Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U4.637100

Twelve-year-old Molly and her ten-year-old brother, Michael, have never liked their seven-year-old stepsister, Heather. Ever since their parents got married, she's made Molly and Michael's life miserable. Now their parents have moved them all to the country to live in a house that used to be a church, with a cemetery in the backyard. If that's not bad enough, Heather starts talking to a ghost named Helen and warning Molly and Michael that Helen is coming for them. Molly feels certain Heather is in some kind of danger, but every time she tries to help, Heather twists things around to get her into trouble. It seems as if things can't get any worse.

But they do -- when Helen comes.

Paperback, 192 pages
Published on April 21, 2008 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547028644
ISBN-13: 9780547028644
53 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • kc17
    kc17Friday, May 18, 2018 at 2:38 pm55 stars
    I enjoyed this book so much. Just by looking at the cover, I thought that this book would be a lot more scarier but it was not. I still loved this book. This is one of my favorite book. It is just like took but a little bit different. You will be having so many emotions at once. At the end you will be crying. This is just that type of book. To believe that I am correct you have to read the book.
    • Sally .s.Wednesday, April 11, 2018 at 11:34 am
      It is really spectacular beacause it is really scary and I love scary books😀
      • peaches21
        peaches21Thursday, April 13, 2017 at 9:03 am
        i read the other ones and they r good
        • emojis_rule_202
          emojis_rule_202Friday, March 17, 2017 at 11:27 am
          I really want to read this book, but I haven't.
          • ElephantLover1Tuesday, January 10, 2017 at 9:04 am
            This book is suspenseful it makes you wait to see what happens so you just want to keep reading it! I loved this book! It is the best book I've ever read. The author Mary Downing Haun is my favorite author. She writes the best books! I read Wait till helen comes 8 times cause the first couple times i read the book it was really good, but when i read it after that i realized i missed a lot of details!
            • princessdope
              princessdopeSunday, November 6, 2016 at 4:49 am
              This author is awesome! This book seems great ! I want to read it so bad!
              • soccergirl43
                soccergirl43Thursday, October 27, 2016 at 3:50 pm
                O M G ! This book is so good I read it with my fourth grade teacher . Mary downing Hahn is a great author and has written more great books
                • princessdope
                  princessdopeSunday, November 6, 2016 at 4:50 am
                  I agree! Have you read her new book " Took" ?
                • soccerlover1511
                  soccerlover1511Friday, September 16, 2016 at 12:56 pm
                  This book is amazing love the author too
                  • tarynw
                    tarynwThursday, June 16, 2016 at 1:30 pm
                    I'm in the middle of this it is so scary. Not the type of bedtime story I like. Good book, though.
                    • mammers904
                      mammers904Monday, June 6, 2016 at 4:50 pm55 stars
                      Yikes! I was freaked out by the ghost in this one-troublemaker! Great read for spooky readers!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      tybook2018
                      tybook2018 wrote:

                      Book Scavenger (The Book Scaveng...
                      Book Scavenger (The Book Scaveng...

                      jaden07
                      jaden07 wrote:

                      i agree with you. you are right,...
                      From the Kane Chronicles Brookly...

                      unicornbrain

                      This book is great! I like merma...
                      Third Grade Mermaid

                      aracha
                      aracha wrote:

                      I love Harry Potter! First I tho...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...