In her own singularly beautiful style, Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech intricately weaves together two tales, one funny, one bittersweet, to create a heartwarming, compelling, and utterly moving story of love, loss, and the complexity of human emotion.

Thirteen-year-old Salamanca Tree Hiddle, proud of her country roots and the "Indian-ness in her blood," travels from Ohio to Idaho with her eccentric grandparents. Along the way, she tells them of the story of Phoebe Winterbottom, who received mysterious messages, who met a "potential lunatic," and whose mother disappeared.

As Sal entertains her grandparents with Phoebe's outrageous story, her own story begins to unfold—the story of a thirteen-year-old girl whose only wish is to be reunited with her missing mother.

Paperback, 288 pages
Published on May 24, 2005 by HarperTrophy
ISBN-10: 0060739495
ISBN-13: 9780060739492
58 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • lisa737
    lisa737Thursday, January 11, 2018 at 6:45 am55 stars
    It's the best book I've ever read.
    • felicia Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 3:01 pm
      it sad
      • felicia Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 3:00 pm
        i love the book
        • artpanda
          artpandaWednesday, August 2, 2017 at 6:40 am55 stars
          I loved how the story is so exciting and interesting to me since the stories are so complicated and have a lot of adventure. It has many feeling too and most of it is exciting, sad, and happy. The story is mostly about a life that was perfect and changed to a life Salamanca tree hiddle's worst nightmare. The story is very intriguing and nice but it ends sadly. Hope you will read it and enjoy it!
          • meSunday, June 25, 2017 at 9:30 am
            this book is to good. its awesome!! read it
            • theawesomeone15
              theawesomeone15Friday, December 23, 2016 at 8:45 am44 stars
              Funny and heartwarming
              • cutepie12
                cutepie12Thursday, November 17, 2016 at 12:12 pm
                it look fun
                • snowboard12
                  snowboard12Thursday, June 2, 2016 at 1:09 pm
                  I love t his book!!!
                  • datgoboom
                    datgoboomFriday, February 19, 2016 at 7:00 am55 stars
                    I read this book because it was a class reading and the stuff that happens in the book is crazy read the to find out what happens
                    • gotgod11
                      gotgod11Wednesday, January 13, 2016 at 2:03 pm
                      I read it for school as an assignment. It says a couple of words. It's sad and I through my book down because I was angry about what happened.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Braelynn Nicole wrote:

                      This is an awesome book for kids...
                      How to Draw Emojis: A Step by St...

                      jtd
                      jtd wrote:

                      Best book series ever
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1

                      cool wrote:

                      this book is cool and the movie
                      Wonder

                      catslovewaffles

                      Karen is facing some hard change...
                      It's Not the End of the World