Jane Goodall, one of the most recognized scientists in the Western world, became internationally famous because of her ability to observe and connect with another species. A girl of humble beginnings and training, she made scientific breakthroughs thought impossible by more experienced field observers when she was only in her twenties. Then these animals shaped Jane's life. She began tirelessly fighting to protect the environment so that chimpanzees and other animals will continue have a place and a future on our planet. Jane Goodall continues to leave the modern world with an extraordinary legacy and has changed the scientific community forever.


From the Hardcover Library Binding edition.
Hardcover, 96 pages
Published on June 9, 2015 by National Geographic Children's Books
ISBN-10: 142631518X
ISBN-13: 9781426315183
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • jwarne
    jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:33 am33 stars
    I love Jane Goodall. I think she's incredible with what she did with the chimps. It must have been really scary to be in such a different place with animals that could kill you. She trusted them, though, and it really paid off.
    • armcginn
      armcginnTuesday, July 31, 2018 at 12:11 pm44 stars
      Wow! Reading this book made me realize just how much i did not know about Jane Goodall! She really did have a very interesting life!
      • ajg15
        ajg15Saturday, July 14, 2018 at 12:25 pm55 stars
        This book is absolutely amazing, I learned so much about Jane Goodall. You can learn so much about her and her childhood & Gombe (which is in Africa where she studied chimpanzees) , Even see pictures of some of the chimps. There's also an amazing timeline of her life. Great book, perfect for anyone who loves animals. Thanks for reading. -Ajg15
        • pizzagirl7
          pizzagirl7Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 8:25 am55 stars
          Jane goodall has always enjoyed animals all of her life .ever since she was young she wanted to go to Africa and when she got older she got to go! She is AMAZING with a lot of animals especially chimpanzees,monkeys and gorillas her story is amazing!I recommend this book to all ages and rate it 5 stars! -pizzagirl7
          • mkid122
            mkid122Monday, July 9, 2018 at 12:39 am33 stars
            This Untamed book by National geographic is all about the life of Jane Goodall. It takes you from when she was a young girl till her current age. A great autobiography on how Jane Goodall made such an impact in the scientific community and for the chimps. This book is filled with a lot of uncut information and telling photographs. Great for readers who want to know loads about Goodall and her life.
            • belle252
              belle252Thursday, June 28, 2018 at 7:36 pm33 stars
              this a hilarious book about a gorilla and the people trying on the gorilla i read this book online and lost my place but it didn't matter i read it all over again because of how amazing it is
              • rrwwnn
                rrwwnnSaturday, June 23, 2018 at 9:28 am55 stars
                This book is about a girl named Jane Goodall, one of the most recognized scientists in the Western world, became internationally famous because of her ability to observe and connect with another species. This book is a very good book about Jane and in the book she continues to make scientific breakthroughs changing the impact humans have on animals and on the world.
                • awesome_kt
                  awesome_ktFriday, June 22, 2018 at 3:01 pm55 stars
                  I really enjoyed reading this book. It was a great biography about Jane Goodall. Jane did amazing researching. I was always learning new things as I was reading this book. This is great to read if you know very little about Jane Goodall.
                  • auntieb
                    auntiebWednesday, June 20, 2018 at 1:29 pm44 stars
                    Untamed: The Wild Life of Jane Goodall is a really good book about Jane Goodall who has loved animals her whole life and devotes her life to helping and researching chimpanzees.
                    • bobelly
                      bobellyTuesday, June 19, 2018 at 1:44 pm55 stars
                      I like this book because it was all fact and no fiction (not that I don't like fiction). I also liked it because it was a biography that showed lots of things about Jane Goodall. The book talked about how she wanted to study chimpanzees. At the end of the book it talks about her wanting to save chimpanzees. She was a very devoted scientist and could have written a book just as good as this.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      sarah malone wrote:

                      I am positive this book is aweso...
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Meltdo...

                      eyemanm wrote:

                      the book is reeally good but wha...
                      Five Nights at Freddy's: The Sil...

                      mysteryturtle24

                      I picked up this book at my scho...
                      The One Safe Place

                      asianmom19
                      asianmom19 wrote:

                      I've collected all of the Dork D...
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      Our Apps and Plugins