My disease is as rare as it is famous. It's a form of Severe Combined Immunodeficiency, but basically, I'm allergic to the world. I don't leave my house, have not left my house in fifteen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
But then one day, a moving truck arrives. New next door neighbors. I look out the window, and I see him. He's tall, lean and wearing all black--black t-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. I want to learn everything about him, and I do. I learn that he is funny and fierce. I learn that his eyes are Atlantic Ocean-blue and that his vice is stealing silverware. I learn that when I talk to him, my whole world opens up, and I feel myself starting to change--starting to want things. To want out of my bubble. To want everything, everything the world has to offer.
Maybe we can't predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It's almost certainly going to be a disaster.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on September 1, 2015 by Doubleday Canada
ISBN-10: 0385683650
ISBN-13: 9780385683654
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • bribla1718
    bribla1718Monday, October 16, 2017 at 9:38 am55 stars
    I read the book EVERYTHING EVERYTHING for my book review. So there was a girl that “has an illness”. She got a new neighbor one day and they neighbor's son and madeline (the girl who “has the illness”) became best friends then boyfriend and girlfriend. Madilyn's nurse let Olly (the neighbors son) see madeline even though she’s not allowed to see anyone. After that they ticked all the time. When madeline's mom found out she fired the nurse so she got a new one ( madeline liked her last nurse way better). After a couple days madeline got to stay home alone so she packed up to go to hawaii with Olly. she bought the plane tickets with her debit card. They went to hawaii and they had so much fun madaillan learned how to swim there to. After a couple days her heart stopped then started again she left hawaii and when she woke up she was in her room. So i have a question do you think she was sick or not?
    • hanlap1718
      hanlap1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 4:06 pm55 stars
      I really liked the review because she tells a lot of detail on the book Everything Everything. She told a lot on what happened but left parts out. Also I liked how you left the end of the review at a cliff hanger, because it gets readers to think more and be curious about the book a little more. I really liked this book myself and think if you like to read about romance, and adventures than you would really like this book.
      • naya1718
        naya1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 3:43 pm
        I have not seen the movie or read the book. But i have seen the trailer for the movie and i really want to see the movie. But......first i have to read the book than watch the movie cause that just makes more sense.
        • belgag1718
          belgag1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 11:23 am
          This is a good book review. You have a lot of detail in your review. I have never read this book and by what you have said I now want to read it because it sounds like something that I would like. You wrote a lot of information.
          • sea11
            sea11Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 11:00 am55 stars
            I love this book!
            • elimac1718
              elimac1718Sunday, September 24, 2017 at 10:43 am55 starsFeatured
              Everything Everything is a book I decided to read based off of my favorite genre, which is realistic fiction. I recommend this book to others to read because I feel like it is so inspiring toward others. I also felt like it told a great story which I believe happened to be true. This books is about a 18 year old girl named Madeline Whitter, who supposedly is allergic to the outside world. Her disease is preventing to being expose to the outdoors. Maddy has a nurse that takes care of her daily, the nurse is named Carla. Maddy has only been exposed to only a couple people in her life span. Until a boy and his family moved in next door. The boy was named Olly, and has soon Maddy saw him she was automatically attracted to this boy who seemed to be around her age. They started to talk through email. Carla found out there little secret, and Maddy begged to have him come over. Carla gave in and aloud Olly to visit just once though. Once turned into three, four more times. Eventually Maddy's mom found, and banned her from seeing Olly. Not only that but took her computer privileges as well, but that didn't keep her from speaking with him. Also Carla got fired because she couldn't be trusted. Maddy and Olly planned a trip to Hawaii together. Olly wasn't convinced at first, but Maddy said she had a medication to keep her from having allergic reaction. Olly was convinced! Maddy secretly booked flights to Hawaii for both of them. They left for Hawaii very early in the morning when no one was awake. They flew off! The next day, Maddy was taken to the hospital. Olly had no choice but to call Maddy's mom. Maddy's mom came to Hawaii to take Maddy home. Now it's up to you to read the rest. Will she have a reaction to being outside to long? Does she even have the disease? Did her mom lie to her? Will she ever get to go outside again? Will she still be able to see/talk to Olly?
              • tirdion1718
                tirdion1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 6:37 pm
                i love how detail this is and i loved how you left off with "its up to you to read the rest." i really want to read this book even more than i did before!
                • sumstl1718
                  sumstl1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 11:22 am55 stars
                  this is a really well written review and well put out
                  • hopmer1718
                    hopmer1718Monday, September 25, 2017 at 11:39 am55 stars
                    I like your review because it is really detailed and now I want to really want to read this book!!!!
                    • kiapro1718
                      kiapro1718Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 11:32 am55 stars
                      i agree it showed lots of detail
                    • kylrow1718
                      kylrow1718Monday, September 25, 2017 at 11:25 am55 stars
                      I really like your book review because I liked how you really explained the book and gave a lot of details. I am so excited to read this book!
                    • izzynxtdoor
                      izzynxtdoorSaturday, September 23, 2017 at 12:43 pm55 stars
                      I read this book because it really spoke to me . I recommend this to all teens who feel trapped and need to break free
                      • vidia_the_fairy
                        vidia_the_fairyTuesday, September 19, 2017 at 5:08 pm55 stars
                        This book was amazing and I totally recommend others to read it too! I loved the multiple plot twists and unexpected events in the text and I'm sure you'll love it too.
                        • NyahTuesday, August 22, 2017 at 1:15 pm
                          I haven't read the book but saw the movie and I hope to buy this book and read it.
                          • gabby23
                            gabby23Sunday, July 9, 2017 at 6:47 pm55 stars
                            i decided to read this book because its in my favorite genera . this book was moving and it kept you wanting to keep reading and not put it down . l recomend this book to anyone who loves romance/adventure type books. l love this book and ill think you'll love it too.