Everything, Everything

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 2 - 5n/a4.447592
My disease is as rare as it is famous. It's a form of Severe Combined Immunodeficiency, but basically, I'm allergic to the world. I don't leave my house, have not left my house in fifteen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
But then one day, a moving truck arrives. New next door neighbors. I look out the window, and I see him. He's tall, lean and wearing all black--black t-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. I want to learn everything about him, and I do. I learn that he is funny and fierce. I learn that his eyes are Atlantic Ocean-blue and that his vice is stealing silverware. I learn that when I talk to him, my whole world opens up, and I feel myself starting to change--starting to want things. To want out of my bubble. To want everything, everything the world has to offer.
Maybe we can't predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It's almost certainly going to be a disaster.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on September 1, 2015 by Doubleday Canada
ISBN-10: 0385683650
ISBN-13: 9780385683654
12 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • aweirdpigeonFriday, June 2, 2017 at 6:58 pm
    its now a movie so is must be good
    • scigirlronni
      scigirlronniThursday, June 1, 2017 at 6:56 am55 starsFeatured
      I love this book. It's soooo inspiring. So, Madeline Whitter has SCID. This means she's "allergic" to the outdoor world. For 18 years she was stuck with Carla (her nurse) and her mom until the day Olly. Watching Olly made Madeline so happy soon they started texting each other and Madeline felt like she was outside. Carla decides to let Olly inside and later Madeline's mom finds out and fires Carla and bans Madeline from ever seeing Olly again.They continue secretly texting. Olly and Maddy decide to go to Hawaii together, which is the last place Maddy believes she had a "normal family." However, Olly only agrees to go after Maddy lies and tells him that she is on a new medicine that will keep her from getting sick.The two go to Hawaii. The next day, Maddy has to be taken to a hospital because she begins to feel extremely sick. Olly calls her mother, who comes to Hawaii and takes Maddy home. A few weeks later, Maddy gets a letter from the doctor who treated her in Hawaii after she got sick, and in the note the doctor says that Maddy does not have SCID, and she got sick because she had spent her whole life inside and has never formed a natural immunity. Maddy, angry and panicked, searches her mother's medical files, but does not find the test results or doctor's notes that would confirm she had SCID. Instead she finds some notes her mother wrote and a few articles about SCID from the internet. She confronts her mother, who breaks down and admits she does not have SCID. Maddy tells Carla, and Carla says she always suspected that. Just a few days after that, Maddy saw that her mom said she had SCID so that she wouldn't lose Maddy just like she lost Maddy's brother and father.
      • vmka_fun_4life
        vmka_fun_4lifeMonday, May 8, 2017 at 4:10 pm55 stars
        Oh my goodness this is such a good book
        • skylarTuesday, November 1, 2016 at 8:07 am
          its my first fav book
          • dubthenarwhalsWednesday, October 19, 2016 at 7:00 pm
            If You Like Love Story's This Book Is For You (I Have Read It & Its Amazing)
            • annaWednesday, September 7, 2016 at 6:15 pm
              The book is different than others. It is more diverse than other in the sense that the main character is not white or black she is more than that. The way Nicola Yoon wrote it was so easy to follow. The book showed how quirky people that have not known more than a handful of people can be.
              • cupcakeFriday, September 2, 2016 at 10:43 am
                it is amazing
                • ellsworth2424
                  ellsworth2424Thursday, September 1, 2016 at 7:54 pm55 stars
                  I was interested in reading this book because the main character has a strange illness. In fact, she doesn't really leave the house, and mostly just has contact with her mom and her nurse. It sounds like it might be sad and heavy, but it's not at all. I didn't want the story to end. I wanted to keep hearing more. The ending is surprising, at least it was to me.
                  • theduckkkkkkkkkFriday, February 12, 2016 at 10:08 am
                    i have never read this book befor
                    • theduck
                      theduckMonday, February 8, 2016 at 6:21 pmFeatured
                      I read the book Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. This book is in the romance genre. This book was very interesting and I hung on until the last word. This book was really good ,so I rate it 5 out of 5. Everything, Everything is about a girl named Maddie who is allergic to the outside world and can never go outside ,or she could die. One day through her window she sees a boy moving into the house next to hers. His name is Olly. Maddie and Olly IM all the time and have many similar interests. They also can never see each other and Olly can never come to init Maddie's house. Maddie is afraid of falling in love. Maddie is also shy. Olly on the other hand I think is more outgoing and open. Some of my favorite parts were when the new family arrived it's the house and when Olly try's to get Maddie's attention. I liked these parts because they were romantic and funny. Some parts of the book reminds me of the music of video You Belong With Me by Taylor Swift because in the video Taylor Swift is jealous of the guy he likes girlfriend. Also in the book they communicate by writing signs and showing them to each other through the window, the same is in the music video. Overall this was a great book.