Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a5.888345

Instant New York Times bestseller!
#1 IndieNext Pick!
Entertainment Weekly Must List (Grade: A-)!

Whatever you've heard about Caraval, it doesn't compare to the reality. It's more than just a game or a performance. It's the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world . . .

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.

The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus. Grade: A-.”Entertainment Weekly
“Impressive, original, wondrous.USA Today
“Spellbinding.” US Weekly
“Magnificent.” Publishers Weekly, starred review
“I lost myself in this world.” ―Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes
“Beautifully written.” ―Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn
“Shimmers with magic.” ―Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner’s Curse
“Darkly enchanting.” ―Kiersten White, author of And I Darken
“Decadent.” ―Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen
“Like stepping into a living dream.” ―Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon
“Destined to capture imaginations.”Kirkus Reviews
Ideal for fans of The Night Circus, Stardust, and The Hunger Games.School Library Journal

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published on January 31, 2017 by Flatiron Books
ISBN-10: 1250095255
ISBN-13: 9781250095251
5 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • This_Is_MeSaturday, October 13, 2018 at 6:25 pm
    It wasn't that great. There was a fascinating idea with the whole 'game' aspect but there were a bunch of parts that felt forced and the ending left some to be desired.
    • ShlokThursday, October 11, 2018 at 3:33 am
      I actually disliked it. There was random things that did not fit in, and at the end, I felt like the loose ends were not tied up. Maybe a sequel could fix that, so I am looking forward to that.
      • EssieMonday, October 8, 2018 at 12:26 pm
        This book was outstanding! I was so interested in it that I read it in two days! It’s been a while since I’ve read a book like this. And it’ll always be my all time favorite!
        • ytvtMonday, June 5, 2017 at 7:37 am
          Love this book.
          • SANAATuesday, January 31, 2017 at 12:15 pm
            I LIKE YOUR BOOKS🌈🌈⛄⛄🌟😍😜

            Our Apps and Plugins