Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 6n/a5.888345

Instant New York Times bestseller!
#1 IndieNext Pick!
Entertainment Weekly Must List (Grade: A-)!

Whatever you've heard about Caraval, it doesn't compare to the reality. It's more than just a game or a performance. It's the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world . . .

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.

The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus. Grade: A-.”Entertainment Weekly
“Impressive, original, wondrous.USA Today
“Spellbinding.” US Weekly
“Magnificent.” Publishers Weekly, starred review
“I lost myself in this world.” ―Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes
“Beautifully written.” ―Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn
“Shimmers with magic.” ―Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner’s Curse
“Darkly enchanting.” ―Kiersten White, author of And I Darken
“Decadent.” ―Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen
“Like stepping into a living dream.” ―Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon
“Destined to capture imaginations.”Kirkus Reviews
Ideal for fans of The Night Circus, Stardust, and The Hunger Games.School Library Journal

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published on January 31, 2017 by Flatiron Books
ISBN-10: 1250095255
ISBN-13: 9781250095251
15 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kkgautamm
    kkgautammSunday, June 28, 2020 at 2:05 pm44 stars
    this was a great, great book! it is super fast paced, and i finished it in only a few hours. scarlett and tella are super cool, and the setting was AMAZING.
    • kkgautamm
      kkgautammWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 11:00 am44 stars
      stunning book. the author does a great job of keeping the reader interested in the story. the characters make the story very good. highly recommend.
      • kkgautamm
        kkgautammTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 3:16 pm44 stars
        stunning book. the author does a great job of keeping the reader interested in the story.
        • kkgautamm
          kkgautammTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 3:15 pm44 stars
          stunning book. the author does a great job of keeping the reader interested in the story.
          • chzwiz04
            chzwiz04Thursday, February 7, 2019 at 6:22 pm55 stars
            LOVE THIS BOOK!!! FAVORITE BOOK EVER!
            • personThursday, February 7, 2019 at 6:19 pm
              OMG!!! This is my favorite book in the whole wide world everyone needs to read it!!!!!!!
              • queen_luna
                queen_lunaMonday, November 26, 2018 at 4:31 pm55 stars
                This book is a thrilling mysterious adventure! It is such a unique book. I loved the creativity and imagination that is packed in this book. I immediately loved Scarlet! Her goodness and selflessness are truly inspiring, but yet she still has imperfections that make her human. I was amazed by this book with it's wild plot twists and captivating world.
                • queen_luna
                  queen_lunaMonday, November 26, 2018 at 4:19 pm55 stars
                  This book is a thrilling mysterious adventure! It is such a unique book. I loved the creativity and imagination that is packed in this book. I immediately loved Scarlet! Her goodness and selflessness are truly inspiring, but yet she still has imperfections that make her human. I was amazed by this book with it's wild plot twists and captivating world.
                  • This_Is_MeSaturday, October 13, 2018 at 6:25 pm
                    It wasn't that great. There was a fascinating idea with the whole 'game' aspect but there were a bunch of parts that felt forced and the ending left some to be desired.
                    • chzwiz04
                      chzwiz04Thursday, February 7, 2019 at 6:22 pm55 stars
                      There is a second book. Thats why the end was left open.
                    • ShlokThursday, October 11, 2018 at 3:33 am
                      I actually disliked it. There was random things that did not fit in, and at the end, I felt like the loose ends were not tied up. Maybe a sequel could fix that, so I am looking forward to that.