JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany. With the threat of concentration camps looming, he and his family board a ship bound for the other side of the world . . .

ISABEL is a Cuban girl in 1994. With riots and unrest plaguing her country, she and her family set out on a raft, hoping to find safety in America . . .

MAHMOUD is a Syrian boy in 2015. With his homeland torn apart by violence and destruction, he and his family begin a long trek toward Europe . . .

All three kids go on harrowing journeys in search of refuge. All will face unimaginable dangers -- from drownings to bombings to betrayals. But there is always the hope of tomorrow. And although Josef, Isabel, and Mahmoud are separated by continents and decades, shocking connections will tie their stories together in the end.

This action-packed novel tackles topics both timely and timeless: courage, survival, and the quest for home.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on July 25, 2017 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545880831
ISBN-13: 9780545880831
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • catsarecool
    catsarecoolWednesday, September 12, 2018 at 5:48 pm55 stars
    I loved this book but I cried because it made me sad :(. but I think that if u have not read it u need to. it is a very suspenseful book. my favorite story was Isabels story. Hers was so sad especially when Ivan died.
    • BRATUCFriday, June 22, 2018 at 6:32 am
      This book is amazing the three characters Isabel Josef moumoud .my fav is Josef.
      • baller3Thursday, May 3, 2018 at 9:26 am
        speechless
        • doratheexplora
          doratheexploraThursday, May 3, 2018 at 8:48 am
          This book is amazing so far im gonna try no to spoil anything but im at a part were people are trying to get to america and start a new life and i didnt spoil anything because its on the back of the book but I really like how it shows multiple perspectives from three different people.
          • hermoineunicorn
            hermoineunicornSaturday, March 31, 2018 at 4:52 pm44 stars
            This book is amazing! I read it a little while ago. My favorite part was when the stories connected at the end.
            • bean_boy
              bean_boyFriday, March 30, 2018 at 7:35 pm55 stars
              Although I have not read this book I know I'd love it. It really outlines the struggles faced by refugees and their willingness to do what's good for them or their family.
              • art3mis
                art3misFriday, March 30, 2018 at 5:16 pm55 stars
                I read this book two times because that was how good it was. It was very sad though, but very eye-opening. This book is realistic fiction and divided into three different stories which makes the book go by faster in my opinion. The three stories were mixed together, so that was really cool and I enjoyed how it turned out at the end.
                • kitten_123
                  kitten_123Monday, November 20, 2017 at 12:32 pm
                  This book called refugee is about three kids experience in a Syrian-war what life was like and how they survived and how they had to face some challenges and get over the challenges.
                  • kadeMonday, November 20, 2017 at 11:23 am
                    you should read the onest truth it is very sad but good.
                    • fexekuhiki
                      fexekuhikiThursday, November 2, 2017 at 7:52 am55 stars
                      I loved this book because it makes you feel emotional and give empathy for the characters. It makes you feel very lucky to be safe. It also gives you the idea of what is happening in other countries that might not have been aware of. The characters face a lot of action which makes you want to read more. The characters are Josef, a jewish boy trying to escape the Holocaust. Isabel, a Cuban refugee trying to escape from the horrid president. Then theres Mahmoud, a Syrian refugee trying to escape the war. I recommend this book to 4th grade to adults!
                       
                      About:
                      The Buckeye Children's and Teen Book Awards are a "reader's choice" award, enabling Ohio students in grades K-12 to nominate and then vote for their favorite books of the past year. Nominating occurs year-round, on the Buckeye Awards website, and voting is from Sept. 1-Nov. 10. The winners will be announced on December 1, so go to www.bcbookaward.info to nominate and to see the winners! .
                       

                      Our Apps and Plugins