The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on January 6, 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0385755880
ISBN-13: 9780385755887
17 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • geekgirl47
    geekgirl47Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at 7:49 am
    I'm gonna read this
    • HEY I'm a sealFriday, June 2, 2017 at 6:59 pm
      its gonna be a movie in 2018 starring Elle Fanning
      • popstar2017-201
        popstar2017-201Saturday, February 4, 2017 at 12:18 am
        A lot of people are saying it's a good book ???
        • It's_so_lovely_Monday, October 17, 2016 at 3:37 pm
          I just finished reading this book. It is beautiful and gorgeous and absolutely wonderful. I completely fell in love with its characters and ended up in tears. Would totally recommend! You make me lovely…
          • fewunderstand
            fewunderstandMonday, October 17, 2016 at 10:17 am55 stars
            Such a heart breaking lovely story.
            • FAV BOOKThursday, October 13, 2016 at 9:34 am
              This book is the best book i have ever read and I can't can't can't wait till it'll be a movie 😍♥
              • Fallen AngelTuesday, October 11, 2016 at 10:37 pm
                This book is so beautiful. It made me cry. I loved it
                • yumikothelewis
                  yumikothelewisSunday, August 28, 2016 at 7:21 pm
                  Amazing book, Love It!
                  • SanneSunday, August 21, 2016 at 4:13 am
                    It's lovely, and your gonna cry :))
                    • Elina.Friday, August 19, 2016 at 2:13 pm
                      This book is absolutely everything to me and brought out everything i had in me. It is the best book I have ever read, ever. It has come back off my book shelf many a times and I have read it at least 5 times altogether. It is just so amazing I cannot even put into words. It deserves so much more than an award. Thank-you so much Jen for making an absolutely heart wrenching book that changed my life. It was simply lovely.