Jane Goodall, one of the most recognized scientists in the Western world, became internationally famous because of her ability to observe and connect with another species. A girl of humble beginnings and training, she made scientific breakthroughs thought impossible by more experienced field observers when she was only in her twenties. Then these animals shaped Jane's life. She began tirelessly fighting to protect the environment so that chimpanzees and other animals will continue have a place and a future on our planet. Jane Goodall continues to leave the modern world with an extraordinary legacy and has changed the scientific community forever.


From the Hardcover Library Binding edition.
Hardcover, 96 pages
Published on June 9, 2015 by National Geographic Children's Books
ISBN-10: 142631518X
ISBN-13: 9781426315183
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ajg15
    ajg15Saturday, July 14, 2018 at 12:25 pm55 stars
    This book is absolutely amazing, I learned so much about Jane Goodall. You can learn so much about her and her childhood & Gombe (which is in Africa where she studied chimpanzees) , Even see pictures of some of the chimps. There's also an amazing timeline of her life. Great book, perfect for anyone who loves animals. Thanks for reading. -Ajg15
    • pizzagirl7
      pizzagirl7Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 8:25 am55 stars
      Jane goodall has always enjoyed animals all of her life .ever since she was young she wanted to go to Africa and when she got older she got to go! She is AMAZING with a lot of animals especially chimpanzees,monkeys and gorillas her story is amazing!I recommend this book to all ages and rate it 5 stars! -pizzagirl7
      • mkid122
        mkid122Monday, July 9, 2018 at 12:39 am33 stars
        This Untamed book by National geographic is all about the life of Jane Goodall. It takes you from when she was a young girl till her current age. A great autobiography on how Jane Goodall made such an impact in the scientific community and for the chimps. This book is filled with a lot of uncut information and telling photographs. Great for readers who want to know loads about Goodall and her life.
        • belle252
          belle252Thursday, June 28, 2018 at 7:36 pm33 stars
          this a hilarious book about a gorilla and the people trying on the gorilla i read this book online and lost my place but it didn't matter i read it all over again because of how amazing it is
          • rrwwnn
            rrwwnnSaturday, June 23, 2018 at 9:28 am55 stars
            This book is about a girl named Jane Goodall, one of the most recognized scientists in the Western world, became internationally famous because of her ability to observe and connect with another species. This book is a very good book about Jane and in the book she continues to make scientific breakthroughs changing the impact humans have on animals and on the world.
            • awesome_kt
              awesome_ktFriday, June 22, 2018 at 3:01 pm55 stars
              I really enjoyed reading this book. It was a great biography about Jane Goodall. Jane did amazing researching. I was always learning new things as I was reading this book. This is great to read if you know very little about Jane Goodall.
              • auntieb
                auntiebWednesday, June 20, 2018 at 1:29 pm44 stars
                Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane Goodall is a really good book about Jane Goodall who has loved animals her whole life and devotes her life to helping and researching chimpanzees.
                • bobelly
                  bobellyTuesday, June 19, 2018 at 1:44 pm55 stars
                  I like this book because it was all fact and no fiction (not that I don't like fiction). I also liked it because it was a biography that showed lots of things about Jane Goodall. The book talked about how she wanted to study chimpanzees. At the end of the book it talks about her wanting to save chimpanzees. She was a very devoted scientist and could have written a book just as good as this.
                  • bunny_ball
                    bunny_ballTuesday, June 19, 2018 at 6:38 am44 stars
                    I recommend this book. It is about a girl named Jane Goodall who studied chimpanzees. It starts with her childhood and how she got interested in animals. When she was little she tried to keep earthworms under her pillow! It was her dream to go study animals in Africa and that is what she did. There are also great pictures in the book.
                    • spykitten
                      spykittenTuesday, June 19, 2018 at 5:02 am22 stars
                      This book wasn't really good. It was a biography of Jane Goodall. I think it could have been worded much better. I would recommend this book for people that like Jane Goodall or animals but otherwise I wouldn't really recommend this book.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      uma21ruby
                      uma21ruby wrote:

                      If you love mystery and magic, t...
                      The Silver Bowl

                      spykitten
                      spykitten wrote:

                      No, this is not my kind of book....
                      The Apprentice Witch

                      ginnymweasley

                      Although Carter and Sadie Kane a...
                      The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chroni...

                      dolphin8
                      dolphin8 wrote:

                      This book is about animals like ...
                      National Geographic Kids Almanac...