunny (SandWing).) These dragons were taken to be a part of a prophecy to save all dragon kind. They were kidnapped by Queen Ruby, she is the queen of the skywings, and were forced to battle other dragons in an arena, for her one enjoyment. For this book I would recommend someone who likes to read in series and has no problem with a little bit of gore. Do you think that the dragons will make it out alive, or will their destiny be ruined?
                      • mara_love
                        mara_loveTuesday, February 2, 2021 at 7:48 am55 stars
                        They were captured by queen Scarlet not ruby I think you made a mistake.