Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 4n/a3.920343
National Book Award Long List
New York Times Bestseller


Like lightning/you strike/fast and free/legs zoom/down field/eyes fixed/on the checkered ball/on the goal/ten yards to go/can’t nobody stop you/
can’t nobody cop you…
In this follow-up to the Newbery-winning novel THE CROSSOVER, soccer, family, love, and friendship, take center stage as twelve-year-old Nick learns the power of words as he wrestles with problems at home, stands up to a bully, and tries to impress the girl of his dreams. Helping him along are his best friend and sometimes teammate Coby, and The Mac, a rapping librarian who gives Nick inspiring books to read.
This electric and heartfelt novel-in-verse by poet Kwame Alexander bends and breaks as it captures all the thrills and setbacks, action and emotion of a World Cup match!
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on April 5, 2016 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544570987
ISBN-13: 9780544570986
9 Book Reviews
  • brownielover201
    brownielover201Tuesday, June 4, 2019 at 11:59 am
    Nicholas Hall is a soccer lover. Hates words since his dad makes him read this super boring dictionary and making him fill out worksheets about the words after. Word after word after word. Well, there's also this girl he really really likes. And she likes him back! Yay! :) But every time she talks to him, his can't find the right words (which is weird, since he knows 20 thousand) and just stammers or stares at her. :( Her name's April, by the way. But also, his parents have decided to separate! :( Nick's heart has split apart. Will Nick Hall find his smile again? Will his parents get a divorce? Or will they go back together? FIND OUT IN BOOKED BY KWAME ALEXANDER
    • mysteryturtle24
      mysteryturtle24Wednesday, September 19, 2018 at 8:31 am55 starsFeatured
      I read this book because it's on the 2018 Battle of the Books List, and it definitely belongs there. The book is written in verse and follows Nick Hall, a soccer superstar, and his best friend Coby. They both get extremely excited when their teams are invited to a big-deal soccer tournament, but Nick's life is changing in big ways, and he has to learn how to cope with disappointment, books, and girls. I recommend this for all middle-grade readers, whether you like sports or not. This novel has most definitely earned it's spot in Battle of the Books.
      • f_a_r_r
        f_a_r_rThursday, February 22, 2018 at 11:55 am55 stars
        This such a great book to read in your free-time
        • f_a_r_r_r
          f_a_r_r_rWednesday, February 21, 2018 at 11:56 am55 stars
          It was a great book
          • thetriplews
            thetriplewsMonday, February 12, 2018 at 12:55 pm
            O-M-G, I don't understand why this book isn't any more famous. This book is AMAZING, its a story told trough pomes. This is a very sad and hard book to get through but it is so good you just can't stop ;) Read the book to learn more!
            • truesunshine
              truesunshineSunday, November 19, 2017 at 1:42 pm55 starsFeatured
              I JUST finished this book, and it's A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. It's written in verse/poetry style and it's about a boy named Nick. He plays soccer and something really bad happens- his parents get divorced. Then he can't play in a special tournament in Dallas because he sprained his ankle and something was wrong with his appendix. This book is full of up's and downs. I usually am not a person to read about sports but this one was very interesting and written well. When you start reading this book, you want to keep on reading it until you get to the end, if I ever stopped reading it I would feel like I was on a HUGE cliff hanger because there is a lot of cliff hangers if you dont just keep reading the book. Either way, this book deserves a medal. If you're a fan of soccer, I would TOTALLY recommend this book to you- or even if you're not into soccer, still READ THIS BOOK!
              • fblreggie13
                fblreggie13Thursday, December 15, 2016 at 11:11 am33 stars
                i decided to read this book because i wanted to find out what gos on in this book about the boys life what is he gonna do with his life with soccer and how eveyone cheers him on about his goal he made.
                • drawinglife101
                  drawinglife101Wednesday, December 14, 2016 at 2:25 pm44 stars
                  I'm loving this book it pretends you are the character.
                  • kaaaaaaii
                    kaaaaaaiiThursday, December 1, 2016 at 9:59 am55 stars
                    I decided to read this book because I like playing soccer and actually play it 2 seasons during the school year. This book is mainly about a boy named " nick hall ". This boy who is very good at soccer, He is actually a STAR at soccer. He is cruising in school and he is all ready to ask out the girl of his dreams.

                     Voting is open March 3 to May 9, 2017.
                     
                    Winners will be announced on May 31st at a special ceremony featuring the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature, Gene Luen Yang and publicized nationally!
                     
                    Voice your choice and tell us what your Book of the Year is!
                     
                    About:
                    Launched in 2008 by the Children’s Book Council and Every Child a Reader, the awards provide young readers with an opportunity to voice their opinions about new books being written for them.


                    How were these finalists chosen? Each year, over 36,000 children from different regions of the U.S. read, discuss, and choose their favorite new books, with supervision from the International Literacy Association. The most popular books in each age group become the Children’s Choice Book Award finalists.