Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 8Grade 5n/an/an/a
If you are a dreamer, come in,
If you are a dreamer,
A wisher, a liar,
A hope-er, a pray-er,
A magic bean buyer …

Come in … for where the sidewalk ends, Shel Silverstein’s world begins. You’ll meet a boy who turns into a TV set, and a girl who eats a whale. The Unicorn and the Bloath live there, and so does Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout who will not take the garbage out. It is a place where you wash your shadow and plant diamond gardens, a place where shoes fly, sisters are auctioned off, and crocodiles go to the dentist.

Shel Silverstein’s masterful collection of poems and drawings is at once outrageously funny and profound.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on February 18, 2014 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060572345
ISBN-13: 9780060572341
33 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • awesomeperson12
    awesomeperson12Thursday, November 15, 2018 at 1:42 pm
    If you like poetry then this and, all of the Shel Silverstien are right for you!
    • girlforgreen
      girlforgreenWednesday, November 7, 2018 at 1:23 pm55 stars
      Shel Silverstein strikes again! This book of poems will tickle your imagination and make you laugh until you cry. I have been reading this treasury for years upon years. However, I still can not get enough of some favorites, including Cynthia Sylvia Stout, who would not take the garbage out, the man who's beard is so long, he wears it as clothing, the girl who ate a whole hippopotamus, and many, many more. I hope that everyone of all ages gets to read this book at least once in a lifetime.
      • wiccanbat666
        wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 3:55 pm55 stars
        This collection of children's poems from Shel Silverstein is a real treat. Each of the creatures and characters is fascinating and never overly moralistically drawn. There are lots of laughs here -
        • meadowlark12
          meadowlark12Monday, January 8, 2018 at 2:18 pm55 starsFeatured
          This book is a true work of imagination! Given to me by my uncle on my 11th birthday, I read it in two days. I couldn't stop laughing at some of them- they were told upside down, from inside a lion's mouth, and from inside a snake (I hope that one wasn't from personal experience). It is a heartwarming treasury that even teaches a couple life lessons. I never knew poetry could be so whimsical!
          • dragonbookworm
            dragonbookwormSaturday, October 14, 2017 at 8:12 pm55 stars
            the poems in this book are awesome! I don't remember all of them but I remembered some. Like Hungry Mungry. These are funny and some teach people a lesson. I recommend this book because it could past time and it's good. (Lamest review, ever!)
            • yodacoucheater
              yodacoucheaterTuesday, September 5, 2017 at 9:50 am55 stars
              This book is one of my favorites! I like all of his poetry. I recommend these silly poems to all of my friends because they will laugh a lot.
              • HloWednesday, May 31, 2017 at 7:55 am
                Best book ever
                • ☀️Wednesday, May 31, 2017 at 7:48 am
                  This is the best book in the history of books
                  • HiTuesday, May 30, 2017 at 5:59 am
                    I like this book
                    • sweetums
                      sweetumsSunday, May 24, 2015 at 6:08 pm
                      I luv poems. i like Shel silverstien. what could go wrong. NOTHING.

                      Our Apps and Plugins