Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a long-lost girl collide in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of both Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen, & illustrated throughout with comics.

Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure.
Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her.
Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window.
Princess X?
When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There's an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby's story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenon---her best friend, Libby, who lives.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on May 26, 2015 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 0545620856
ISBN-13: 9780545620857
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • riri216
    riri216Saturday, October 7, 2017 at 3:57 pm55 stars
    This book totally rocked! Not only did it involve visual aspects, but it also was written beautifully! The book was action packed and full of adventure. It warmed my heart to see one friend so dedicated to another! And the art was beautiful and fit so well into the story!
    • sweetpuff
      sweetpuffMonday, October 2, 2017 at 9:37 am55 stars
      Such a good book! I have given my book to my friend and she is enjoying it as well. The story “I am princess x” shows that you should never give up and lose somone or something you love. The mystery adds to the drama of the world of princess x.
      • eggcritic
        eggcriticThursday, January 12, 2017 at 10:19 am
        Though it manages to reach a matter of suspense, it still fails to deliver any organizational plot; It just makes you want to wait for the ending and the webcomic, which is drawn quite well. Otherwise, it's dull and boring, and it drones on and on.
        • asl is awesomeSaturday, November 12, 2016 at 9:42 am
          10/10
          • llpanda
            llpandaMonday, August 22, 2016 at 1:08 pm44 stars
            May created Princess X a warrior princess with Libby one day when they both weren't able to go to gym class. They weren't friends then but after that day they were. But now Libby is dead, she's been that way for three years now. But May can't seem to give up hope that somehow Libby escaped the car as it sank to the bottom of the river. Then May starts seeing stickers around her hometown of Princess X which leads her to believe that Libby could be alive! But as May starts to assemble the clues she gets the feeling that someone else someone dangerous is looking for Libby too.
            • mscappi
              Ms. CappiTuesday, July 12, 2016 at 1:55 pm44 stars
              Honestly, by the looks of the cover, I did not want to read this book. But I kept hearing about how good it was, so I picked it up. Glad I did! One of my favorite summer reads. Two girls meet in the fifth grade because neither is allowed to participate in PE. Off on the sidelines of the playground, Libby, the artist, and May, the storyteller, create their own comic, Princess X. They have been best friends since. And have created notebooks and notebooks of their comic. Libby and her mom get into a car accident and die, and Princess X dies along with them. Now, May is sixteen and to her complete surprise discovers a sticker, among other thngs, with Princess X on it. This is the mystery of May figuring out how, and where, the new comic, Princess X is coming from. She is convinced it is Libby - but how can it be? This book kept me on my toes and was a very enjoyable read.
              • blueberrymxffin
                blueberrymxffinMonday, June 13, 2016 at 1:14 pm
                This book is amazing!
                • pastelbunny
                  pastelbunnyFriday, April 22, 2016 at 8:31 am
                  This book made me cry it was so good. It's a good mystery book or if you're looking for scary books this is the book for you. This book teaches you to do anything for your friend, even if it means almost being killed by the enemy, or being hurt in the way.
                  • swagdog5
                    swagdog5Thursday, February 25, 2016 at 6:27 pm55 stars
                    the best book you will read. page turner for sure!!!!:)
                    • 11037
                      11037Thursday, December 3, 2015 at 4:14 pm
                      This sounds so cool!