Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 12Z5.937372

The powerful story of a young horse called Joey who is taken from a farm in Devon to serve with the British Cavalry in World War I.

Paperback, 192 pages
Published on November 1, 2011 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545403359
ISBN-13: 9780545403351
30 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bluedragon1
    bluedragon1Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 6:26 pm44 stars
    It was sad but also entertaining. It is for older kids more then younger and in some places a little gorey in some places (not a lot though).
    • wowWednesday, December 12, 2018 at 2:42 pm
      I've got the book and movie
      • laxbro2023
        laxbro2023Thursday, May 10, 2018 at 1:17 pm55 stars
        it is an amazing book. people who are interested in horses and ww1 this is the book for you read 5 times
        • abbyabby132
          abbyabby132Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 7:57 am
          War Horse By: Michael Morpurgo War Horse is a great book it is about a war horse hence the name. The genre is realistic fiction. Joey is the war horse and the main character his young master named Albert. They soon get separated and Joey is sent off to war! He meets many many different horses with many different horsenalities. Everyone at war loves Joey and so……….. he then becomes is the general’s horse to ride in war! It is very good book and I recommend to everyone { even if you don’t like horses }!! Recomended to 10 years old or older. If you would like to learn more go read the book look for “War Horse”.
          • gymnastics101
            gymnastics101Friday, September 23, 2016 at 4:13 pm55 stars
            this book is sad and good you should read it
            • tarynw
              tarynwMonday, June 6, 2016 at 10:57 am
              This book is so sad, yet so amazing. It almost made me cry, and I don't cry over books often. "Horses lie dead and dying everywhere"? But friendship really helps, with Topthorn and Albert, Joey finally learns what it means to never give up. So amazing, I love Michael Morpurgo's work. So great. I've read this book about.... hmm, 20 times, and yet I never get bored.
              • nonstopreader
                nonstopreaderMonday, May 9, 2016 at 12:24 pm
                I love war stories and horse stories. This was a great book. I also watched the movie. It has some very sad parts so be ready.
                • ball8628
                  ball8628Friday, May 22, 2015 at 8:44 am55 stars
                  One of the best books I have ever read! ANYONE should read this book. It is a bit of a tear jerker at times and is very different from the movie, more meaningful than the movie!
                  • darkbreeder
                    darkbreederTuesday, December 9, 2014 at 6:15 pm55 stars
                    if you love horses,action,suspense you will LOVE this book
                    • rk
                      rkFriday, March 14, 2014 at 6:42 pm44 stars
                      I read this book because I saw it at the school library and it looked interesting. I liked it because it was quite tragic