Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8V3.730474
In Jennifer L. Holm's New York Times bestselling, Newbery Honor winning middle grade historical fiction novel, life isn't like the movies. But then again, 11-year-old Turtle is no Shirley Temple

She's smart and tough and has seen enough of the world not to expect a Hollywood ending. After all, it's 1935 and jobs and money and sometimes even dreams are scarce. So when Turtle's mama gets a job housekeeping for a lady who doesn't like kids, Turtle says goodbye without a tear and heads off to Key West, Florida to live with relatives she's never met. Florida's like nothing Turtle's ever seen before though. It's hot and strange, full of rag tag boy cousins, family secrets, scams, and even buried pirate treasure! Before she knows what's happened, Turtle finds herself coming out of the shell she's spent her life building, and as she does, her world opens up in the most unexpected ways. Filled with adventure, humor and heart, Turtle in Paradise is an instant classic both boys and girls with love.

Includes an Author's Note with photographs and further background on the Great Depression, as well as additional resources and websites.

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews:
"Sweet, funny and superb."

Starred Review, Booklist:
"Just the right mixture of knowingness and hope . . . a hilarious blend of family drama seasoned with a dollop of adventure."
Paperback
Published on January 11, 2012 by Yearling
59 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • Awesome catThursday, October 11, 2018 at 5:19 pm
    This book is awesome! It has comedy, drama, and sadness.
    • chacedaneil18
      chacedaneil18Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 8:03 am
      so good
      • cybill
        cybillTuesday, October 31, 2017 at 3:18 pm55 stars
        Really Good!
        • envirogirlWednesday, November 23, 2016 at 8:40 am
          Turtles In Paradise by Jennifer L Holm is about a girl who gets sent to live with her mom's sister in Key West because her mom is a cleaning lady and her mom’s boss does not like kids. Turtle, the main character, thinks kids are bad even though she is a kid. I know this because in the first chapter she said, “some kids are really nasty.” Turtle was expecting Key West to be shiny and new but it turns out to be stinky and run down. The main characters in this book are Bean, Aunt Minnie, Kermit, Turtle, Buddy, Pork Chop and Slow Poke. Turtle is the central character. When she moved to Key West she had many adventures. They began when she made friends with her cousins. Then she started to bring her grandmother who her mom said was dead lunch. Finally she found a treasure map and went to find the treasure. At the end of the book she realizes even though Key West is not the prettiest place in the world their are some very nice people there which is all that matters. My opinion on the book is that it is just ok. I think that it is average because the book is pretty choppy. What I mean by choppy is that the events happened without being connected with any of the events that come before. For example, Turtle’s Aunt Minnie made her get rid of her cat and then she found a treasure map in her grandmother's piano all within a short time. I think a good part of this book is that you don’t really know what is going to happen next. So, what is good about it is also what is bad. I also like this book because it is the perfect size. It was not too long so you don’t get bored reading but not too short that it ended without a good ending. I give this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.
          • vollyballa
            vollyballaFriday, November 20, 2015 at 11:44 am
            This book is a amazing book. you should read it so it was about a girl that only lives with her mother turtle has no idea who her father is. her mom works for rich people who are very mean all the houses. she has been to everyone is very mean to turtle so then she has to move to her ants house that all boys live in she has never lived in a all boy house before so she has to face a hole summer with boys when she is at her ants house she sees two boys playing marbles so then she is greeted in side very meanly so find out what happens to turtles big adventure so read this book!!!!!!!!!!!😊😊😊
            • jigglypuff
              jigglypuffTuesday, November 17, 2015 at 12:02 pm55 stars
              This bookish very sweet its about a girl named turtle who gos to spend the summer with her aunt and crazy cousins she starts off hating it but then she loves it she get stranded on a island and find a lot of money but her moms boyfriend steels it all. This book is pretty funny because turtle is very sassy and fun. I recommend this book to everyone.
              • dancerk
                dancerkThursday, November 12, 2015 at 9:39 am
                awesome book, I want to read this book again!!!!😊😊😊
                • sushi321
                  sushi321Monday, October 12, 2015 at 9:58 am33 stars
                  I was okay I guess.
                  • kuo
                    kuoSaturday, September 19, 2015 at 10:48 am
                    I have this book, but I did not read it yet. I wonder what it is about.
                    • pandy123
                      pandy123Sunday, October 11, 2015 at 1:35 pm55 stars
                      I really recommend this book because it is really good and heartwarming to many readers.
                    • penguin123
                      penguin123Thursday, September 10, 2015 at 11:11 am55 stars
                      Turtle is a girl living in the early 1900s. And it's always been just her and her mom. So when she is sent to Key West for the summer, she discovers a whole new family and herself.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Ash wrote:

                      Love this whole book series
                      Divergent (Divergent Series)

                      xxmystical_lady

                      this book is so good. j.k. rowl...
                      Who is J.K. Rowling?

                      littttqueen

                      ya it hasn't came out
                      The Terrible Two Go Wild

                      xxmystical_lady

                      the book is so good. it is mayb...
                      What Was the Great Depression?

                      Our Apps and Plugins