Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 4n/a3.920343
National Book Award Long List
New York Times Bestseller


Like lightning/you strike/fast and free/legs zoom/down field/eyes fixed/on the checkered ball/on the goal/ten yards to go/can’t nobody stop you/
can’t nobody cop you…
In this follow-up to the Newbery-winning novel THE CROSSOVER, soccer, family, love, and friendship, take center stage as twelve-year-old Nick learns the power of words as he wrestles with problems at home, stands up to a bully, and tries to impress the girl of his dreams. Helping him along are his best friend and sometimes teammate Coby, and The Mac, a rapping librarian who gives Nick inspiring books to read.
This electric and heartfelt novel-in-verse by poet Kwame Alexander bends and breaks as it captures all the thrills and setbacks, action and emotion of a World Cup match!
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on April 5, 2016 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544570987
ISBN-13: 9780544570986
7 Book Reviews
  • f_a_r_r
    f_a_r_rThursday, February 22, 2018 at 11:55 am55 stars
    This such a great book to read in your free-time
    • f_a_r_r_r
      f_a_r_r_rWednesday, February 21, 2018 at 11:56 am55 stars
      It was a great book
      • thetriplews
        thetriplewsMonday, February 12, 2018 at 12:55 pm
        O-M-G, I don't understand why this book isn't any more famous. This book is AMAZING, its a story told trough pomes. This is a very sad and hard book to get through but it is so good you just can't stop ;) Read the book to learn more!
        • truesunshine
          truesunshineSunday, November 19, 2017 at 1:42 pm55 starsFeatured
          I JUST finished this book, and it's A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. It's written in verse/poetry style and it's about a boy named Nick. He plays soccer and something really bad happens- his parents get divorced. Then he can't play in a special tournament in Dallas because he sprained his ankle and something was wrong with his appendix. This book is full of up's and downs. I usually am not a person to read about sports but this one was very interesting and written well. When you start reading this book, you want to keep on reading it until you get to the end, if I ever stopped reading it I would feel like I was on a HUGE cliff hanger because there is a lot of cliff hangers if you dont just keep reading the book. Either way, this book deserves a medal. If you're a fan of soccer, I would TOTALLY recommend this book to you- or even if you're not into soccer, still READ THIS BOOK!
          • fblreggie13
            fblreggie13Thursday, December 15, 2016 at 11:11 am33 stars
            i decided to read this book because i wanted to find out what gos on in this book about the boys life what is he gonna do with his life with soccer and how eveyone cheers him on about his goal he made.
            • drawinglife101
              drawinglife101Wednesday, December 14, 2016 at 2:25 pm44 stars
              I'm loving this book it pretends you are the character.
              • kaaaaaaii
                kaaaaaaiiThursday, December 1, 2016 at 9:59 am55 stars
                I decided to read this book because I like playing soccer and actually play it 2 seasons during the school year. This book is mainly about a boy named " nick hall ". This boy who is very good at soccer, He is actually a STAR at soccer. He is cruising in school and he is all ready to ask out the girl of his dreams.

                 Voting is open March 3 to May 9, 2017.
                 
                Winners will be announced on May 31st at a special ceremony featuring the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature, Gene Luen Yang and publicized nationally!
                 
                Voice your choice and tell us what your Book of the Year is!
                 
                About:
                Launched in 2008 by the Children’s Book Council and Every Child a Reader, the awards provide young readers with an opportunity to voice their opinions about new books being written for them.


                How were these finalists chosen? Each year, over 36,000 children from different regions of the U.S. read, discuss, and choose their favorite new books, with supervision from the International Literacy Association. The most popular books in each age group become the Children’s Choice Book Award finalists.