Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.6127167

The #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestseller that Gregory Maguire (Wicked and After Alice) calls "full of heart."

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland, she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next queen.

Then Cath meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the king and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship. Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

In her first stand-alone teen novel, the New York Times-bestselling author dazzles us with a prequel to Alice's Adventures in Wonderland.

Hardcover, 464 pages
Published on November 8, 2016 by Feiwel & Friends
ISBN-10: 1250044650
ISBN-13: 9781250044655
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • hollowitz
    hollowitzMonday, July 23, 2018 at 8:50 pm44 stars
    I love the story. However I just couldn't bear how Kathy became the notorious Queen of Hearts. It was just sooo sad to see Kathy and her sweet dream to open up a bakery with her friend come to an end. (The worst part is that I knew she was going to be the 'heartless' Queen of Hearts she is now (how ironic)). I just maybe hoped that Kathy could have a happy 'life of baking and friends' ending that usually every fairy tale girl should have.
    • queenavocado
      queenavocadoTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 2:33 pm55 stars
      This is one of my all time favorite books. Marissa Meyer is an amazing young adult writer, and this book shows why. It is the story of how the Queen of Hearts became the Queen we all know today. I would recommend this to anybody!
      • queenavocado
        queenavocadoTuesday, May 8, 2018 at 2:33 pm55 stars
        This is one of my all time favorite books. Marissa Meyer is an amazing young adult writer, and this book shows why. It is the story of how the Queen of Hearts became the Queen we all know today. I would recommend this to anybody!
        • Booklover145💖Sunday, March 4, 2018 at 5:47 pm
          I love this book to pieces. I love it when Jest and Cath kiss. I cried when Jest died. Amazing book.
          • meenu_800
            meenu_800Friday, October 13, 2017 at 8:12 am55 stars
            Awesomeness
            • meenu_800
              meenu_800Friday, October 13, 2017 at 8:12 am55 stars
              I love this.
              • april_hough2022
                april_hough2022Tuesday, October 10, 2017 at 7:00 pm55 stars
                If you love Alice in Wonderland you gotta read this book. It has a lot of emotions, too.
                • piccadillypie
                  piccadillypieTuesday, August 1, 2017 at 9:45 pm55 stars
                  This tale is a prequel to Alice in Wonderland, and Catherine has found someone she loves, but her parents want her to marry the king. When tragedy strikes, she does the unthinkable. I recommend this heartbreaking book for readers above the age of 10.
                  • bige71148
                    bige71148Thursday, June 29, 2017 at 9:23 am55 stars
                    A great book to read to show that not everything was made evil or good and sometimes thing change into something else.
                    • mamabird
                      mamabirdWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 5:02 pm55 stars
                      I was consumed by this book from the moment I opened it. I was so enthralled by the story, wishing that I could somehow be a part of this world, this romance, this story.. <3

                      Our Apps and Plugins