Maddie Fynn is a shy high school junior, cursed with an eerie intuitive ability: she sees a series of unique digits hovering above the foreheads of each person she encounters. Her earliest memories are marked by these numbers, but it takes her father's premature death for Maddie and her family to realize that these mysterious digits are actually deathdates, and just like birthdays, everyone has one.

Forced by her alcoholic mother to use her ability to make extra money, Maddie identifies the quickly approaching deathdate of one client's young son, but because her ability only allows her to see the when and not the how, she's unable to offer any more insight. When the boy goes missing on that exact date, law enforcement turns to Maddie.

Soon, Maddie is entangled in a homicide investigation, and more young people disappear and are later found murdered. A suspect for the investigation, a target for the murderer, and attracting the attentions of a mysterious young admirer who may be connected to it all, Maddie's whole existence is about to be turned upside down. Can she right things before it's too late?
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on January 13, 2015 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1484700082
ISBN-13: 9781484700082
10 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • dubthenarwhalsWednesday, October 19, 2016 at 7:02 pm
    I Can Not Express My Feelings... This Book Is More Than Amazing, More Than Fantastic, Infact The Best Book I Have Read In A While.
    • SofiFriday, September 9, 2016 at 9:46 am
      This book is incredible. I read it over the summer. I read this book faster than my summer reading books. It was SOOOOOO good. I loved the way Mrs. Laurie wrote.😀
      • LQMonday, August 22, 2016 at 11:24 am
        This book is FANTASTIC. I literally could not put it down. I started reading it this morning with my morning coffee, intending to read just a chapter or two, but could not put it down until I finished the book...it was that good. I don't normally read YA books, but agreed to read this one before I even knew the premise. I've long been a fan of the author's adult books and wasn't sure what to expect from the beginning of a YA series. The author's talent and creativity come together in When to create a work that is compelling and original. She has crafted a story that is designed for the YA market, but that any age would enjoy. It involves a teen, Maddie, with the dubious gift of being able to see the death date of people. Her sharing these dates lands her in the middle of a complex murder investigation. Throughout it all, with challenges even beyond being thought capable of murder, Maddie finds an inner strength and the ability to get out of bed each morning and face the day. She does this despite knowing that the world will somehow find a way to kick her in the back. As I'm sure most of us remember, high school is not always the friendliest of places. Standing out or being different can make even showing up for class very difficult. Maddie shows us that it is possible to get through this, even when it feels like the universe is conspiring against us. I fully recommend this book for it's intended YA audience, but also for any adult interested in a compelling read. This one is a must read.
        • Sarah PMonday, August 22, 2016 at 10:43 am
          This book is a wonderful read. It's different . I loved it!
          • Vivian RSunday, August 21, 2016 at 8:32 pm
            I loved the book! It's about a girl named Maddie living with a very unique gift, which is reading people's deathdates. She had some trouble eith the police, her best friend Stuby was taken to jail. She tried to get him out but the police wouldn't believe her, so she made Agent Faraday test her, he finally believed her. This book has suspense, romance, and more... It's amazing!!
            • Vivian RodrigueSunday, August 21, 2016 at 8:27 pm
              I love the book! Loved how Maddie never gave up to help Stubs her best friend. Loved how she never stop believing on herself, how she showed Agent Faraday about her reading deathdates. I also liked when she found someone which was a nice boy and neve judged her.
              • SMHYSunday, August 21, 2016 at 6:30 pm
                This book show the magnificent and terrible power Maddie has since she can see death dates. She is dragged to the FBI because of her talent, and by the end of the story she realizes she has a talent that is a useful tool but also an impact to those who receive the news. This book was interesting and one of my favorites.
                • astronaut
                  astronautThursday, January 7, 2016 at 6:23 pm55 stars
                  This is an Amazing book!
                  • astronaut
                    astronautThursday, January 7, 2016 at 6:21 pm55 stars
                    This book is an amazing! It's about a Girl named Maddie, who has a very special talent. She can see everybodys death dates on their forehead. She gets dragged into a murder investigation. Omg1 totally one of my fav books now!
                    • izdafrizz
                      izdafrizzMonday, March 2, 2015 at 4:50 pm
                      this book was awesome