Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.959400

In her own singularly beautiful style, Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech intricately weaves together two tales, one funny, one bittersweet, to create a heartwarming, compelling, and utterly moving story of love, loss, and the complexity of human emotion.

Thirteen-year-old Salamanca Tree Hiddle, proud of her country roots and the "Indian-ness in her blood," travels from Ohio to Idaho with her eccentric grandparents. Along the way, she tells them of the story of Phoebe Winterbottom, who received mysterious messages, who met a "potential lunatic," and whose mother disappeared.

As Sal entertains her grandparents with Phoebe's outrageous story, her own story begins to unfold—the story of a thirteen-year-old girl whose only wish is to be reunited with her missing mother.

Paperback, 288 pages
Published on May 24, 2005 by HarperTrophy
ISBN-10: 0060739495
ISBN-13: 9780060739492
60 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • lex_0630
    lex_0630Thursday, March 1, 2018 at 5:11 pm55 stars
    I love this book honestly it is full of many adventures I highly recommend you to read this book.
    • Talia_Al_GhulTuesday, February 20, 2018 at 6:47 am
      I love the book but it isn't on Overdrive. :( It was sad, but I loved it. :)
      • lisa737
        lisa737Thursday, January 11, 2018 at 6:45 am55 stars
        It's the best book I've ever read.
        • felicia Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 3:01 pm
          it sad
          • felicia Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 3:00 pm
            i love the book
            • artpanda
              artpandaWednesday, August 2, 2017 at 6:40 am55 stars
              I loved how the story is so exciting and interesting to me since the stories are so complicated and have a lot of adventure. It has many feeling too and most of it is exciting, sad, and happy. The story is mostly about a life that was perfect and changed to a life Salamanca tree hiddle's worst nightmare. The story is very intriguing and nice but it ends sadly. Hope you will read it and enjoy it!
              • meSunday, June 25, 2017 at 9:30 am
                this book is to good. its awesome!! read it
                • theawesomeone15
                  theawesomeone15Friday, December 23, 2016 at 8:45 am44 stars
                  Funny and heartwarming
                  • cutepie12
                    cutepie12Thursday, November 17, 2016 at 12:12 pm
                    it look fun
                    • snowboard12
                      snowboard12Thursday, June 2, 2016 at 1:09 pm
                      I love t his book!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Tess wrote:

                      You should read Ellies story
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      atrama
                      atrama wrote:

                      just read and is just as awesome...
                      The Curious World of Calpurnia Tate

                      #SCHOOLFORGOOD wrote:

                      This book is so good. I picked i...
                      The School for Good and Evil

                      #BOOKWORM wrote:

                      This is the BEST series ever!!! ...
                      Keeper of the Lost Cities

                      Our Apps and Plugins