From award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes, a powerful novel set fifteen years after the 9/11 attacks.

When her fifth-grade teacher hints that a series of lessons about home and community will culminate with one big answer about two tall towers once visible outside their classroom window, Deja can't help but feel confused. She sets off on a journey of discovery, with new friends Ben and Sabeen by her side. But just as she gets closer to answering big questions about who she is, what America means, and how communities can grow (and heal), she uncovers new questions, too. Like, why does Pop get so angry when she brings up anything about the towers?

Award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes tells a powerful story about young people who weren't alive to witness this defining moment in history, but begin to realize how much it colors their every day.
Paperback, 240 pages
Published on April 3, 2018 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316262218
ISBN-13: 9780316262217
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • waterfall101
    waterfall101Thursday, February 28, 2019 at 9:48 pm44 stars
    This is about the twin towers and it is a science fictional story. I recommend it.
    • kenziegirl2008
      kenziegirl2008Wednesday, February 20, 2019 at 11:37 am55 stars
      SPOILER ALERT!!! THis book is about a girl named Deja who lives with her siblings Raymond and Leda and her parents, Pop who never seems to get better and is scary when he`s mad and Ma in Avalon Family Residence which seems nice, but it isn`t. Everyone at Deja`s new school seems to know about 9/11 except Deja, besides the fact that she`s lived in Brooklyn basically her whole life. At her old school nobody wanted to be friends with Deja because her family is homeless so she is suprised when Sabeen and Ben want to be her friends. When Deja goes over to Ben`s house he shows her a video of 9/11. Oh, how did Deja never know about it. After some investigating, (looking through an old suitcase) Deja finds that her father survived 9/11. She`s shocked, how did she never put the pieces together before?
      • kinase77
        kinase77Friday, November 9, 2018 at 6:06 am55 stars
        I think that the book is good
        • emmya
          emmyaMonday, September 24, 2018 at 11:13 am55 stars
          I think it is a wonderful book because it tells you about the past and how it affected people. It also teaches you about 9/11 and the information about and tells you why it is important.
          • bybimolypafady
            bybimolypafadyThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:38 am55 stars
            I think it is a good book because it tells you about the past and how it effected people.
            • bookworm15Thursday, January 18, 2018 at 10:24 am
              I loved this book. It got nominated for The Rhode Island childerens book author award this year. It might be the book I nominate
              • tiduxetedilasy
                tiduxetedilasyMonday, December 18, 2017 at 12:05 pm44 stars
                Jewell Parker Rhodes is an amazing author. If you like historical fiction books then you would love this book. It really opens your eyes and helps you understand more of what it was like to be there and experience how horrible those times actually were. It also makes you feel sorry for those people who were apart of it or who had loved ones that were killed in it. The Twin Towers will always be a big and important part of history.

                Our Apps and Plugins