Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.959400

In her own singularly beautiful style, Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech intricately weaves together two tales, one funny, one bittersweet, to create a heartwarming, compelling, and utterly moving story of love, loss, and the complexity of human emotion.

Thirteen-year-old Salamanca Tree Hiddle, proud of her country roots and the "Indian-ness in her blood," travels from Ohio to Idaho with her eccentric grandparents. Along the way, she tells them of the story of Phoebe Winterbottom, who received mysterious messages, who met a "potential lunatic," and whose mother disappeared.

As Sal entertains her grandparents with Phoebe's outrageous story, her own story begins to unfold—the story of a thirteen-year-old girl whose only wish is to be reunited with her missing mother.

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on October 24, 2017 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062658778
ISBN-13: 9780062658777
65 Book Reviews
  • bigbookworm
    bigbookwormMonday, June 7, 2021 at 5:56 am55 stars
    Mere words can not express how much i love this book.
    • riley_108
      riley_108Thursday, February 20, 2020 at 8:27 pm44 stars
      I gave this book a 4 star rating because it was very exiting and I loved how the secret continued to unfold, you would have to read the book to find out the secret. This book is emotional ,because Sal's mother will always be singing in the trees. It was based on a true story, I made a connection with this book, because when I had a secret it was unfolding quickly and it was kinda in a bad situation,because it was a surprise for this one girl and I told someone and everyone found out the next day including the girl so it was bad. But I think you should read this book because you will make some connections just like I did.
      • inmemoryofcpr
        inmemoryofcprThursday, May 23, 2019 at 3:15 pm55 stars
        I liked how Sal's own adventure to find her mom and the story that she told were intertwined. This book was really interesting and fun to read. I would recommend this to the fans of HokeyPokey.
        • applemango
          applemangoWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 5:17 pm55 stars
          This is about Sal, and she is telling the story of Phoebe to her grandparents in her car. Sal also has another goal, however, she thinks that the only way to get her mother and father back together is on her birthday. Until, she learns that her mother has passed.
          • ShadoWolfMonday, January 28, 2019 at 9:12 am
            Fantastic book i love it!
            • lex_0630
              lex_0630Thursday, March 1, 2018 at 5:11 pm55 stars
              I love this book honestly it is full of many adventures I highly recommend you to read this book.
              • Talia_Al_GhulTuesday, February 20, 2018 at 6:47 am
                I love the book but it isn't on Overdrive. :( It was sad, but I loved it. :)
                • lisa737
                  lisa737Thursday, January 11, 2018 at 6:45 am55 stars
                  It's the best book I've ever read.
                  • felicia Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 3:01 pm
                    it sad
                    • felicia Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 3:00 pm
                      i love the book