Warren the 13th and the Whispering Woods: A Novel

Email

Warren the 13th is back in another lushly illustrated middle grade adventure.

This sequel to Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye begins soon after the first book’s conclusion. Twelve-year-old Warren has learned that his beloved hotel can walk, and now it’s ferrying guests around the countryside, transporting tourists to strange and foreign destinations. But when an unexpected detour brings everyone into the dark and sinister Malwoods, Warren finds himself separated from his hotel and his friends—and racing after them on foot through a forest teeming with witches, snakes, talking trees, and mind-boggling riddles. Once again, you can expect stunning illustrations and gorgeous design from Will Staehle on every page—along with plenty of nonstop action and adventure!

 

Download Warren the 13th and the Unlucky Day booklet below

 

Download FREE Booklet

 

 

Hardcover, 240 pages
Expected to be published on March 21, 2017 by Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 1594749299
ISBN-13: 9781594749292
38 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • snicker9
    snicker9Monday, February 20, 2017 at 1:27 pmFeatured
    Warren the 13th is back! In this sequel that takes place shortly after the first book, Warren has only recently learned that hotel is a walking one! He along with his best friends Petula and Sketchy, along with a rag-tag group of adults have been cruising around the country, picking up well to-do guests along the way. Where his life previously was full of fear and disappointment, now Warren has a life filled with adventure and friendship. His biggest concern is the critics. Nonetheless, things seem to be going smoothly. That is until the Warren(the hotel's name) crashes to the ground, he loses all his guests, and then is kidnapped by a mimic. The mimic replicates Warrens image, and calls himself Worrin. Worrin soon takes over the hotel with the intent to sell it to the Witch Queen, Calvina, and Warren is forced to chase the Warren on foot. Unfortunately for Warren, he is smack dab in the middle of the Malwoods-which is filled to the brim with witches and many more startling creatures. Will Warren survive on his own? Will he save his hotel? Will his friends realize that Worrin is an impostor? This book is filled with danger, and twists in every chapter. Although since this is an AR book not all the pictures were inserted yet, the images that were included were wonderful and added to the story tremendously. I really liked how Tania del Rio continued Warren's story. I felt as if I was really entwined in the story, and just enough backstory was added so that it could be understand even without reading the first book. I recommend this book for elementary and middle grade aged kids. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars. I received this book as part of the Advance Review Club.
    • taniadelrio
      taniadelrioTuesday, February 21, 2017 at 10:27 pm
      Thank you for the wonderful review, snicker9!
    • borntoswim
      borntoswimTuesday, February 7, 2017 at 11:21 am55 stars
      Just got my advanced review copy and I'm soo excited to read it! I wasn't sure if I would like the first one, but after I read it I instantly loved it. The drawings are super cool and the story is really entertaining - I would definitely recommend this series.
      • taniadelrio
        taniadelrioTuesday, February 21, 2017 at 10:26 pm
        I'm happy to hear you enjoyed it, borntoswim! :)
      • 25scherm
        25schermMonday, February 6, 2017 at 6:20 am33 stars
        This book is interesting and has it's own way of describing in an interesting way. I recommend this book.
        • taniadelrio
          taniadelrioTuesday, February 21, 2017 at 10:26 pm
          Thanks for the recommendation, 25scherm!
        • lemonade11
          lemonade11Tuesday, January 24, 2017 at 1:21 pm44 stars
          good but interesting in its own kind of way.
          • taniadelrio
            taniadelrioMonday, January 30, 2017 at 12:02 pm
            Thank you, lemonade11! :)
          • rafaelThursday, January 12, 2017 at 9:08 am
            its awesome !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • taniadelrio
              taniadelrioMonday, January 30, 2017 at 12:02 pm
              Thank you, rafael!!!
            • no commentThursday, January 12, 2017 at 8:29 am
              i think that this should be for students too i mean enter to win your class a book
              • taniadelrio
                taniadelrioMonday, January 30, 2017 at 12:02 pm
                I think that would be great too, no comment! :)
              • sassy sallyWednesday, January 11, 2017 at 11:38 am
                omg pokemon22 this book is not cool it's scary
                • taniadelrio
                  taniadelrioMonday, January 30, 2017 at 12:01 pm
                  I think it can be a little of both, sassy sally! :)
                  • gman
                    gmanWednesday, January 11, 2017 at 7:20 pm
                    its scary cool!!
                    • taniadelrio
                      taniadelrioMonday, January 30, 2017 at 12:01 pm
                      I agree, gman :)
                  • pokemon22Wednesday, January 11, 2017 at 7:25 am
                    this book is super cool
                    • taniadelrio
                      taniadelrioMonday, January 30, 2017 at 12:01 pm
                      Thanks, pokemon22! :)
                    • dictionary
                      dictionaryTuesday, January 10, 2017 at 4:34 pm
                      Tania! Do you remember me? I'm getting the second Warren and the 13th book when it's released! Btw, congratulations on your new soon to be book!
                      • taniadelrio
                        taniadelrioMonday, January 30, 2017 at 12:01 pm
                        Hi Dictionary! Yes, I remember you - thank you for the congratulations! I can't wait for you to read the sequel and hear what you think :)
                      • awesomessb
                        awesomessbTuesday, January 10, 2017 at 10:11 am
                        I loved the first book. It was so interesting! Can't wait to read!
                        • taniadelrio
                          taniadelrioMonday, January 30, 2017 at 12:00 pm
                          I'm glad you enjoyed the first book, awesomessb! I hope you'll enjoy the sequel when it comes out on March 21st! :)