JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany. With the threat of concentration camps looming, he and his family board a ship bound for the other side of the world . . .

ISABEL is a Cuban girl in 1994. With riots and unrest plaguing her country, she and her family set out on a raft, hoping to find safety in America . . .

MAHMOUD is a Syrian boy in 2015. With his homeland torn apart by violence and destruction, he and his family begin a long trek toward Europe . . .

All three kids go on harrowing journeys in search of refuge. All will face unimaginable dangers -- from drownings to bombings to betrayals. But there is always the hope of tomorrow. And although Josef, Isabel, and Mahmoud are separated by continents and decades, shocking connections will tie their stories together in the end.

This action-packed novel tackles topics both timely and timeless: courage, survival, and the quest for home.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on July 25, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545880831
ISBN-13: 9780545880831
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • tryakshara
    tryaksharaWednesday, November 14, 2018 at 2:41 pm55 stars
    I've decided to read this book as my whole class is reading it but now after I've gone thought quarter of the book I can't stop myself from reading it. It is a sad story but a great book
    • shaniqwaMonday, November 12, 2018 at 8:21 am
      i dont like reading but this book seems cool
      • AlabamaTuesday, November 6, 2018 at 1:12 pm
        This book is great
        • ShatterstarMonday, November 5, 2018 at 7:12 am
          This book is awesome. The best part is that it actually shows true sacrifice and true help. it shows that it will always help to help others
          • catsarecool
            catsarecoolWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 5:48 pm55 stars
            I loved this book but I cried because it made me sad :(. but I think that if u have not read it u need to. it is a very suspenseful book. my favorite story was Isabels story. Hers was so sad especially when Ivan died.
            • BRATUCFriday, June 22, 2018 at 6:32 am
              This book is amazing the three characters Isabel Josef moumoud .my fav is Josef.
              • baller3Thursday, May 3, 2018 at 9:26 am
                speechless
                • doratheexplora
                  doratheexploraThursday, May 3, 2018 at 8:48 am
                  This book is amazing so far im gonna try no to spoil anything but im at a part were people are trying to get to america and start a new life and i didnt spoil anything because its on the back of the book but I really like how it shows multiple perspectives from three different people.
                  • hermoineunicorn
                    hermoineunicornSaturday, March 31, 2018 at 4:52 pm44 stars
                    This book is amazing! I read it a little while ago. My favorite part was when the stories connected at the end.
                    • bean_boy
                      bean_boyFriday, March 30, 2018 at 7:35 pm55 stars
                      Although I have not read this book I know I'd love it. It really outlines the struggles faced by refugees and their willingness to do what's good for them or their family.
                       
                      About:
                      The Buckeye Children's and Teen Book Awards are a "reader's choice" award, enabling Ohio students in grades K-12 to nominate and then vote for their favorite books of the past year. Nominating occurs year-round, on the Buckeye Awards website, and voting is from Sept. 1-Nov. 10. The winners will be announced on December 1, so go to www.bcbookaward.info to nominate and to see the winners! .
                       

                      Our Apps and Plugins