Unlocked Book 8.5 (Keeper of the Lost Cities)

Book 8.5 in the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling Keeper of the Lost Cities series delivers what fans of the series have been begging for! Told in an exciting new way, the saga continues with plenty of huge reveals and shocking new twists—plus more!
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on November 17, 2020 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1534463429
ISBN-13: 9781534463424
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tododeku1
    tododeku1Wednesday, November 25, 2020 at 1:41 pm55 stars
    this book is so gooooooooooood
    • blossomreader
      blossomreaderWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:02 pm55 stars
      Keeper of the Lost Cities Unlocked is different from the other books, but Shannon Messenger still did a great job with the content that you definitely don't want to miss. The first 3/4 of the book contains extras about the lost cities, like Sophie and her friends registry files, and the council keeps a VERY suspicious amount of information about them. Keefe also has his own detention record in the book, and Sophie has her own medical record. The book also features Keefe memories in art form. These full color illustrations are something you really want to see! There is recipes and information of everything you want to know about the lost cities, including things not mentioned before! The last part of the book is the story, which is told in Sophie and Keefe's perspectives. Sophie is desperate to unlock Oralie's cache to see if there is information about Keefe's new ability that could help them. But when Keefe figures out what he can do, he starts to become distant from his friends while he asks some elves to help him stop using his abilities. What he figures out can harm people's emotions, and even Sophie herself, which is something Keefe doesn't want to do. Sophie and her friends even have a new task, and when they finally uncover some lead into Keefe's legacy, things might start to make sense, until Keefe does something reckless that could put everyone he cares about at risk... I loved this book, and I encourage you guys to read it too! You need to read this book before book 9! Hope you love the book as much as I did!
      • 4usa
        4usaSaturday, November 21, 2020 at 8:20 am44 stars
        This is the 9th (8.5) book of the best series ever! I was kind of disappointed with this book, it had only two hundred pages while the other five hundred and fifty were extras. I enjoyed some of the extras though, including Keefe's registry file, the official art, and the recipes, but I feel like Shannon should have written more of what her readers have been waiting a year for. It was also lacking action and adventure. I am glad though that Dex was given more page time and that Fitz and Sophie are still friends. I'm looking forward to the next book, partly because unlocked's cliff hanger is killing me.
        • blossomreader
          blossomreaderWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:03 pm55 stars
          Yes, the next book has to come out FAST! I need it so bad! Dex still needs more pages, if you ask me. He deserves a lot more, as does Biana!
          • 4usa
            4usaThursday, November 26, 2020 at 7:12 am44 stars
            Yeah I agree but at least he was actually a part of this book.
        • bsc
          bscFriday, November 20, 2020 at 4:22 pm55 stars
          I have been waiting 6 months for this book to come out, and was really excited when I received it. I liked it a lot! Keefe is awake! They discover that he has a very interesting new ability. Sophie feels distant from him- for a reason he's not speaking, and doesn't want to be around her. And in the end...wow. Plus the book includes a guide to the lost cities and fantastic art! Recipes, files, and everything in between is included in this book. Happy reading!
          • glitterclaws
            glitterclawsFriday, November 20, 2020 at 3:10 pm55 stars
            Keeper Of The Lost Cities Unlocked, also known as book 8.5,by Shannon Messenger is part series guide part novella. I love the rest of the series, so I was so excited when it came out! Some of my favorite parts are the beautiful portraits, the activities (my favorite activity is the recipes) , Keefe's memories, and of course the novella. The cover is also gorgeous and unfolds into a poster! Under the cover there's an amazing picture of a swan drawn by Shannon Messenger. My favorite part artistically is inside of the cover witch is an elegant map of the Lost Cities. The novella switches between Sophie and Keefes perspectives and grabs your attention right away. I absolutely love this book and can't wait for the next one!
            • Banana Wednesday, November 18, 2020 at 8:32 am
              The first half is about the Elvin world and characters and them the second half is the actual story
              • readingkendal
                readingkendalMonday, November 9, 2020 at 4:28 pm
                So excited for this!!!!! (It's so close until it comes out!)
                • I love KOTLC Wednesday, August 5, 2020 at 1:35 pm
                  I hope this comes out soon! Keeper of the Lost Cities is amazing!
                  • BlahMonday, August 3, 2020 at 12:19 pm
                    When does it come out?
                    • annafantastic
                      annafantasticThursday, July 30, 2020 at 6:50 am
                      I really want to read this book!!