Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.572847

Discover the origins of the warrior Clans in the second book of this thrilling prequel arc from mega-bestselling author Erin Hunter. The Dawn of the Clans series takes readers back to the earliest days of the Clans, when the cats first settled in the forest and began to forge the Warrior code.

The mountain cats from the Tribe of Rushing Water followed the Sun Trail to a new territory, convinced that in a land with more prey, their lives would be free from strife. But while no cat has gone hungry, tensions are rising. The once firmly united group has split in two—and a young cat named Thunder is caught in the middle.

Dawn of the Clans #2: Thunder Rising also contains an exclusive bonus scene and a teaser to Dawn of the Clans #3: The First Battle.

Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on November 5, 2013 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062063502
ISBN-13: 9780062063502
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ccswishingstar
    ccswishingstarTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 7:54 pm55 stars
    Warriors is hands down, an AMAZING series!!!!!!!!! I love the characters, and the story it tells. Though there are some sad parts, like when a cat dies with two of her kits! (One of the kits survived!!!!!!) This series is a must read for people who like books with some unsettling drama, or likes the nature of cats.
    • minnowkit
      minnowkitMonday, February 4, 2019 at 3:12 pm55 stars
      OK this book is in (in my opinion) the best warrior series but really i feel like this book was a so and so, i enjoyed the action and most of all the huge plot change but also the realization of what this series is about! so yes i greatly recommend thunder rising and really in all i greatly recommend ALL of warriors!
      • c0quackityquack
        c0quackityquackSunday, January 7, 2018 at 12:51 pm55 stars
        I am currently reading it right now and actually like Clear Sky (sorry about what I said about you before, Clear Sky, although I'm sure we all know you will be evil.)
        • jamesj2023
          jamesj2023Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 1:03 pm55 stars
          This book is yet again another great book! I really like the series and it is so fun and adventurous! Another great book!!! :)
          • you_wanna
            you_wannaTuesday, February 10, 2015 at 8:21 am55 stars
            AMAZING
            • meltdown12
              meltdown12Tuesday, February 10, 2015 at 8:20 am
              I need to catch up soon I'll get the next book
              • otter
                otterSaturday, December 28, 2013 at 11:50 am
                i am in the middle of this and LOVING it!!! I am so glad that erin hunter wrote more books. AT the end of the 4th series, i thought there weren't going to be anymore.
                • c0quackityquack
                  c0quackityquackSunday, January 7, 2018 at 12:53 pm55 stars
                  We also have Vision of Shadows!
                • headream100
                  headream100Thursday, December 19, 2013 at 4:53 am
                  I have all the books in the whole series except for the Dawn of the Clans. I NEED TO READ THEM SO BAD
                  • c0quackityquack
                    c0quackityquackSunday, January 7, 2018 at 12:52 pm55 stars
                    Even Visions of Shadows?
                  • brewhe
                    brewheSunday, December 1, 2013 at 1:05 pm55 stars
                    I am almost finished with this book. It is epic! Join Gray Wing and young Thunder as they live in a world of change and chaos, and bonds between family and friends. I cannot believe that Erin Hunter can write so many amazing books and come up with so many amazing ideas! ∞ stars for me!!!
                    • rosiespring
                      rosiespringWednesday, October 30, 2013 at 10:34 am55 stars
                      cant wait to get it