Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grade 3n/a2.3641
Madeline Finn DOES NOT like to read.
Not books.
Not magazines.
Not even the menu on the ice cream truck.
But Madeline Finn DOES want a gold star from her teacher.
Stars are for good readers.
Stars are for understanding words.
And saying them out loud.
Fortunately, Madeline Finn meets Bonnie, a library dog. Reading out loud to Bonnie isn't so bad. When Madeline Finn gets stuck, Bonnie doesn't mind. Madeline Finn can pet her until she figures the word out.
As it turns out, it's fun to read when you're not afraid of making mistakes. Bonnie teaches Madeline Finn that it s okay to go slow. And to keep trying. Just like the sticker says.
Hardcover, 32 pages
Published on October 1, 2016 by Peachtree Publishers
ISBN-10: 1561459100
ISBN-13: 9781561459100
14 Book Reviews
  • LFMonday, February 12, 2018 at 9:12 am
    I think that it was so cool that the library dog had puppies!
    • BYMonday, February 12, 2018 at 9:04 am
      madeline finn likes the pure white dog but on the very next day she was not there madeline was sad the library teacher said do u want to read to a another dog
      • AAMonday, February 12, 2018 at 9:02 am
        It was a great book!
        • ZrMonday, February 12, 2018 at 8:54 am
          This book is real funny and cute
          • LWMonday, February 12, 2018 at 8:52 am
            I think Madeline Finn was a very good book because a dog can help people.
            • PWMonday, February 12, 2018 at 8:51 am
              I liked this book very much. I might even vote for it as the Kentucky Bluegrass Book Award.
              • hmMonday, February 12, 2018 at 8:51 am
                It's awesome it's a good book
                • MCMonday, February 12, 2018 at 8:50 am
                  I like this book. I like dogs
                  • GCMonday, February 12, 2018 at 8:50 am
                    I think this book is cool i love the pictures and how the dog had babies the babies was so cute i love how the dog helped her read loud.
                    • JSMonday, February 12, 2018 at 8:49 am
                      I think the book is good because i love when people help.

                       Voting is open March 3 to May 9, 2017.
                      Winners will be announced on May 31st at a special ceremony featuring the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature, Gene Luen Yang and publicized nationally!
                      Voice your choice and tell us what your Book of the Year is!
                      Launched in 2008 by the Children’s Book Council and Every Child a Reader, the awards provide young readers with an opportunity to voice their opinions about new books being written for them.

                      How were these finalists chosen? Each year, over 36,000 children from different regions of the U.S. read, discuss, and choose their favorite new books, with supervision from the International Literacy Association. The most popular books in each age group become the Children’s Choice Book Award finalists.