Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 8n/a6.2156154
Fiver could sense danger. Something terrible was going to happen to the warren - he felt sure of it. So did his brother Hazel, for Fiver's sixth sense was never wrong. They had to leave immediately, and they had to persuade the other rabbits to join them. And so begins a long and perilous journey of a small band of rabbits in search of a safe home. Fiver's vision finally leads them to Watership Down, but here they face their most difficult challenge of all... Watership Down is an epic journey, a stirring tale of adventure, courage and survival against the odds.
Hardcover
Published on March 1, 1974 by MacMillan Publishing Company
ISBN-10: 0025002007
ISBN-13: 9780025002005
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 13iamgroot
    13iamgrootThursday, December 19, 2019 at 4:02 pm22 starsFeatured
    Before you say, "What, two stars? This is a classic!" let me explain. I had to read this book for school and I am in 7th grade. It was just a little too advanced and dense for me. Don't get me wrong, I am a pretty advanced reader, but this was just a little too hard. If I waited until I was older to read this, I might've liked it better than I do right now. Also the plot in a nutshell is guy rabbits fighting over girls, seriously. Now I know that might seem a little harsh, and it is because there is a lot more adventure and suspense, but not my favorite book. Also, I don't normally like classics, the writing style is a little confusing, so when I started it I had the idea in my head that I wasn't going to like it. Once you get to the middle of the book it gets a little better, but nobody in my reading group really love loved it. On person even watched the movie instead of reading the book because she read the first page and gave up ;). Many people might still like this book and I would like everyone to remember that this is my opinion and the book was a little advanced so I probably would've liked it better if I read it when I was older.
    • Guts Monday, November 25, 2019 at 3:27 pm
      Fantastico/Amazing
      • taxidoboy
        taxidoboyMonday, November 18, 2019 at 6:08 pm55 starsFeatured
        You can never get bored with this story. There is so much action. I like the battles. The story is about some rabbits whose lair was destroyed and who manage to survive. After a few adventures, they manage to build a new lair. After they steal the females from a nearby tribe of rabbits, they have to face revenge from that tribe. You will see what happens if you read the book! Did I mention the maps? They are amazing!
        • dunkelosteus587
          dunkelosteus587Wednesday, May 29, 2019 at 8:13 pm55 stars
          I personally loved the show on Netflix and i was really interested in the book I finally read it and I was amazed by the action and suspense, action, drama and just plain realism. It was just a wonder when i picked it up I could not put it down it was a miracle. I just think Richard Adams is just purely awesome and can't wait to read more of his books. 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
          • utes86
            utes86Friday, May 24, 2019 at 8:41 am55 stars
            Richard Adams is an amazing author! His type of writing is unlike any other. He uses strong words and details to make you think that you are in the book.
            • karosa
              karosaFriday, May 24, 2019 at 8:41 am11 star
              I did not not love this book only because it is hard to follow. There are a lot of characters and they have their own language that you don't understand unless you memorize it or look up each word. This would be a good book for a really good reader and a person who likes adventure.
              • flashy
                flashyFriday, May 24, 2019 at 8:40 am11 star
                I hated this book.
                • mckenzielh
                  mckenzielhFriday, May 24, 2019 at 8:38 am55 stars
                  I loved this book because it was in the bunnies perspective of things. I also loved this book because it had a lot of emotions happy, sad, exited, worried… I rated this book a five star because it is a book for everyone and it correlated animals and their perspective of humans.
                  • en17694
                    en17694Friday, May 24, 2019 at 8:37 am44 starsFeatured
                    Watership Down by Richard Adams: We were assigned this book in English, and looking at the cover I was not expecting to love it, but that's what happened. This book is a little more challenging, and it has a fun story line. It is about a group of rabbits that decide to leave their home, or warren, and find a new life somewhere else. They have some difficulties along the way, and not everything goes well, but they finally reach Watership Down. But a new problem arrives, and this one is going to be more difficult to solve. To find out what happens, read the book. I would highly recommend it.
                    • avatar123
                      avatar123Friday, May 24, 2019 at 8:34 am55 stars
                      I read this for school. It is a really good book. It has a lot of suspense and fighting. It kept me on my toes. I loved the book, overall I would recommend it for any one who loves the out doors, fighting, and suspense.