In her own singularly beautiful style, Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech intricately weaves together two tales, one funny, one bittersweet, to create a heartwarming, compelling, and utterly moving story of love, loss, and the complexity of human emotion.

Thirteen-year-old Salamanca Tree Hiddle, proud of her country roots and the "Indian-ness in her blood," travels from Ohio to Idaho with her eccentric grandparents. Along the way, she tells them of the story of Phoebe Winterbottom, who received mysterious messages, who met a "potential lunatic," and whose mother disappeared.

As Sal entertains her grandparents with Phoebe's outrageous story, her own story begins to unfold—the story of a thirteen-year-old girl whose only wish is to be reunited with her missing mother.

Paperback, 288 pages
Published on May 24, 2005 by HarperTrophy
ISBN-10: 0060739495
ISBN-13: 9780060739492
55 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • artpanda
    artpandaWednesday, August 2, 2017 at 6:40 am55 stars
    I loved how the story is so exciting and interesting to me since the stories are so complicated and have a lot of adventure. It has many feeling too and most of it is exciting, sad, and happy. The story is mostly about a life that was perfect and changed to a life Salamanca tree hiddle's worst nightmare. The story is very intriguing and nice but it ends sadly. Hope you will read it and enjoy it!
    • meSunday, June 25, 2017 at 9:30 am
      this book is to good. its awesome!! read it
      • theawesomeone15
        theawesomeone15Friday, December 23, 2016 at 8:45 am44 stars
        Funny and heartwarming
        • cutepie12
          cutepie12Thursday, November 17, 2016 at 12:12 pm
          it look fun
          • snowboard12
            snowboard12Thursday, June 2, 2016 at 1:09 pm
            I love t his book!!!
            • datgoboom
              datgoboomFriday, February 19, 2016 at 7:00 am55 stars
              I read this book because it was a class reading and the stuff that happens in the book is crazy read the to find out what happens
              • gotgod11
                gotgod11Wednesday, January 13, 2016 at 2:03 pm
                I read it for school as an assignment. It says a couple of words. It's sad and I through my book down because I was angry about what happened.
                • funnybunny124
                  funnybunny124Monday, December 7, 2015 at 8:12 pm55 stars
                  This book is AWESOME! There are many emotional and fun points in this book. You gotta read it!!! It is the best book ever!
                  • joanne_s
                    joanne_sWednesday, December 2, 2015 at 6:23 am55 stars
                    This book is about Salamanca, a girl with a big imagination. I like this book because it gives me sad, happy and touching feelings when I read it. Also it talks about everything about Salamanca, because it doesn’t only focus on one small topic. There are a lot of twist and turns in the story, which surprises me. I love the characters in the story because all of them have special characteristics, and I love the way the author lets me picture the places where Salamanca goes to. This book made me read to the end, and all of the events in the story is going to make me remember them for a long time.
                    • emto5
                      emto5Saturday, November 21, 2015 at 4:45 pm44 stars
                      I like this book so far but I left it at school by accident so I can't finish it. It's about a girl who's mother left her and her father and she had to move when her father contacted another woman. She makes friends with a girl with a very big imangation.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Parismilli wrote:

                      I have not read it but I think I...
                      Double Down

                      antwal1718
                      antwal1718 wrote:

                      i think the book was very good i...
                      Wormwood Mire

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      me+like=agree
                      The Losers Club

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      ok so my sister told me this was...
                      The Losers Club