Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 8Grade 5n/an/an/a
If you are a dreamer, come in,
If you are a dreamer,
A wisher, a liar,
A hope-er, a pray-er,
A magic bean buyer …

Come in … for where the sidewalk ends, Shel Silverstein’s world begins. You’ll meet a boy who turns into a TV set, and a girl who eats a whale. The Unicorn and the Bloath live there, and so does Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout who will not take the garbage out. It is a place where you wash your shadow and plant diamond gardens, a place where shoes fly, sisters are auctioned off, and crocodiles go to the dentist.

Shel Silverstein’s masterful collection of poems and drawings is at once outrageously funny and profound.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on February 18, 2014 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060572345
ISBN-13: 9780060572341
30 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • meadowlark12
    meadowlark12Monday, January 8, 2018 at 2:18 pm55 starsFeatured
    This book is a true work of imagination! Given to me by my uncle on my 11th birthday, I read it in two days. I couldn't stop laughing at some of them- they were told upside down, from inside a lion's mouth, and from inside a snake (I hope that one wasn't from personal experience). It is a heartwarming treasury that even teaches a couple life lessons. I never knew poetry could be so whimsical!
    • dragonbookworm
      dragonbookwormSaturday, October 14, 2017 at 8:12 pm55 stars
      the poems in this book are awesome! I don't remember all of them but I remembered some. Like Hungry Mungry. These are funny and some teach people a lesson. I recommend this book because it could past time and it's good. (Lamest review, ever!)
      • yodacoucheater
        yodacoucheaterTuesday, September 5, 2017 at 9:50 am55 stars
        This book is one of my favorites! I like all of his poetry. I recommend these silly poems to all of my friends because they will laugh a lot.
        • HloWednesday, May 31, 2017 at 7:55 am
          Best book ever
          • ☀️Wednesday, May 31, 2017 at 7:48 am
            This is the best book in the history of books
            • HiTuesday, May 30, 2017 at 5:59 am
              I like this book
              • sweetums
                sweetumsSunday, May 24, 2015 at 6:08 pm
                I luv poems. i like Shel silverstien. what could go wrong. NOTHING.
                • Nina wuz hereThursday, December 4, 2014 at 3:54 pm
                  I've read this book before! It has many very short poems, but it can also open up people's imaginations, especially the people who don't think of creative thinks like Where the Sidewalk Ends.
                  • peachie
                    peachieThursday, December 4, 2014 at 3:42 pm55 stars
                    It's a poem book.Some of the poems are funny.It has 183 pages of poems.
                    • sydneyc
                      sydneycFriday, September 5, 2014 at 4:04 pm55 stars
                      I'm am a proud owner of this book! =) Shel Silverstein is my favorite poet. I love reading this book over and over again till i can't read no more! Boring poetry? think again.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      caitlynpv5
                      caitlynpv5 wrote:

                      It's an amazing book and I think...
                      Cake Pop Crush: A Wish Novel

                      Kobalt wrote:

                      This book was a blessing to have...
                      Wayside School Is Falling Down

                      raveb772
                      raveb772 wrote:

                      After Carter and Sadie Kane have...
                      The Throne of Fire (The Kane Chr...