Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8X4.975528

This classic about a 10-year-old boy growing up in the Ozark mountains with his inseparable pair of coonhounds will warm the hearts of young and old alike.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on September 14, 1998 by HOLT MCDOUGAL
ISBN-10: 0030547741
ISBN-13: 9780030547744
143 Book Reviews
  • caninelover101
    caninelover101Thursday, February 18, 2021 at 8:30 pm55 stars
    I am about half way in the book and it is a really heartwarming story about a boy who wanted hounds, andI really recommend it to other readers.
    • strongunicorn
      strongunicornFriday, January 15, 2021 at 11:15 am
      THIS IS SUCH A GOOD BOOK!
      • jb9
        jb9Thursday, October 22, 2020 at 3:15 am44 stars
        This was a greAt but really sad book. It is about the true bound between 2 dogs and the dogs boy.....
        • dragonite36345
          dragonite36345Tuesday, September 29, 2020 at 8:29 am55 stars
          Amazing, but it is also so sad. *sniffle*
          • prettychick
            prettychickSunday, September 27, 2020 at 2:48 pm55 stars
            This is a book about a ten year old buy who really wants two dogs, but not just any dogs, these special type of dogs. The book goes through of him spending two years to earn enough money to buy these two dogs he saw in a magazine ad. It is a really special book and I love it a lot because it is so heart warming. Try to read it if you can.
            • H_M_PFriday, September 25, 2020 at 10:39 am
              I cant wait to start reading it looks great!!!!
              • 96
                96Friday, September 25, 2020 at 9:42 am33 stars
                This book is really fun to read! Just wish the plot would make more sense through out the story
                • mercorn
                  mercornFriday, September 25, 2020 at 7:14 am55 stars
                  Where the red fern grows is a sad but good story it is about a boy and his dogs and all the fun times they had it is not a real story from life but i love it!!!
                  • bookfan2008
                    bookfan2008Tuesday, July 21, 2020 at 7:01 pm
                    Sad, but good, So emotional!
                    • riley_108
                      riley_108Thursday, February 20, 2020 at 8:45 pm44 stars
                      I gave this book a 4 star rating because it was a really good book I think it was a little emotional more twords the end of the book. You will have to read about it to find out why it it emotional. Its about a boy who had dreams about buying 2 puppies but his mom said that he had to save his own money so he could have enough money to buy them. He had to save up for 2 years! And when he gets the money he buys the dogs but something happens to one of the dogs! Read more about this book to find out what happens and why this book is emotional.
                      • eligra1920
                        eligra1920Tuesday, April 7, 2020 at 6:07 am44 stars
                        Great review! Thank you for not adding spoilers, I think you can talk a little more about the dogs since the book revolves around them, bot other than that, amazing review!